Food for Thought

This post by Jennifer Flaten

 

What is your go to meal when you just can think of anything to cook/eat? For me it is cereal. Really. Sometimes, nothing appeals to me but a big bowl of cereal. It doesn’t matter what type of cereal it is, as long as it’s in the cabinet I’ll eat it. It doesn’t matter if it’s Fruit Loops or Special K, although the Special K makes me feel like I’m more adult.

 

Of course, when the kids were little I wanted to model better eating habits so I tried to cook as much as possible, even on the days when I didn’t want to eat.  On those days, I went with kid friendly meals like eggs, pancakes, mac and cheese, and hot dogs.

 

Now, I have one kid doesn’t like boxed mac & cheese, one kid who won’t eat eggs and another kid who is suspicious of hot dogs. So, now on the nights when I don’t feel like cooking or eating much of anything I feel free to turn the kids loose on leftovers/sandwiches and I make myself a nice big bowl of cereal.

Even the kids sometimes go with just a bowl (or 3) of cereal or oatmeal. Although, we try not to do that too often, but sometimes after a really tough day nothing is better. I think it is the fact there is hardly any clean up.

DSCN7278What’s your go to meal?

 

Browse my jewelry on etsy

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Food for Thought

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    PB&J

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Cereal, but now it’s gluten free, or soup. Doris

    Like

  3. Still a kid at heart, I love macaroni and cheese, but I also like just about any type of pasta and topping. In the summer, I go for ice cream and in the winter, hot chocolate. In fact, I think I’ll make myself a cup right now.

    Like

  4. Definitely pizza! I could eat it every night of the week, although running a close second would be cereal. Thanks for the post!

    Like

  5. My go to meal when I don’t want to cook or when I am pressed for time is cheese and crackers. They are both so filling.

    Like

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    Soup. Generally a home made thick broth ( a bit like minestrone soup) from the freezer- defrosted then microwaved in less than ten minutes.

    Like

  7. Grilled cheese. I always have bread and cheese on hand.

    Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    At least your go to meal is healthier than mine. My go to meal is a frozen pizza. Although I tend to add a few things, I don’t consider it cooking. Also the left overs work out good for lunch the next day.

    Like

  9. I love Kraft Dinner. I will go with that nine times out of ten if we have it in the house. The way I make it though it’s way worse for you than the box instructions. But I do love cereal too. Rice Krispies for me. I put too much sugar on them though so I try not to eat them often.

    Like

Leave a Reply

