The Best Days, Months, Years and Events by Cher’ley

This post by Cher’ley Grogg

Off the top of your head, do you know which days these events fall on?

  1. Ides of March
  2. St David’s Day
  3. St Patrick’s Day
  4. Inauguration Day

I just recently found out that I am 49% Scott-Irish so some of the March holidays have taken on more meaning to me. I can actually wear a T-shirt that says: Kiss Me I’m Irish.

Following is a list of National Day Of:

Find the rest at Bizarre and Unique Holidays of March

Since this is March, you will have plenty of time to work on your joke for International Joke Day, July 1st.

A song of weather

Answers to the Date of

  1. Ides of March – 15th March
  2. St David’s Day – 1st March
  3. St Patrick’s Day – 17th March
  4. Inauguration Day – 4th March
I think it’s fun to add special days or events to my books. In Stamp out Murder, I used the events of October to emphasize the uniqueness of Wanton, WV. Who doesn’t want to go on a ghost walk in October? James that’s who. He doesn’t like crowds, and his mind is too logical to accept the gimmicks that go along with the Ghosts in the Ghost Walk. Find out more in Stamp Out Murder. Some exciting and suspenseful events happened during the walk.
Stamp Out Murder”.

***What’s your favorite month of the year and why? What day is most eventful?*** 

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors.

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

All About the Girls 5(3)

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

 

This entry was posted in Adventurous, Celtic, discoveries, DNA, Irish, Lucky, sayings, Seasons, unique and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Best Days, Months, Years and Events by Cher’ley

  1. Reblogged this on L.LEANDER BOOKS and commented:
    Author Cherley Grogg’s post on Writing Wranglers and Warriors today is a hoot! Thought I’d share some of the unusual days people celebrate. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting and unusual post, Cherley. I especially enjoyed National Popcorn Day as that is my favorite snack. When we were kids we had it every night and when we went to the drive-in we always took a big paper bag of popcorn and a gallon thermos of kool-aid. Also loved “The Song of the Weather” – hilarious! Thanks for sharing these unusual days and months with us. Such fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wranglers says:

      Linda, glad you enjoyed them. I had fun researching this blog. Today has several things going on. My oldest brother would have me clean his car on Saturday morning. I could have the popcorn and pizza that was left. I remember hiw happy I was to do it. Cher’ley

      Like

  3. When I did activities at the nursing home, I often found such dates interesting conversation starters. Now, maybe these will inspire some blog posts.

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    I know the answers to 1,2 and 3 but not Inauguration Day. I find it amazing that so many of these ‘days’ are for weird themes! Dentist Day? I can’t quite envisage queues stretching for miles outside of dentists surgeries just because people have been reminded they are there. Your funny list reminds me of what it was like in Ancient Rome because they had lots of celebratory days as well during each ‘month’.

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    Love it. Thanks for the added reasons to celebrate. Doris

    Like

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    Amusing and entertaining blog! And just today a co-worker said it had been peanut butter lovers day. I didn’t even know anything like that existed.

    Like

  7. D says:

    I always celebrate panic day.

    Like

  8. I love reading about various special days. My husband is also Scots-Irish, and we often go to special celebrations in March, in particular St. Patrick’s Day parties at friends’ homes and Celtic musical events honoring both the Scots and the Irish. One set of friends used to have people over to celebrate St. David’s Day, but they haven’t done that in about three years. It’s always fun to share special times like St. Patrick’s Day with friends, and in Casper, there is a growing interest in music and other things Celtic — and Greg and I are happy to help celebrate! Fun post, Cher’ley!

    Like

  9. I knew Ides of March and St. Paddy’s Day but not the other two. If Pets Had Thumbs Day has got to be the strangest National Day I’ve ever heard of. It made me laugh. Thanks for the humorous post, Cher’ley.

    Like

  10. Mike Staton says:

    Nowadays, there seems to be a special day everyday, something for people to celebrate. I see on Facebook that it was women’s day or something a couple of days ago. In writing an early chapter of the Civil War novel, I had a church picnic take place around the end of summer first day of the fall. Not really a special day like we have nowadays, but I needed something for my boy and girl to meet and set the stage for their first boyfriend/girlfriend.

    Like

  11. S J Brown says:

    I found a national calendar that lists each day of the year and it’s designation. Several days have more than one. You got me thinking and I checked my birthday is designated as National Disc Jockey Day, National Buttercrunch day and National Cheese Lovers Day. Since I am a bit behind on reading blogs I am responding on National Johnny Appleseed Day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

