Old Stuff Day and a Cliche by Cher’ley

This post by Cher’ley Grogg

When asking someone “What’s new?” or “What’s happening?”, how often do you hear “Nothing really, same old stuff”.

According to Holiday Insights, today, is Old Stuff Day, in recognition of this all too common response. It is suggestive of a boring time period, or a boring life style. ….how sad.

Old Stuff Day is not a day to do the same old stuff. Rather, it’s a time to recognize the boring nature of your daily routine, and make some exciting changes. Find new and different activities, projects, and hobbies. Attend an event. Do something, anything, different. You will be glad that you did!

I didn’t know there was a Flower of the Day or a Recipe of the day, but here they are.

Flower of the Day: Lilacs

Recipe of the Day: Pumpkin Cheesecake

More Information if March is making you feel Springy, here are some projects:

Raised Garden Bed Frames – For serious gardeners.

GardenHobbies.com – where you can learn all about your favorite plant

Birthstones for the month of March are Aquamarine,

and Bloodstone. And people born in March are known for their Courage.

Image result for deer

 

Pest Netting – protect your trees from deer

 

 

 

I personally love Old Stuff, since I never seem to have a nothing day, where the same Old Stuff happens, I have to think about getting rid of more of my Old Stuff.

I guess we can apply this to our writing, especially in the form of Clichés, but don’t you just love an old cliché once in a while?

Who knows what each of these mean?

  1. “More troubles than Carter has pills.”
  2. “I’m tired of being a broken record.”
  3. “The cat’s pajamas.”
  4. “All is fair in love and war.”
  5. “What goes around, comes around.” (My favorite from my Mom)

***What’s your thoughts on special days or clichés?***
Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors.

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

All About the Girls 5(3)

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE
This entry was posted in advice, aging, Cliches, March, Old Stuff, unique and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Old Stuff Day and a Cliche by Cher’ley

  1. What a fun day. I wonder how many people celebrate it? Great idea to try something different at least once a year. You might find a new hobby, job, or even get rid of some of your old stuff. Great post Cherley!

    Like

  2. Mike Staton says:

    In the Civil War novel, I use clichés in dialogue, ’cause that’s the way folks generally talked. But in actual narration, I avoid it like the plague (whoops, I think I just used a cliché). As to avoiding a life of clichés, I probably haven’t done a very good job. I’ve known folks who never want to venture outside their comfortable zone. Me… I’ve always liked to explore, both in the physical world and in books.

    Like

  3. Cher’ley,
    In my book, Detective Rules, I list several rules my detective follows. Here’s one that applies to your post –
    Detective Rule #40: The case comes first. Push personal feelings aside and keep your head in the game, nose to the grindstone, eyes on the prize—plus every other cliché about persistence—to stop thinking about your own problems.

    I hope we all find something different to do today.
    – Stephen

    Like

  4. Doris says:

    How fun. I love the ‘special’ days that people recognize as important to them. Old stuff, well, as a historian, I love old stuff. But in the house…that’s another story. Of course the saying about March “In like a lion, out like a lamb” has always been a favorite. Doris

    Like

  5. wyoauthor1 says:

    My family used cliches and had many various sayings, especially ‘what goes around comes around,’ and ‘a penny saved is a penny earned.’ My old stuff day has been pretty much “same old stuff,” with work and planning for a school visit, but I did spend 2.5 hours interviewing a Vietnam veteran this morning; that took much longer than usual so that was certainly different! 🙂

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Doris, I like special days too. I especially like National Donut Day. Lol I’ve used ‘ln like a lion out like a lamb’ a few times this week and vice versa, because one day it’s sunny and close to 70, and the next is 20 and snowing. Cher’ley

      Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Gayle, I can’t see where your days coukd possibky be same ole, same ole. When we did something that excited us, my mom would laugh and say, “Well draw a ring around tthe house.” I hadn’t thought of that one for a while. Cher’ley

      Like

  6. D says:

    When is old geezer day. That’s the day alot of my friends could celebrate.

    Like

  7. My days are definitely not boring, but sometimes, when asked what I’m up to, I usually say the same old thing because I don’t want to go into detail about everything I’m doing. This was an interesting post.

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    Cher’ley – I don’t know what question 1 about Carter and the pills means but the rest are familiar. I’m forever using old sayings and phrases- they just pop into my head more readily than regular sentences and I don’t really know why, except that it’s probably because they were drummed into me when I was young. I’m a March born baby and know about the bloodstone and aquamarines and as to the ‘old stuff’ i just can’t bear to part with a huge amount of my precious old stuff. 😉

    Like

  9. In Fremont County we definitely celebrate International Women’s Day here! There are so many special days yearly, it would be interesting to know some people that celebrate all these different Holidays.

    Like

  10. I like that the recipe of the day is pumpkin cheesecake which is one of my favorite desserts although I think of it as a holiday dessert (Oct – Dec). But I’d gladly eat it in March!

    Like

  11. S J Brown says:

    It’s never the same old stuff around here, every day is a new adventure. I did recognize a few of the old Clichés, number 5 is my favorite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

