Today is National What?

1This post is by Joe Stephens

For those of a Christian bent, and even many of you who aren’t, undoubtedly know it’s Ash Wednesday, which is the first day of Lent, or the season that prepares believers for Holy Week, or the week that Jesus was crucified, buried, and resurrected. It’s the day that, assuming the weather isn’t like it is here today and people actually go places, you’ll see folks with a cross of ashes on their foreheads. So it’s an important observance for many. This got me to thinking about holidays and observances, which sent me off to Google just to find out what else today is. As I did my research, I found weekly and monthly events and observances too. Some are quite serious, like Black History Month, while some are just plain odd. Being kind of odd myself, I was drawn to those. So here’s a list of some of my favorite observances that are going on today, this week, and this month.

Daily Observances for February 10cross, religion, mountains, hills, snow, winter, sky, clouds, outdoors, nature, sunset

  • Ash Wednesday  I already mentioned this one, but it’s kind of the biggie and the reason I’m writing this thing to begin with, so it felt derelict not to include it.
  • Umbrella Day  I’m not sure if this is an American thing or international. I thought at first that it felt British, but then I thought that couldn’t be true because the Brits call them bumbershoots. So I looked that up too. Turns out that’s not true. So I’m back to thinking this started in Great Britain. I have no actual reason to think it. But when has that ever stopped me? If you know this not to be true, kindly keep it to yourself so I may dwell blissfully in my ignorance.
  • Plimsoll Day  Yeah, I had no idea what this was either. So Google told me that it’s ashoes, sneakers, jeans, denim, lifestyle, concrete, city light, rubber-soled canvas shoe. I guess everything’s important to somebody.
  • All The News That’s Fit To Print Day  I’m going to guess this has something to do with the New York Times, but I couldn’t find in my extensive search that took upwards of three mouse clicks any further information.
  • Cream Cheese Brownie Day  This is obviously my favorite. To paraphrase Joey Tribiani from Friends, cream cheese good; brownie, GOOD.

Weekly Observances

There were literally dozens that fit this category, so I just picked the ones I liked best. I had no real criteria. If I liked it, I picked it. So I guess I did have at least one criterion. Anyway, here are my favorites:

  • Celebration of Love Week  This seemed almost required considering the week ends heart, love, romance, hands, couple, peoplewith Valentine’s Day.  For anyone who’s interested, my dates for that day are named Ben and Jerry.
  • Jell-O Week  I’m not sure if this a crass commercial thing, since it’s actually named after a brand of food. It could be that Jell-O has become such a ubiquitous term, like Coke or Kleenex, that it just means non-specific-brand-of-flavored-gelatin. I could see where Generic Flavored Gelatin Week wouldn’t have a ring to it.
  • Dump Your Significant Jerk Week  I can’t think of a single word to add to this one.
  • Have a Heart For a Chained Dog Week  I don’t have anything flippant to say about this one because I don’t find the idea of chaining a dog to a doghouse (or worse, just to a stake) is in any way funny or acceptable.
  • Solo Diners Eat Out Weekend  This seemed appropriate to go immediately after the previous observance. The odd part is that its title has weekend in it, but it’s a whole week long.
  • Love Makes The World Go Round, But Laughter Keeps Us From Getting Dizzy Week Yes, this an actual thing. I hope you can see why this would be my favorite.
  • Freelance Writers Week  This one just felt like it needed to be on this list, considering that the author of this post and many of the readers are freelance writers. So happy us week!
  • Children’s Authors and Illustrators Week  I don’t do children’s books, but I’m sure some of you do.
  • Just Say No To PowerPoint Week  I included this as a bit of a shot to myself because, well, I just love making PowerPoint presentations. When I’m making a lesson plan, it’s my go-to tech. I have other tricks in my bag, but this one is my default. So I say no to Just Say No To PowerPoint Week.

Monthly Observances

Again, there were so many to choose from, but I picked out five that really seemed appropriate to me in one way or another. Here you go:

  • Library Lovers Month  I think we can all agree that pretty much every serious writerlibrary, books, shelves, student, school, learning started out as a serious reader. I’ve long thought that someone who creates a perfume that smells like old library book will laugh all the way to the bank.
  • Spunky Old Broads Month  Because spunky old broads. We all love them.
  • Pull Your Sofa Off The Wall Month  I chose this one because I wasn’t sure if it meant to pull it off the wall as a fashion statement or to pull it off the wall so you can clean up all the junk that gathers under it. I decided that it could be both. I’m a big fan of Alton Brown, who would explain how an observance that’s not a unitasker is a superior observance.
  • Return Your Shopping Cart To The Supermarket Month  I like the idea of this just because it seems like the right thing to do. Also, you folks from other parts of the country might find it interesting to know that many of here in West Virginia call shopping carts buggies. I don’t know why.
  • Jobs In Golf Month  Fill in your own joke here.

So those are my favorite observances for this month. Did I miss any of your favorites?

Joe Stephens is a teacher at Parkersburg High School. He is also the author of Harsh Prey, Kisses and Lies, and the recently released In the Shadow, all of which are available in paperback and Kindle formats. The paperback may be purchased from Createspace, Amazon, and most online booksellers. In the real world, you may purchase from J & M Used Book Store in Parkersburg and from the author’s trunk.

ITS Cover ArtCheck out his newest book on Amazon

kindle cover

Take a look at Harsh Prey on Amazon 

Kisses and Lies Cover Michele croppedTake a look at Kisses and Lies on Amazon

Join Joe on Facebook 

Check out joe’s website.

 

This entry was posted in unique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Today is National What?

  1. Doris says:

    Joe, I resemble that old broads remark and loved it. These types of list are always great fun. It seems humans just need to observe things, a chance to make things special or just have fun. Others it keeps them focused on what is important in their lives. Thanks for the list. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katewyland says:

    Fun post! I especially like Spunky Old Broads month. I always thought Plimsoll was a beer. Wonder where I got that idea?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pepper says:

    My inner Spunky Old Broad loved this post.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    Today’s post on Writing Wranglers and Warriors is written by author Joe Stephens and I think you’ll find it fitting. There is always a “National What?” day somewhere and Joe has picked out a few to share with us that are not only appropriate for this time of year, but may actually tickle your funny bone. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love this post Joe, especially the Library Lovers Month. I just can’t get that love out of my heart and still feel the rush when I open the door to any library and breathe in the scent of all the wonderful books just sitting there to be read or re-read. My second favorite is the Spunky Old Broads Month. Kudos to you for daring to tread where most men would tremble (there are a lot of us on this blog). Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That was a fun post and good for a nice chuckle! I especially enjoyed your Joey Tribiani quote and could hear him saying it. Thanks for the midday laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wranglers says:

    Spunky Old Broads is my favorite. So cute. Thanks for the post. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is interesting. Thanks for all the trivial information about today.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Delightful post, Joe! Of course, my eyes and mind focused on the chaining of dogs information — glad there’s an awareness week about that. My community leaders passed an ordinance last year, finally, to stop such practices, and I hope more communities follow suit. Like some of my colleagues, I loved the Spunky Old Broads Month — made me think of “The Golden Girls,” especially Sophia, and also of my maternal grandmother — my mother is becoming one of those, too, and likely, so will I! LOL Thanks for the great (and often humorous!) information! (and thanks for taking my Feb. 10th slot!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joe Stephens says:

      I’m glad to have helped out. I had a feeling you would take special note of the dog one. I added it partly because it’s a sore subject for me, but I also knew of your affinity for fur babies.

      Like

  10. Nancy Jardine says:

    Ha, Ha! I loved it, Joe. I confess to never having heard of bumbershoot being a term for umbrella. As to the 10th Feb being an observance day for Umbrellas is a mystery to me. We Scottish people need them almost EVERY SINGLE DAY OF THE YEAR. 😉 We also have the best kind of ‘blow them inside out’ umbrellas to deal with all strengths of serious gales and hurricanes that we can expect every month of the year in NE Scotland! That needs another of these 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your post, Nancy, made me realize I too never knew bumbershoot was an umbrella which explains why the biggest music festival in Seattle (one I’ve been wanting to go to for a while) is called the Bumbershoot Festival. Makes perfect sense! Ha!

      Like

  11. Mike Staton says:

    I’ve been outlining my WIP Civil War novel and sometimes inserting some Victorian slang words within the outline so I can keep the dialogue a bit realistic. I notice one slang word for umbrella was rain napper. I think we ought to start a movement to make all these extraneous holidays national holidays… then nobody would have to work 300 days out of the year.

    Like

  12. S J Brown says:

    Everyday of the year is dedicated to something. There is actually a national calendar for this. Several days have a variety of things. There is a national day for just about everything. The radio station I listen to in the mornings sometimes declares what day it is, like national donut day demands that I stop for a donut.

    Like

Leave a Reply

