Thoughtfull Valentine Gifts and Expressions of Love by Cher’ley

ATThis post by Cher’ley Grogg

Thoughtful Valentine’s Day Gift

  Jim asked his friend, Tony, whether he had bought his wife anything for Valentine’s Day.

‘Yes,’ came the answer from Tony who was a bit of a chauvinist, ‘I’ve bought her a belt and a bag.’

‘That was very kind of you,’ Jim added, ‘I hope she appreciated the thought.’

Tony smiled as he replied, ‘So do I, and hopefully the vacuum cleaner will work better now.’

                                                    ***

     I’m thinking about Valentine’s Day and looking forward to exchanging cards and gifts with my Valentine.

            I wonder what my characters in Wanton, WV are doing to celebrate Valentine’s Day. James is still learning to be romantic, with the help of George his partner at work. He turns to George for advice.

            “Get her something nice for Valentine’s Day. It’s the most romantic day of the year.”

            James went to the department store and it had Valentine decorations and gifts everywhere. What should he get? When he passed the candy, he grabbed a box. He saw a big stuff bear that had a banner across his chest that read, ‘Be my Valentine.’ He put the bear in his buggy. He needed a card, and he had to pass the jewelry counter.  He looked at all of the jewelry and with the help of the sales clerk, he chose a delicate necklace, with a small diamond embedded in a heart. He looked through every card until he found one that expressed his feelings for her. He grabbed a Valentine Balloon, a mechanical dog whose ears and tail moved as it played a love song, and then he grabbed a bouquet of a dozen red roses. Carolyn would be so happy. He thought of her beautiful grey eyes twinkling with moisture, because she always had a few tears ready for a happy occasion.  

            When he got to the McKeels’ Bed and Breakfast, He collected his bags of gifts. He put the necklace in his coat pocket, and the rest he juggled back and forth until he could hold onto everything and close the door at the same time.

            Inside, Carolyn waited at the door. She had a card and some cupcakes she’d decorated with red and white sprinkles. She steered him towards the dining room. He smiled as he saw the cupcakes and he noticed there was an envelope with his name on it.

            “Have a seat, and let me go first.” He started with the flowers because he was having a hard time holding them. He went through each gift, and finally came to the necklace and the card. She oohed and awed over each item. His chest swelled as he thought of her being so happy.

            She fingered the necklace and then opened the card. As she read the card, the tears came. “James, this is perfect, thanks for everything, but the card I will always treasure.”

                                              ###

Go figure, right! That’s the way it goes. Just remember to give your significant other something special for Valentine’s Day, and do expect her to love the card, no matter what else you get her. I’m not for sure how a man feels—card or gift?

What do you think is the best Valentine’s gift? Which does a man like the best—card or gift? If you don’t have a Valentine, give your pet something special. Our hearts love to share.

***How thoughtful do you think a gift or card should be? ***

 

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors.

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

All About the Girls 5(3)

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Love, romance, stories within stories, surprises, unique, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Thoughtfull Valentine Gifts and Expressions of Love by Cher’ley

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    That’s a sweet story. I sometimes miss having someone with whom to exchange thoughtful gifts on occasions like Valentines.

    Like

  2. Wranglers says:

    My husband tends to be like James, my character. I used to by the kids cards and give them out to everyone in our family and at church. It was just fun. Thanks Joe.

    Like

  3. I used to go all mushy-gooy over Valentine’s Day and lament when I didn’t have a sweetheart to share the day with … or when the boyfriend didn’t share the sentimental stuff. Now, I’m an aging, cranky woman who no longer cares much for the holiday, especially the way retailers jack up prices on the sentiments (flowers, cards, candy, etc). I’m not becoming my mother — pessimistic and unromantic. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wranglers says:

      I still like to be Romantic. I celebrate with my husband as often as I can and he loves getting me little gifts. If I didn’t put the stops up, it’s hard to tell what I would end up with. LOL

      Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    Way back in the mid 1970s , when my husband and I got married, we had a talk. I wasn’t into a lot of mushy stuff and neither was he. We had an agreement that we’d skip Valentines and would surprise each other with gifts etc all year round. I still get lots of surprise bunches of flowers and he gets surprise ‘other things’! Today, he did the grocery shopping and bought 2 bunches of flowers. Beautiful! On Valentines day there will be zilch…but at least I know why!

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      I think I made a mistake one time and told Del he was spending too much on flowers and that was the end of that. My daughter’s fiancé bus her flowers a lot, she doesn’t really care that much for flowers, so I think he bus them for her so he can enjoy them. Lol Cher’ley

      Like

  5. Doris says:

    When you care for someone, nothing is too much for them. The story had a sweet way fo expressing that, but the thoughts, those are even more special. Thanks. Doris

    Like

  6. When my late husband Bill proposed to me in January of 2005, he was living in Fowler, Colorado, I was living here in Sheridan, Wyoming. A month later, he sent me a care package containing the obligatory chocolates, a doll that sang “Annie’s Song” when her hand was squeezed, and a cassette of love songs he downloaded from the Internet.

    The chocolates are long gone, but I still have the singing doll. The cassette broke a while ago, but I was able to find my favorite songs from that tape on YouTube and convert them to mp3 so I can listen to them whenever I want. I still find it amazing that a man wanted to spend his Lifetime loving me.

    Like

  7. Neva Bodin says:

    Valentine’s day is wonderful, but sometimes you have to look for the wonderful. Like being glad that some people do give and share gifts and sentiments on that day, that some people get engaged on that day, etc. But it can be lonely for those who don’t receive a gift from someone who means a lot to them. Like everything–good and bad. But I do love sending valentines to the grandchildren and children, and seeing others enjoy gifts. In grade school in fourth grade, I and classmates formed a “valentine’s club” so we could make and give valentine’s long after the day was gone.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      That’s so sweet. And a great idea. Yes any holiday can be sad. My son-in-law git killed the day after Valentine’s day three years ago. It’s not a Happy Day fir my daughter. Cher’ley

      Like

  8. katewyland says:

    I love Valentine’s Day. Hubs and I always get each other something, if only a card. I frequently make a special extremely rich cake in a heart mold, which he dearly loves. We always celebrated all the holidays – St. Patrick’s, Presidents’, St, Nicolas, etc. – with the kids. Don’t do it as much now we’re alone, but never miss Valentine’s.

    Like

  9. Mike Staton says:

    I love Valentine’s Day as a kid, getting those cards from classmates. I worked at a training company back in the 1990s and early 2000s, and I’m now Facebook friends with a co-worker from those days, a woman who now teaches dance and sells dance outfits, etc. at her own store in Wilmington. She recently scanned and inserted some old Valentine Day’s lists on her timeline. She was in third grade when she made the lists, and I joked with her about one of the lists. She had her own name down. I asked Donna if she’d sent herself a Valentine’s Card? She’d commented back that she wouldn’t put it past her ‘kid self’ that she had sent herself a Valentine’s card.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. S J Brown says:

    Jay and I exchange cards each year, but not gifts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

