Why It’s Good To Take A Vacation

DSCN2618

Me, the first afternoon when the sun blessed us for a few hours.

by Neva Bodin

 

February, 2015 found us in sunny Arizona for a wonderful time of sun, swimming, friends and sightseeing. 80 above in the daytime. Might as well try it again.

However, since February, 2016 is when I am opening the nurse aide 95 hour training program, we chose to go in January. Big mistake. Gone 23 days.

This year we had the sun peeking at us the first couple days, but down to 39 degrees Fahrenheit or lower at night and 50’s in daytime. My brother-in-law arrived with his camper the third day and the rain started. Just a few showers the first couple days.

We were in a more rural area trailer park this year in Apache Junction, and about 10 acres of undeveloped desert lay about 50 feet maybe from our camper.

DSCN2613

We could see Superstition Mountain from our camper.

We had brought our ATV’s so went for a ride on a cloudy afternoon next to the park. There was a wash and near the beginning of it we saw a small pup tent and a blue piece of tarp strung on some bushes. A man was kneeling near the tent. “Homeless” we deduced and went another direction so as not to disturb them.

I have wondered since what happened to them when the rains began in earnest the next day and continued for five days and nights. I know what happened to us: Some visits with friends, two museum visits—the Music Instrument Museum and an aeronautical one—supper at one of my favorite spots—the Organ Stop Pizza—and lots of dominoes in the camper, and later Farkle.

The high points for us country folk were the coyotes howling at night (and seen trotting through the front yards of nearby business and by the fence near our camper), a donkey braying each morning, (lots of little ranchettes with chickens, horses etc nearby), and spending good quality time with friends and family. Also finding out the park employee who helped us situate our camper is from a small town in ND where I worked for 11 years, a dining couple at the same restaurant we ate at are related to two families we know from another small town in ND, and sharing our vacation with my brother-in-law.

And equally wonderful were the friends we love including us in their lives and my two cousins and their wives, whom we love, spending time with us.

Finally, our second weekend there, the sun began to play peek-a-boo again and we were able to spend just a little time in the afternoon on my cousin’s patio. But jackets were always worn during this vacation.

 

DSCN2667

My husband sitting in the large rustic restaurant and bar at Tortilla Flats. Every square inch of the interior is papered with donated and autographed dollar bills–about 600,000.

Another sunny afternoon, we drove to Tortilla Flats, an old stage stop on the tortuous winding dirt road, 1-1 ½ lanes wide and in a zig-zag pattern full of switchbacks, to Roosevelt Dam. We drove it and saw beautiful scenery and my first fleeting glimpse of the fleet Roadrunner.

DSCN2662

This cactus wren came right up to my toe at one lookout by Canyon Lake.

Finally, our last Tuesday, (we left that Friday) we hauled our ATV’s to Bulldog Canyon and went on a two hour ride through the desert. We saw what looked to be a colorful mountain man out for a horseback ride, and beautiful scenery and experienced silence and peace. I could have spread a sleeping bag and stayed right there. Alas, the scorpions and poisonous toads.

So we came back to Casper, having navigated tons of heavy traffic while there and while traveling through Las Vegas and Salt Lake City to and from, and shivering and saying over and over, “Well, at least there’s no snow and ice.”

 

DSCN2696

The mountain man out for a ride in the desert.

Now, home is warm and cozy, I expect it to be in the 40’s outside so no disappointment there, and what I thought was increasing traffic in our town is merely child’s play, even on icy streets.

It is important to take vacations, so we can know the value of home.

DSCN2689

The modern cactus in the desert: Highline poles

DSCN2714

This cactus has had a hard life, but still he smiles.  We were told they don’t add arms until they are seventy years old.

This entry was posted in Neva Bodin, Arizona, cactus, vacations, desert, unique. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Why It’s Good To Take A Vacation

  1. Wranglers says:

    Love your photos and a great blog. I didn’t know that about the Cati. Looks like you had a great time. Thanks for sharing your subshine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joe Stephens says:

    Sounds like you had a great time. Too bad about the temps, but it sounds like you enjoyed it nonetheless.

    On a nearly unrelated note–I love Farkle! I played it for years with a group of great friends with whom, sadly, I don’t get to see anymore.

    Like

  3. Joe Stephens says:

    Sorry for the grammar error. Is there a way to edit these comments?

    Like

  4. Kathy Waller says:

    Arizona and temps in the 50s–that’s my kind of vacation, although 80s and swimming is good, too. Your descriptions and your photographs make me want to start planning a getaway for my husband and me. Great post.

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      Hope you are able to have that getaway. I love the contrast of being at home and being somewhere else. I appreciate both so much more as I like activity and variety. And a nice quiet retreat sounds good to me right now! Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  5. Sounds like an interesting vacation. Welcome home.

    Like

  6. Glad you were able to go, Neva, and that you and hubby spent quality time with friends and family. I guess we always hope for sunny and warm when visiting Arizona in the summer, but if nothing else, the change of scenery and the love and sharing help make it warm no matter the temps. Welcome back to icy, snowy, windy Casper! Coffee sometime soon, my friend! ~ Gayle

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      Yes, would love coffee sometime soon. February 22 starts my three weeks of teaching school! Let’s do it before then. Thanks for the comments. Glad you got on your writing retreat! And actually, Casper is peaceful compared to four lanes of bumper to bumper traffic, each car containing folks close to having their number come up in my estimation.

      Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Your vacation sounds both relaxing and energy zapping at the same time. My husband and I always go loads of places when on holiday- museums, parks, sites of interest etc like you just did during the wetter days, but that can be quite tiring as well as enjoyable. I find that it’s never easy to re-do a vacation situation because it’s never quite the same second time- too many variables… like the weather to contend with. I’ve never heard of Farkle- will maybe do some investigating about it!

    Like

  8. Love the photos, Neva. Especially the one with the smiling cactus! 🙂 They make me miss visiting my best friend who lives in Phoenix. We spent a day at the Desert Botanical Garden and it was beautiful. There was a fantastic butterfly exhibit at the time too. Glad you’re home safe and sound.

    Like

  9. Doris says:

    I have enjoyed my time in Arizona, but know I don’t want to live there. As for vacations, it’s been a bit, but on the agenda. Loved the photos. Doris

    Like

  10. Mike Staton says:

    What? You drove through Las Vegas and didn’t give me a call? I forgive you — this time. Lol. Glad you had a good time, Neva.

    Like

  11. What a nice post Neva! Even though the weather wasn’t as nice, it sounds like you still had a great time in January. What a difference a month makes! Love the pictures. The point is, to take a break, right?

    Like

  12. S J Brown says:

    Sounds like a pretty good trip. I find that vacations , even short ones tend to reenergize me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

