Leaping into This Leap Year

Gayle_Cheyenne bookstoreThis post by Gayle M. Irwin

This new year is also a leap year, which, according to Wikipedia, adds an extra day “to keep the calendar year synchronized with the astronomical or seasonal year.” One extra day this year – an extra day to write!

This weekend I’m taking myself on a writing retreat. My husband and I have friends who live on a ranch about 70 miles northeast of our town of Casper. The ranch plays host to a variety of wildlife, including turkeys, white-tailed deer, red-tailed hawks, great horned owls, and many species of songbirds… as well as cattle, sheep, and llamas. The ranch also hosts a guest house. Greg and I have stayed there a few times, and I’ve stayed at the modular house, complete with fireplace and jacuzzi tub, on several occasions alone. It’s here that I completed “Walking in Trust: Lessons Learned with My Blind Dog.” Sage was with me. Little did I know that February weekend in 2012 that one month later my beloved blind dog would be diagnosed with an aggressive cancer and, within a week of that diagnosis, pass on.

llamas at ranch

So, here we are, about four years later, and I’ll be “retreating” to the ranch once again to write amid the quiet. The Powder River flows nearby. Bluffs and hillsides add to nature’s song. The guest house has no wi-fi, and cell phone service is a short drive down the country lane. My friends’ main house is a few stones’ throws from the guest house, so if some emergency does arise, I can get help (however, I’ll need to be able to walk or drive!). One of the lessons Sage taught me was to have a deeper faith, so just as I have faith all will be well at our cabin, which also doesn’t have cell or wi-fi service, I have faith all will be well at my friends’ ranch guesthouse while I’m there. Taking “a leap of faith,” so to speak.

Powder River

Writing is also a leap of faith. When we create characters, compose stories, and call upon the muse, we trust we will develop something we’ll enjoy writing and that people will enjoy reading. We trust we’ll connect, market, and sell. Writing is art, but it’s also a business, especially if we want to earn a living doing it, whether full-or part-time.

I’m blessed to be very busy part-time writer. I not only write books, but also magazine articles, short stories, and newspaper pieces. During the past few years, my platform has expanded, and in this year another opportunity has come my way: a third magazine through the company that creates WREN (Wyoming Rural Electric News) and Crossroads (an annual publication of the Cheyenne Chamber of Commerce). This new publication, called Advancement, is not something I’ve heard of, but the editors have asked me to take part in the project because they know me – they know my style, they know I’m thorough in my interviews, and they know I meet deadlines. I’ve written for WREN for three years and for Crossroads for two; the editors know I’m reliable and so when this new publication opportunity arose, they contacted me – and I said “YES!” We’ll see what I’m in for, but I am excited and I am grateful.

Sage Finds Friends circleAnother exciting happening for me is that the Casper Journal has serialized another of my children’s stories; it began running the week of Christmas (Merry Christmas to me … and Casper’s young readers!). “Sage Finds Friends” reminds youngsters of the value of friendship; the book is available on Amazon and I should have my first copies later this month. I’m excited! This book took nearly three years from conception to birth (it sat on my computer’s hard drive for quite a few seasons). Now that I’m “on a roll” book-wise, I’m planning to complete other WIPs that are sitting on my hard drive as well. I’m motivated, and I look forward to what this three-day, self-imposed writing retreat will produce … and to what this new year, this leap year, unfolds for me creatively.

Paralleling the writing is speaking. This month I have five school visits plus another scheduled for February 1. I plan to line up library visits and booksignings for the spring in conjunction with Children’s Book Week, which coincides with Be Kind to Animals Week (both in early May). I hope to have my children’s dog rescue book (one of my WIPs) published by then to share with audiences (young and older) – an objective I’ve set for this year. That’s a project I’ll focus on while at the ranch.

Denton Library_kids

My desire is to be a fulltime writer and speaker. My goal is to be at that point by the time 2017 rolls around. We will see if that comes to pass as that is also “a leap of faith.”

How about you? What do you hope to “leap into” this year? What leaps of faith are you contemplating? My best to you all always!

 

Gayle & Mary outsideGayle M. Irwin is writer, author and speaker who lives in Wyoming. She is the author of several inspirational dog books for children and adults and has also authored a guidebook for owners of blind dogs, available on Kindle. Additionally, she’s contributed short stories to five Chicken Soup for the Soul books and writes regularly for magazines and newspapers. Gayle has a passion for pets and volunteers for and donates a percentage of her writing revenues to several animal welfare organizations. She speaks in schools and for civic and Christian women’s groups, weaving topics together with lessons people can learn from pets. She is currently working on three books, including a pet rescue story for children. Visit her website at www.gaylemirwin.com.

SageBigAdventureFront-small   Cody Cabin_New Book CoverImage   Walking_FrontCover_small   Dog Devotion Book_Cover_Final   Dog Devotions 2 Book Cover Sage Advice Cover   Blind Dog Ebook Cover_updatedMay2014

 

This entry was posted in children's books, Dogs, Goals, Quiet time, unique, writing, writing retreat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Leaping into This Leap Year

  1. You are so motivational Gayle!
    I love to see how each of us grow through time, it brings warmth and happiness to my heart.
    Your love for animals is quite something, the world needs more people like you, and I’m glad to have gotten the chance to know you.

    Like

    • Darrah, thank you so much for your kind words and compliments! I’m glad we had the opportunity to meet and I hope we’ll see each other this summer. You are also an inspiring woman, and I wish you well with all your endeavors this Leap Year! 🙂

      Like

  2. Doris says:

    Gayle, what a wonderufl opportunity you have been given. May these gifts continue to enrich your creative soul. I think it is wonderful you get to share your muse with so many, espcially the children. They are special and deserve our gifts. Here’s to a wonderful Leap Year and the dream of 2017. Doris

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      I am SO LOOKING FORWARD to my self-imposed retreat, Doris! Yes, these friends are truly a blessing. I won’t be able to spend all 3 days as I’d originally hoped, because Greg now has to leave town on Sunday afternoon for a two-day project in another town and I’ll need to be home with the pets. But, even 1 1/2 – 2 days will be a great treat. I hope the muse flows profusely! Thank you for your encouragement and friendship — may your Leap Year be blessed!

      Like

  3. The ranch sounds lovely. I would so love to go on a self-imposed retreat. I could get so much done. I hope you have a great time there and get a lot done.

    Like

  4. Travis says:

    Love the idea of a retreat and isolation. Good luck on becoming a full time writer in 2017. I guess my biggest goal is to land an agent. I have many a big fish story where they get close, but I can’t reel them in.

    Like

    • Agents and editors are tough nuts to crack, but I’m sure you’ll find the right ones, Travis. Your persistence and skill will pay off, of that I am sure. Thanks for your kind words and comments!

      Like

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    Good anology to take a leap of faith during leap year! I hope you are majorly productive during your retreat. Sounds wonderful. My leap of faith will be to write and publish.

    Like

    • That’s a great leap of faith, Neva, and I hope you take it! You have great stories to tell, and I can’t wait to see your first book in print! Safe travels back to the windy wintry wonderland! 🙂

      Like

  6. Joe Stephens says:

    I’m not sure it even counts as a leap since I didn’t realize I was doing it until it already happened. Late last year, I started writing book reviews for a local online lifestyle magazine, ClutchMOV. It was pure volunteer work. I assumed it wouldn’t go beyond that, but then they had a meeting for contributors at which I commited to write fiction too (I just submitted my second short story). Then, at the first staff meeting, I accidentally volunteered to write an article and then another. And then, at the next meeting, they went over the procedure for turning in work because they were going to start paying us by the word and work toward regularly doing a print version.

    So suddenly I’m on staff at a magazine.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Your motivation is so encouraging, Gayle. Your reputation for providing excellent writing and speaking is mushrooming…and that’s a great thing. May you have loads of energy to see you through another very packed year! Best wishes for all of your tasks.

    Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    I admire your determination and I really think you will reach your goal. I don’t have an ultimate goal. I take things one project at a time. Of course a current project of mine has led to another project. This year I hope to bring the first project to print and put a serious dent in the second. Of course I have a few photo trips planned and hope to fit in a few book signings as well.

    Like

  9. Mike Staton says:

    What a neat idea by the Casper Journal… serializing one of your short stories. Reminds me of the 19th century when newspaper would serialize tales by authors like Charles Dickens. I always enjoy your posts, Gayle.

    Like

  10. The retreat sounds fantastic. I hope you had a productive and fabulous time! Sounds like 2016 is shaping up to be a great year for you.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Ranch Retreat | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

Leave a Reply

