Let’s Talk Passion

Post copyright Doris McCraw/Angela Raines-author

edit hhj spc

According to Merriam-Webster a simple definition of passion isa strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something. 

Can you imagine living with enthusiasm and excitement for everything you do? It would be fun doing the dishes, cleaning house, visiting a sick friend, gardening or just plain being. Perhaps over time, we’ve become frightened of passion, of giving something our all. Maybe we’ve been burned too many times.

The key is, it is our passion and what other people say or do has nothing to do with how we feel inside. If we are frowned upon when we laugh out loud, who ultimately loses if we bow to peer pressure? I’m not advocating doing things that harm others. I’m talking about the reason we get up in the morning, the things that make us happy. Telling the story of the women doctors is a passion. I love speaking and writing about them, and the research is a passionate challenge to me. March 19, I’ll be in Victor, Colorado sharing my passion with others about these women.

I don’t have children, I don’t like snakes, but that does not mean I should keep someone else from being passionate about them. Maybe they don’t like cats. That’s okay. Some people love to sing, others to write music or jokes or books. If we don’t enjoy what we are doing, if we can’t find the passion and excitement, why do we continue? Life is precious, don’t waste it. I’d like to share some of my favorite quotes about passion:

There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living. Nelson Mandela
Passion is one great force that unleashes creativity, because if you’re passionate about something, then you’re more willing to take risks. Yo-Yo Ma

Great dancers are not great because of their technique, they are great because of their passion. Martha Graham

and perhaps one of my new favorite:

There isn’t any great mystery about me. What I do is glamorous and has an awful lot of white-hot attention placed on it. But the actual work requires the same discipline and passion as any job you love doing, be it as a very good pipe fitter or a highly creative artist. Tom Hanks

What we are passionate about, I think, helps define who we want to be and our ability to try and get there. So here’s to a life lived with passions, following dreams and sailing our own ships.  I will leave you with a link to a song I’m passionate about. Listen to the words, be inspired and follow that passion. https://youtu.be/jSFLZ-MzIhM

Angela Raines is the pen name for Doris McCraw. Originally from the mid-west, Doris now calls the Rocky Mountains her home. Doris is a writer, historian, actor,and teacher. An avid reader Doris loves to spend time in history archives looking for the small, unknown pieces of history. Many times these pieces end up in her stories or poems.  Like her author page to stay on top of her work.  http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL also make sure to check out her haiku and photographs at http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com.

“One Christmas Knight” Medieval Anthology
http://amzn.com/B017Z2BLH6

“Angel of Salvation Valley”
http://amzn.to/1P4JVV8

“A COWBOY CELEBRATION”
http://amzn.to/1GzwJhw

HOME FOR HIS HEART
http://amzn.to/1GJhpSu

 

 

This entry was posted in Dreams, Happiness, passion, unique and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Let’s Talk Passion

  1. Awesome post, Doris! People can, and do, lose their passion and that ultimately impacts their purpose. I sometimes question my passion/purpose and then I find that “groove” again, or read a story about a pet in need that finds his/her “rainbow” in a new life, and I’m once again invigorated. May your passion continue to inspire both yourself and your audiences, and all the best for your upcoming event!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Gayle, you just made my day. Thank you. As you know, I get going and I lose track of time and want to share all that I find. Here’s to a life filled with “Passion” Doris

      Like

  2. Travis says:

    I like the idea that passion will overcome fear. I feel like I have a lot of it, but every now and then, in spite of myself, I’ll put something out into the world.

    Like

  3. It’s interesting how my passions change as I grow older. It used to be certain bands or music would be my thing and I’d be so excited to go see them in concert. Now as I’m older, I don’t enjoy crowds as much so my passion for concert-going has dwindled. My passion for books and reading has always been there. My passion for writing has definitely increased over the years the more I do it. It’s very important to recognize your passions and not to ignore or suppress them. Because a life without passion is very sad indeed! Thanks for the inspirational post, Doris.

    Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    I enjoy a lot of things, but my passion is my belief in Spiritual matters, I am a proud Christian. My second passion is my family. I post a lot of photos of my Great Grands, but I’m just as passionate about my Grands, and my kids, and their loves. And of course my wonderful husband. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Cher’ley, I believe the passions we have in life are what make it wonderful. You are so blessed with such great ones in your life. Here’s to our passions, they are gifts. Doris

      Like

  5. You always have such great ideas for your posts, Doris. I am passionate about a lot of things and have always said I could do a lot of things but wasn’t perfect at any. I’ve since changed that and say “I am passionate about a lot of things and I love doing them all!” Thanks for making my morning brighter.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      You are welcome Linda. Like you, I’ve a passion for many things, they just seem to take turns coming to the forefront. Here’s to a life live with passion. And thank you for the kind words, it made my day. Doris

      Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    I enjoyed this piece on passion or one’s loves. In my youth, I loved baseball card collecting. I still do it a bit. I love history and observing politics, probably because I was a reporter. I also loved playing Dungeon and Dragons in earlier days. Now it’s writing. In fact, it’s been writing since my teenage years.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Mike, Isn’t it funny how our love’s change over the years, but the big ones stay, although they seem to ebb and flow. I love the fact that writing has been a big one for you. We all benefit from that. Here’s to continued passion in our lives. Doris

      Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Great thoughts, Doris. For me my present passion encompasses a lot of things like my Celtic/ Roman Scotland research and doing presentations about it and my books. It’s about looking after my funny grand kids who are guaranteed to make me laugh a lot! My writing passion is slowly returning after taking a ‘family needs’ backseat during the last couple of years and I look forward to laughing a lot about that, too. Now doing the dishes isn’t going to make me passionate – but that’s okay! 😉

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Nancy, I’m so thrilled that writing can come to the forefront again. As for the research and sharing, it is the best, isn’t it? Here’s to grandkids, writing, research and the occassional doing the dishes. Doris

      Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    I think everyone should follow their passion. I know many people think what I do is crazy, but I love it. Being out in Nature, close to critters reenergizes me, calms me , makes me feel whole. I try to spend time with people who share my passion for nature we might be planting trees, talking veggie gardens, or butterflies. Yes I even from time to time take people into the field with me to help spark their passion a little.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      I truly do believe when we follow our ‘passions’ the world becomes a better place. S J, I love the results of your passions. You are right, life becomes even more wonderful when we follow that trail. Doris

      Liked by 1 person

  9. jadirogers says:

    I don’t always leave comments, but I love your posts, and you really outdid yourself on this one. Keep passioning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

