This post by Jennifer Flaten

Today was a tough day at work. I’ll spare you the gory details, but in a nutshell we were doing our year end entries. In theory, it should be a 15 min operation, but in reality it stretched to hours.

Ahhh, year end when you find out a transaction you made at the beginning of the year, was wrong. Not only that but how you approached a situation was wrong. Basically, everything I touched was wrong!

Okay, maybe that is a slight exaggeration, but only a slight one. The day was so bad, my boss sent me home with instructions to have an ice cream cone.DSC_0868 As far as he is concerned an ice cream cone would make everything better.

I am not really an ice cream makes everything better person, but I will admit it did sound awfully tempting after the morning I had.

While I didn’t have ice cream, I did share two mini donuts with the dog when I got home, that made me feel slightly better.

Do you have a sure fire cure for “one of those days”? Here’s to hoping next week isn’t quite as bad.

Browse my jewelry on Etsy

This entry was posted in unique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to

  1. Kathy Waller says:

    Jennifer, this is one of the most delightful posts I’ve ever read. You must have a wonderful boss. I hope the mini donuts made things better–I’m sure the dog thinks they did–and that the problem has been or soon will be straightened out. I don’t think ice cream relieves all our woes, but I do remember an exercise guru on TV a long time ago say that ice cream is therapeutic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    So sorry about the day! I have had days like that and let them affect me way more than they should, and look back on them months later and wonder why I agonized. I agree with Kathy, the dog definitely felt the benefit with the donuts. Hopefully your spirit did too. I like your boss, and I admire your work ethic, but unfortunately, no one can be perfect here on earth, we just like to think so. Wishing you a better day tomorrow! And sympathy for today.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Wranglers says:

    So funny. I’m not a “ice cream makes everything better” person either. I wish I was. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A hot fudge sundae from Dairy Queen during the summer and/or a can of Dr. Pepper always make me feel better, but then when I get on the scale… Ha ha! Sorry about your bad week.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Doris says:

    Don’t like ice cream, but a long walk always helps. Doris

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    I like the mini-doughnuts as a cure-all for a screwed-up day. I’d take it one better… a stop at Dunkin’ Donuts and several chocolate-covered ones with a fruity interior. Nothing like a sugar overdose to chase away a horrible day.

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    I wouldn’t reach for the ice-cream either but i would roam the house in search of a piece of Scottish tablet. Pure sugar and very bad for you- I know. I hope your next week is a good one.

    Like

  8. Chocolate … and NCIS! 🙂

    Like

  9. Joe Stephens says:

    Pizza. Specifically, Pizza Place pizza, which is the best pizza east of Chicago. It’s that pizza the everyone who moves away from Parkersburg has to have when they come back, even for a short visit. And it cures all ills. Even nausea.

    Like

  10. S J Brown says:

    Chocolate, That is my secret. It could be a candy bar, ice cream, or a donut. It doesn’t really matter as long as it is CHOCOLATE.

    Like

Leave a Reply

