Joys Of Being a Writer

1This post is by Joe Stephens

I know not everyone who reads this blog is a writer, but all of us who contribute to it are, so this post is partly aimed at my fellow Wranglers and Warriors, but what I’m writing will no doubt be things they already know, so it’s really for a general audience too. I want to talk about the reasons I love being a writer. If you are a writer, you may have a different list. If you aren’t a writer, you may find that it’s something you want to try when you find out why we enjoy it so much.

  1. I get to make up stuff and no one calls me a liar. Now, granted, this one doesn’t writing, paper, notepad, notebook, pen, pencil, hands, business, creativeapply to all writers at all times. Even me. But in my books everything is mine to decide. And even if I base an event or place on real life, it’s fiction so I can change it however I want. Don’t like a character? Kill her off. Like a character? Give him a sexy girlfriend. Need a conflict? I’ll make one up. And it’s not only not considered immoral, it’s downright encouraged.
  2. I never have to face reality. Well, okay, maybe not never. But never for long. If I had a bad day at work and come home to a big bill in the mail, I can easily escape through my keyboard into the world of my protagonists. Do they have problems too? macbook, laptop, computer, technology, keyboard, hands, typing, keyboard, mouse, office, desk, working, business, blog, watchSure, but I have control over those and they’re generally solved in under 350 pages. And besides, unlike me and my life, they’re both pretty and madly in love with each other. Additionally, they can eat all the pizza in the world and never gain an ounce. While I’m with them, I have no troubles over which I don’t have control. And that’s nice for a change.
  3. Even if I never sell a book, it’s a fun, cheap, stress-relieving hobby. Sure, I do all my writing on a laptop, but those are dirt cheap nowadays. And even if I didn’t have that, I still just need paper and a pen. Worse comes to worst, charred stick and a piece of wood will do, but I’d hate to write a whole novel that way.
  4. I’ve met all these other folks who are just as weird as I am. We say stuff about killing people and hiding the bodies and stealing and having affairs and other stuff that, if we said them to anyone who wasn’t a fellow writer, they might call the cops on us, graveyard, gravestones, cemetery, tombstones, dark, night, scary, halloweenor at least excuse themselves from the table and never come back. We speak the same language. And we support each other. We’re just as happy when another writer succeeds as we are when we ourselves do.

I could go on for a bit, but I’ll leave some things for you guys to say. What are the joys you derive from being a writer?

 

Joe Stephens is a teacher at Parkersburg High School. He is also the author of Harsh Prey, Kisses and Lies, and the recently released In the Shadow, all of which are available in paperback and Kindle formats. The paperback may be purchased from Createspace, Amazon, and most online booksellers. In the real world, you may purchase from J & M Used Book Store in Parkersburg and from the author’s trunk.

ITS Cover ArtCheck out his newest book on Amazon

kindle cover

Take a look at Harsh Prey on Amazon 

Kisses and Lies Cover Michele croppedTake a look at Kisses and Lies on Amazon

Join Joe on Facebook 

Check out joe’s website.

This entry was posted in unique and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Joys Of Being a Writer

  1. Wranglers says:

    I started writing to give teens an alternative to some books that I didn’t think were so great for them to be reading. I did finish that novel, a long time ago, now the kids I was writing for are parents themselves. Since then I have taken many courses and wrote many things, including a different book for teens. I love the way people love my books. It just makes me feel really good that someone likes my books enough to buy the first one, and then to keep coming back. I love the new friends I’ve made through writing. And of course, I love each of my WW&W comrades. We do have a great group. I think if anyone follows us, whether writer or not, there is plenty to keep people interested. I have enjoyed meeting you on the blog and then in real life too. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Travis says:

    That was fun list Joe. Vive writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Doris says:

    The worlds we create are ours, no one can take them away. The fact that we can share our ‘stories’ makes it even more fun. Loved the list. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  4. wyoauthor1 says:

    Love your post, Joe! I write to encourage, to inspire, to uplift, and to educate — and because I LOVE it! Your list is great, and even though I don’t write as much fiction as my fellow WWW’s, I enjoy reading their stories and plan to dabble in that area one day also. Writers inspire each other as well as inspire readers, and that’s a good thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I find joy in creating things: stories, poems, even blog posts. I also find joy in using technology to create these stories, poems, and blog posts, when it works, that is. I spent over an hour on the phone with my Internet provider, thinking something was wrong with my modem. At first, we thought the modem might need to be replaced. Then, the phone line to which the modem was connected seemed to be the culprit. Finally, I discovered that one of the cords had come unplugged. Technology is like a spouse. You can’t live with it, and you can’t live without it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joe Stephens says:

      That’s for sure. And technology problems seem always to happen at the most inconvenient times–although there probably aren’t any convenient ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. There is such joy in creating something no one else has done and such power in knowing you have the ability to change things on a whim and affect the outcome of your story. Even if I’d never sold a book I would cherish the time spent writing, in hopes that others would enjoy reading the scenes and characters I have created as much as I have enjoyed writing them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joe Stephens says:

      I feel the same way. When someone comes to me to talk about a character or a scene in a book I wrote, that’s such a joy! I love it when my characters become as real to others as they are to me.

      Like

  7. Joe,
    I’ve found the mystery writing community very warm and inviting. I love hanging around other writers. I belong to other non-writing organizations and they can be petty and stuck up but not the writers.
    I love to get lost in my writing and find out that five minutes of writing was really three hours.

    Thanks for the post.
    – Stephen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joe Stephens says:

      I can definitely relate to that! I finished this post after all the students left my room yesterday afternoon. It felt like it had taken me maybe fifteen minutes. When I got in my car, I thought I had somehow accidentally changed the clock because more than an hour had gone by. I almost missed dinner–and I never miss dinner.

      Like

  8. Neva Bodin says:

    I, too, love writing for the sake of having a legitimate reason to get crazy thoughts on paper, make up stories that circulate in my brain like high pressure systems, and meet fellow writers. And, as you said, the characters and outcomes can be controlled. My characters and the people I meet and interact with because of them, enrich my life. Great post, Joe.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I can just imagine the work of writing with a charred stick and piece of wood. I love your descriptive writing, it is very inspiring and keeps one shooting for the next page to write.
    Thanks Joe!

    Like

  10. I love your list, Joe! I agree with everything on it. I like to be able to make up stuff while also controlling my own little world (I do have a little of a control freak in me – okay, maybe a lot). But mostly I write because I have to get stuff out that I feel too uncomfortable to release any other way. Writing is freeing and things that I hold in (because in addition to being a control freak, I’m not the best at verbal communication) need to come out. So writing is essentially like my therapy. But it’s fun therapy because I get to share it with others who “get” me. Thanks for the great post, Joe.

    Like

  11. Mike Staton says:

    Speaking for myself, I just love the research, the outlining and the actual writing that goes into making a novel. Putting together notes for a scene and then making it come to life. An hour earlier this evening I took a neighborhood walk and used the 40 minutes to run possible dialogue through my head for the current chapter outline. I couldn’t believe how fast the walk went. Wonderful walk.

    Like

  12. Kathy Waller says:

    4. I’ve met all these other folks who are just as weird as I am

    #4 is my favorite. It took me a long time to find my tribe, but when I did the fit was immediate. It’s so pleasant to be in the company of people who accept weirdness as the norm. And such a relief to know I’m normal.

    Great post.

    Like

  13. Nancy Jardine says:

    I just Do! When I can, that is…write. But yes, Joe, the fellowship is a great thing and I have a lot of author friends who are great fun to read about.

    Like

  14. katewyland says:

    Great post and I agree with all it, especially #4. It’s wonderful when you can find others as weird as you are. I’ve had it with horse people and then with writers. Unfortunately, I lost my super critique group because of our move. Once I find a new one, then I’ll feel at home.

    Like

  15. S J Brown says:

    I began writing in High School, the aim at first was to get a passing grade. Then I discovered I enjoyed putting pen to paper. Today I write so I can share with others. I share my experiences with a bit of information about critters sprinkled in.

    I haven’t yet joined the ranks of those who are hiding bodies, but it does sound like a good outlet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

