We’re having pancakes

This post by Jennifer Flaten

Early Sunday morning I awoke to the sound of rustling. The noise was coming from the kitchen. As comfortable as I was I decided I better get in there and see what was going on.

It turns out that our oldest daughter decided she felt like making everyone pancakes. Now, if I would have asked her to cook breakfast she wouldn’t have wanted to, but since it was her idea she was all for it.00714

By the time, I got out there she had it well in hand. I didn’t need to assist at all. The funny thing is I have tons of cookbooks and cooking magazines, yet she couldn’t find a pancake recipe she liked so she turned on her school issued Chromebook and googled the perfect recipe. I have to admit, that recipe made a perfectly fluffy pancake.

Of course, everything tastes wonderful when you don’t have to make it, especially breakfast.

This particular kid is always leaving her dishes for me to do after she goes on a baking spree, but this time I felt like doing the dishes to say ‘Thank you’ for a wonderful breakfast.

What a wonderful way to start the day!

Browse my jewelry on etsy

 

 

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to We’re having pancakes

  1. Sounds good. Are there any pancakes left?

    Like

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    Wasn’t that a great way to start your family day? They sound delicious. How wonderful for you and tribute to your mothering!

    Like

  3. My husband often makes breakfast, and I LOVE it! It’s nice when someone else does the cooking, that’s for sure! Hope you have many such great mornings!

    Like

  4. Kathy Waller says:

    Your daughter is definitely a keeper! I’m always happy to wash dishes after a meal someone else prepares. Especially pancakes.

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    Ah the joys of childhood experiences. Love that your daughter takes the bull by the horns and go for it. Doris

    Like

  6. Joe Stephens says:

    I love pancakes! They’re my favorite thing to make. I used to make them from scratch, but then I discovered Pioneer Buttermilk Baking Mix. It’s like Bisquick only a bazillion times better.

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Yum. I make small (sometimes called ‘Scotch’ in recipe books) pancakes quite often for my grandkids. The trick to making the best tasting ones seems to be the addition of the correct amount of Bicarbonate of Soda to Cream of Tartar. If one isn’t quite right for the size of the egg used, then they don’t rise, or they don’t have the best taste- and I also believe that the egg size really does matter! The technicalities aside- we eat them anyway and my trips to the US and Canada have spoiled me because I just love them slurping with maple syrup. 🙂

    Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    What a great way to start the day. I have to admit I have never surprised anyone with pancakes for breakfast. I am not a morning person. I so enjoy hearing about your kids. Thanks for sharing

    Like

  9. Mike Staton says:

    Sweet post, Jennifer, in more ways than one. Now you have me hungry for pancakes. I’m lazy, though. I’ll probably get the microwave pancakes out of the freezer.

    Like

  10. A beautiful memory and a wonderful way to start the day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

