The New Year Brings a New Chapter

CindyCarrollEIt’s a new year so you’re going to be bombarded by posts this month on goals and resolutions. And yep, that’s what I’m going to be talking about for this post too. It helps to get your goals down, put them out there in the universe. Speaking them aloud makes them more real somehow. You’re accountable to whoever might remember and ask later on – “Hey, did you do that thing you said you were going to do?”

Copyright Flynt - purchased from Bigstock

Copyright Flynt – purchased from Bigstock

Some of the posts on the blog this month haven’t talked about goals but a few have. Mike has two goals that are very doable. I liked Kathy’s post about having a word for the year. In the comments section of Kathy’s post I decided that my word for this year would be positivity. It’s easy to be negative when bad things are going on but being positive can help the bad to not seem so bad. I’ve cut negative people out of my life because they suck the soul out of you. I don’t want to be one of those negative people. The sucktastic year that was 2015 is gone. It’s time to move forward.

There will be setbacks. There always are. It’s how you deal with the setbacks that make the difference. I wallowed last year. I let the bad things get to me more than they usually do. I’ve had bad years before but for some reason last year just broke me. I need to remember that I have family and friends I can talk to that will help me get through the bad stuff. And others are going through worse stuff than I was.

So for this year I’m being positive. I have attainable goals if I work hard to accomplish them. I can be the writer I’ve always wanted to be if I put my mind to it. Last year I was muddled, all over the place. I wanted to write stories that spoke to me but I wanted to make money too. I wrote short sexy stories that sold well (before I jumped on the bandwagon) thinking I would be all set. But even though the writing was good, the rules changed when Amazon brought out Kindle Unlimited 1.0 and then Kindle Unlimited 2.0. I was just starting to get traction on the stories with KU 1.0 when they decided to pay writers per page read for their work in Select. Something had to change.

That’s when I decided to start ghostwriting. I needed the money faster than Amazon would pay me, and it would be more in a month than I had ever earned for any of my writing. But I still want to tell my own stories. I decided to follow the advice of a wise man on one of the boards I read who said to focus on one pen name. Face palm. It seemed so simple. Last year I wrote under five pen names, none of them my real name. I split my focus so they all suffered. By trying to get works out under all my pen names there was too much time in between releases.

This year I’m focusing on me. My brand, my name, my stories. I’ll still allocate some words a month to ghostwriting but the rest will be for me. I will finally finish my trilogy. I will get the first book in my urban fantasy series finished and write book two (maybe even book three). I will focus on building my mailing list, connecting with my readers. To that end I am blogging again on my personal blog. Once a week to start to see how I manage that. Then I’ll do more if I can fit it in. I have lots of ideas to attract readers but I need the books done and available to implement them. And to do that I need to focus. I’ve been known to flit from one thing to another but this year to accomplish my goals I will focus on releasing books I’m proud of.

What will your focus be this year?

Get free reads, new release pricing, members only contests, access to Campus (a behind the scenes website for my Standpoint Trilogy and still under construction) – sign up for my newsletter: http://bitly.com/CPCMailList

Check out my website: http://www.cindycarroll.com
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CindyPCarroll
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyCarroll

ReflectionsFinal2A road trip without a plan sounded like a good idea when Lena and her friends hit the road. After hours of driving in the heat in a cramped car they’re all ready for something to eat and a good night’s rest.

Reflections Inn looks perfect for the group of friends. A little run down, it hides a supernatural horror. A curse that replaces people with their repressed alter egos forces the friends to fight for their lives. Duplicates who lack restraint, crave gratification emerge from the mirrors. Too late they realize they didn’t know each other as well as they thought.

One by one, Lena’s friends learn the truth about their repressed emotions, their suppressed violent urges.

What doesn’t kill them can only make them stronger.

Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1avH00L
Buy on Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/19Ti2ux
Buy on Kobo: http://bit.ly/13CBz9M
Buy on Amazon Canada: http://amzn.to/15oFc4a

About Cindy Carroll

Cindy Carroll is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. When she’s not writing you can usually find her on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Goals, New Year Resolution and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The New Year Brings a New Chapter

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    Admire your resolutions, sounds like you have a firm grip on where you want to go this year. Good for you! My resolution in regards to writing is to focus! I let too many demands and requests of others eat up my time. May we all be able to report next December that we accomplished our goals!

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    Good for you. I know you will do what you need to make it happen. The excitement of what’s coming is very adiciting. Best to you. Doris

    Like

  3. This year, my focus will be my memoir, My Ideal Partner, but I have other creative nonfiction ideas I’ve been working on. Good luck to you.

    Like

  4. People who do drain our energy are really a drag, I have to agree. I am glad that you are positive minded in being all that you are set to be for this new year.
    Great post. Beautiful refection of thoughts brought. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Travis says:

    Good luck and I hope you keep the positive energy coming your way. I’ve been told to have a newsletter, but always shy away from it. Would love to know how yours goes.

    Like

    • Thanks for the luck. A newsletter is one of the most important tools you can have as a writer. Free advertising to readers who are already fans. You should set one up. Mailchimp is free for under 2,000 subscribers.

      Like

  6. Joe Stephens says:

    My big goal is to have a happy ending for the main characters of my books, Harry and Dee Shalan. In their last book, which came out in the fall, things ended in a really dark place, especially for Harry, who broke one of his biggest rules and was struggling to cope with it. But in the next book, I’ve started to go in a much brighter direction with the idea of giving them a bit of a happy ever after ending. I don’t know that I’ll be finished with those characters permanently when this book ends, but I do know I want to write something different for a while after this. Maybe something a little more literary.

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    My writing time was a bit restricted last year so a resolution for me will be to maintain a better writing schedule and finish the books already started. Best wishes with your new focus. Even though I’m published across different genres, I go under the one name which is my real name since I knew I’d be all over the place if I tried to use different pen names for my Teen writing and contemporary and historical.

    Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    Glad to see you are facing the new year head on. The trick will be to keep yourself focused. I started last year focused and kept to my plan for 4 months. Then slowly let life, travel and other things get in the way. This year I will start again. This year I have someone keeping me focused. I am hoping that will keep me on track. Good luck with your goals and make sure to keep us updated.

    Like

  9. Mike Staton says:

    Sounds like you have a good grip on 2016. Forward, through the breach and into 2017, with all writing goals accomplished. Me… just a couple of hopes for 2016. Getting to work on the civil war novel (I’m outlining chapter 9 right now) and marketing the fantasy trilogy so I can get a few of the novels sold.

    Like

  10. Good luck with your writing goals and I’m with you on the “focusing” problem. I tend to also get distracted easily with different ideas and then end up not finishing anything. This year I’m going to do one thing at a time and not move on to the next until I finish the first thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

