3,2,1 CONTACT!

propic11_1This post by L.Leander, Author of Fearless Fiction

This week I did something I thought I’d never do again. I had an eye exam and was fitted for contact lenses. I’ve tried them in the past with good luck, but just never followed through. I cannot seem to keep my glasses where I can find them. I spend a lot of my time each day searching the house for the last place I laid them down. I even have two pair with the same prescription, so either will work, but neither will come out of hiding.

I have a unique problem with my vision, which causes all this fuss. When wearing glasses, I have problems with my peripheral vision. The glasses frames are always in the way of my seeing things. I’ve tried every kind of frame, including the no-frame frame and my vision is much the same.IMG_4119-2

The last time I got new glasses (if you remember), I also got a concussion. Of course, that was in Mexico, where I walked everywhere, and I stumbled over a piece of sidewalk that had jutted up. That was four years ago. I haven’t had my eyes checked since. I know, I know. Bad girl. It wasn’t until lately that my vision worsened. I’d be working on the computer writing and my eyes would blur and ache. I had to take a lot of breaks. Hubby finally talked me into going for an exam and it turns out that the prescription I have worn since I was sixteen (that rarely changed) had changed quite a bitl19WPw3v

I had to make a decision. Did I want to try contact lenses again? Or did I want to try another frame with no frame? I used a new ophthalmologist who has a practice about nineteen miles from us. I was very impressed with the thorough exam he gave me. Afterward, he took a lot of time to chat with me about the options I had available. I’m not really sure why I scrapped the contact lens idea fifteen years or so ago, but I decided to try again. I am a perfect candidate for monovision. The doctor thought it the best way for me to go, especially since I’m on the computer so much and have the problem with peripheral vision. He fit me with a lens that very day. I go back this week to be sure the contacts are doing their job. He’ll check the fit and the vision. At that time he’ll tweak anything that needs to be changed.

This is day four with the contacts. So far, so good. Well, almost. This morning when I was putting in the first lens I lost it. I stood perfectly still, not wanting to step on it or ever be able to find it again. I looked all around the bathroom. No contact lens. I looked at my clothes; even shook them a little. No luck. Carefully, I knelt to the floor, where I gently swiped my hand in a back and forth motion, hoping to find it. Still no luck. I repeated this motion a couple of times more, then stood back up.file000256677703

“Great,” I thought. “Four days and I’ve already lost a lens. Guess I’ll have to go back to glasses. At least they’re bigger and a “little” easier to find.

Suddenly I looked up and there it was! Clinging for dear life to the bathroom mirror was my contact lens.

“Eureka!” I thought, as I gently pried it off and put it in the cleaning solution. After cleanng, it was easy to insert and my big adventure was over.

Even though I had this little mishap, it hasn’t curbed my enthusiasm for wearing contacts again. For four days I have seen clearly and my eyes have not ached.   I don’t get freaked out when I catch the frame of my glasses in my peripherial vision. I think It’ll take a little time to get used to, but once I do, I think it’ll be worth it.

Here are a few interesting facts about contacts I gleaned from the Wikipedia site:

  • A contact lens, or simply contact, is a thin lens placed directly on the surface of the eye.
  • Leonardo Da Vinci is often credited with introducing the idea of the contact lens in 1508.
  • In 1949 the first corneal lenses were developed. They sat on the cornea, as opposed to across the eye, and were able to be worn up to sixteen hours per day. These were the only lenses to have mass appeal through the 1960’s.
  • Contact lenses had to be redesigned to allow air to access the eye. In the 1960’s, gas permeable lenses were designed. They were referred to as “hard lenses.”
  • Monovision is the use of single vision lenses (one focal point per lens) to focus one eye for distance vision (typically, the person’s dominant eye) and the other eye for near work. The brain then learns to use this setup to see clearly at all distances. A technique called modified monovision uses multifocal lenses and also specializes one eye for distance and one eye for near, thus gaining the benefits of both systems. Alternatively, a person may simply wear reading glasses over their distance contact lenses. Care is advised for persons with a previous history of strabismus and those with significant phorias, who are at risk of eye misalignment under monovision.

Do you wear either glasses or contact lenses?  I’d love to hear your experiences.  Maybe you even have some advice for me?Books by L.Leander:

Inzared Queen of the Elephant Riders Video Trailer

 

Inzaredonecover

 

Inzared, Queen of the Elephant Riders

 

Inzared, The Fortune Teller Video Trailer

 

inzaredtwocover

 

Inzared, The Fortune Teller (Book Two)

 

13ext

13 Extreme Tips to Self Publishing

 

13 Extreme Tips to Marketing an ebook

 

13mkt

 

You can also find L.Leander here:

L.Leander Website

Amazon Author Page

Facebook Author Page

L.Leander Books Blog

L.Leander’s Book Reviews and Interviews

Twitter

LinkedIn

Goodreads

Google+

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in challenges, change, choices, Concussion, Contact Lenses, Decision Making, decisions, Doctors, Eye Exam, Follow-ups, Glasses, Health, lessons, Opthamologist, Uncategorized, Warning Signs, Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 3,2,1 CONTACT!

  1. Doris says:

    I confess, I’m blessed with good vision. The only time I wore glasses was in college, for eye strain. My eye doctor told me when I turned 50 I would wear glasses. I told them No, and I still don’t wear them after almost twenty years. For that I’m thankful. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s wonderful Doris! I can see to drive without my glasses and to do most everything else, but I can’t read without them and that causes some real problems if I’m not wearing glasses or contacts. I’m hoping this is the answer. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. I’ve worn mono contact lenses but stopped wearing them after my detached retina. They work great. Have you thought about daily lenses? You put new ones each day. That’s the route I took and it worked well.
    I’m glad to hear your headaches stopped and the contact lenses are working.
    – Stephen

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I actually looked at the daily but decided to try the monthly. If I don’t have problems and everything works out ok I will probably go to the dailies. I like the fact that they are only worn once and thrown away – seems like there’d be less chance of irritation or infection. I had my week check up today and we actually switched to a bifocal lens because I was seeing double. Overall I’m having good luck though!

    Like

  4. I wear contacts and love them. I read fine – it’s just things far away (and at night). I get a vision check every year. This year though my left eye worsened. It’s been taking up the slack for my weaker right eye. I didn’t start wearing contacts until about 2007 or 2008. I didn’t like the idea of sticking stuff in my eye but now I’m used to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had a weekly check on Wednesday and the doctor changed to a contact with a bifocal. The vision is better but I can’t read anything that is really fine print. Maybe I’m asking too much of the contacts because I’m not sure I could read the print with my glasses either. The comfort is good. I do have occasional problems getting them out though. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad the contacts are working out and hope you have continued good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wranglers says:

    I’ve worn contacts. I was a bit lazy and didn’t always put them in each day. So glasses seemed easier. I have the no frame glasses right now; they are very fragile. I wanted contacts again, but I had the operation to correct my distant vision, which caused a stigmatism. I could go back and have my eyes done again. I bought the insurance at the time of the operation, so I can have it redone for free, but Del is afraid for me to get another operation on them, he doesn’t want to take a chance on something happening. I like the glasses I have now. I don’t have to wear glasses that often. In daylight, (or with large print), I’m good. I can even drive fine without them, but I see a little better with them. Good luck. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Cherley. I am really motivated to wear the contacts because it makes the peripheral vision so much easier for me, plus I always misplace my glasses. The doc changed the contacts on Wed and I go back next week for another check. I was seeing double with the first pair. Not so with these.

      Like

  7. Travis says:

    I wear glasses. Don’t like the idea of touching my eyeball every day. Used to have a weak prescription, but my eye are getting worse.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still don’t like the idea of touching my eyeball, but I think I’m getting better at taking them out. Putting the contacts in isn’t a problem for me. My prescription has stayed the same pretty much since I first started wearing glasses at age 14. It did change just a bit at this exam.

      Like

  8. katewyland says:

    I wore hard contacts when I was in college until I got a serious eye infection. Couldn’t tolerate them after that. Years later I tried soft contacts when I was doing theater but it turns out I tend to have dry eyes and it was a no go. I have the peripheral problem too, particularly when I backing up my horse trailer. I’ve looked at having my eyes lasered but I’ve been wearing glasses for so long it doesn’t seem worth it.

    A friend who is a physical therapist saw an interesting demonstration at a class. A man came out wearing mono lenses and all the PTs could see how out of alignment he was. The instructor had him take off the lenses and the misalignments went away. Apparently the body doesn’t always adjust to the conflicting messages. She has since similar experiences with her patients. So if you start developing physical problems, you might want to try taking off the mono lenses and see if that makes a difference. Good luck.

    Like

    • Thanks for the heads up. I’ll definitely pay attention if my eyes don’t adjust. It’s not that I hate glasses, I just dislike the peripheral thing. So either way will be fine, but this will definitely be my last time trying contacts. I tried hard contacts in the 80’s but I couldn’t tolerate them. I have dry eyes and have to use drops but these contacts don’t seem to bother much. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  9. Neva Bodin says:

    So, will we see a new picture of you soon? I hope they work well for you. I have some mild hayfever type allergies at times and my left eye is always affected with itchiness, and sometimes both eyes are, so have been afraid to try contacts, plus I have dry eyes now too. But it’s great if they work for you! Entertaining blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. wyoauthor1 says:

    I’ve worn contact lenses since I was 20 years old — I LOVE them! I generally take them out an hour or so after I return home from work and wear my glasses, but I prefer contacts over glasses so I stick with them. I’ve considered switching back to just glasses to save expense, but I guess vanity still rules my life — I like myself better in contacts. However, I do have to wear reading glasses — but then, I think that’s par for the course for a writer and makes me feel “stylish” to wear them when I read from my books to the kids at school. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the contacts too. I also take mine out in the early evening and switch to glasses. Too bad that the contacts cost a little more, but it does give me freedom from constantly taking the glasses on and off and misplacing them. I’m really keeping my fingers crossed that it works!

      Like

  11. Mike Staton says:

    I got my first set of eyeglasses back when I was 14. In the eighth grade, sitting in the classroom, I had trouble reading the teacher’s scribbles on the chalkboard. I’ve been wearing glasses ever since — 50 years now, I realize. That’s scary. Never tried contacts, though. Never liked the idea of put them against my eyes. Gives me a queasy feeling. Lol. I don’t eat bugs either, although my friend Sharon says I’ve probably eaten a few spiders in my time as I sleep with my mouth open.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Nancy Jardine says:

    Linda- good luck with the contacts. Since my mid-forties I’ve been wearing glasses for reading which are set for using at the computer screen, with an anti-glare coating on them. And since my last visit to my optician, I also have glasses for driving because my distance vision was ‘on the cusp’ of needing some attention. To be sure I’m legit for driving, I’ve been using them and leave them in the car- otherwise I’d never find them! I’m due to go back soon for my every 2 year check up and I’m guessing that my short range vision is a wee bit different than it was- that age factor thing and the use of a computer all day when I’m not grand childminding. I gulp at the thought of shelling out £350-£400 for new glasses but I don’t think I’m a candidate for contact lenses. In Scotland, the Scottish Government pays for the FULL eye test every two years for anyone, done by a qualified optometrist who checks all aspects of healthy eyes. The optometrist flags up things like hypertension, macular degeneration, diabetes, glaucoma etc. which might need to be followed up by a doctor/ hospital visit. Some people are eligible for help with costs for the lenses (those on benefits probably get them free) and there are different structures for frame costs. Unfortunately, I have an allergy to some metals and generally need a titanium frame which is much more expensive!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would have to leave my driving glasses in the car too or I’d never find them! I tried computer glasses but they weren’t the answer for me. I wear no-line bifocals and have my computer set to the right height, so no problems on that front. I do notice that my eyes get tired more often as I’m aging, but I suppose that’s normal. And, of course, I’m on the computer a lot of hours in a day. Good luck with your next check-up. Wish we had Scotland’s eyecare plan in the US.

      Like

  13. I too wear contact lens, and I too still lose one from time to time, especially when I’m in a rush with putting them in.
    I always make sure I have extras on hand, you just never know when they will be needed.
    I tend to misplace things myself and with the misplacement which had become an everyday thing, I now have certain spots for certain things; whether my glasses, my keys, or my work badge, they all have their special spots now.
    A great blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  14. I do that now too, Darrah. A place for everything. I picked a certain spot and I (try) to put everything there so it’s easily found. Doesn’t always work, but sometimes it does. I had a funny thing happen just awhile ago. I was on my way to get on the computer when I realized I didn’t have my glasses on. I turned to look for my glasses before I realized I have my contacts in!

    Like

  15. S J Brown says:

    Hope the new contacts are still working out well. I have never considered them. I am not much of a morning person and I don’t think I could stick something in my eye every morning. When I went for my last eye exam I asked about laser surgery, once it was explained to me I opted for a new pair of driving glasses.

    Like

    • I’m still on the fence. Sometimes my vision is blurry and I have to blink several times to get the contacts in place. I’ve got 30 days to make up my mind, but I may just go back to plain old glasses – easier and stylish!

      Like

Leave a Reply

