The Trouble with Sunday

CindyCarrollEAsk most people who work a 9 – 5 job what their favourite day of the week is and you’ll get a few different answers. Most people I know answer back emphatically with Saturday! And what’s not to like about Saturday? You don’t have to go into work, you have time to catch up on things around the house. Go out, have fun. Be a social person with the people you haven’t been able to see all week because you’ve been too busy with the day job and commuting.

But Saturday is not my favourite day of the week. Friday is. Why Friday? Because at the end of the work day the whole weekends stretches out ahead of me. I have Saturday and Sunday to look forward to. Sleeping in. Breakfast with my husband. Lots of cat cuddle time. I’m able to catch up on reading and writing. We watch our favourite shows that we’ve been letting accumulate on the DVR all week. We throw in some movies for good measure so I can keep up with my goal of watching 100 movies in a year.

Working from home on Fridays for the day job makes me love the day even more. I loved it when I had to drive into the office. It was still my favourite of the week. But now it’s even better.  No long commute. As soon as 4:30 hits my weekend starts.

Copyright baranq from DepositPhotos

Copyright baranq from DepositPhotos

Lately we tend not to stay up too late on Friday night or Saturday. Too many things to get done the next day and we don’t want to be tired. I’m sure my family and friends will be shocked to learn that I get up by 9:30 on the weekend. I have been known to sleep in until 11 or noon in the past. But that’s in the past. 🙂 I have too many books I want to write to linger in bed for too long now.

My least favourite day of the week, you might have guessed from the title of this post, is Sunday. What’s the problem with Sunday? It’s the day before Monday.  The day starts off with promise but when we cross over from morning to afternoon and then late afternoon the inevitable hits me. Soon it will be evening. Then night. We tend to stay up later on Sunday putting off that inevitable cross over into Monday. The sooner you go to sleep the sooner the new day comes so we wait as long as possible on Sunday before going to bed. Because of that Monday morning comes way too fast and I’m usually tired. I used to look forward to Sunday because The Amazing Race was on Sunday nights, then Monday night was Castle. But TAR moved to Friday nights so there’s nothing for me to look forward to on Sundays. And we never watch anything on the night it’s on now, preferring to DVR everything.

What’s your favourite day of the week?

Get free reads, new release pricing, members only contests, access to Campus (a behind the scenes website for my Standpoint Trilogy and still under construction) – sign up for my mailing list: http://bitly.com/CPCMailList

Check out my website: http://www.cindycarroll.com
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CindyPCarroll
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyCarroll

ReflectionsFinal2A road trip without a plan sounded like a good idea when Lena and her friends hit the road. After hours of driving in the heat in a cramped car they’re all ready for something to eat and a good night’s rest.

Reflections Inn looks perfect for the group of friends. A little run down, it hides a supernatural horror. A curse that replaces people with their repressed alter egos forces the friends to fight for their lives. Duplicates who lack restraint, crave gratification emerge from the mirrors. Too late they realize they didn’t know each other as well as they thought.

One by one, Lena’s friends learn the truth about their repressed emotions, their suppressed violent urges.

What doesn’t kill them can only make them stronger.

Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1avH00L
Buy on Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/19Ti2ux
Buy on Kobo: http://bit.ly/13CBz9M
Buy on Amazon Canada: http://amzn.to/15oFc4a

About Cindy Carroll

Cindy Carroll is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. When she’s not writing you can usually find her on Twitter.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Trouble with Sunday

  1. Doris says:

    Cindy, I feel your pain about Sundays. The main reason I enjoy Sunday, I get to spend the whole afternoon researching my women doctors. Still, by 6pm I’m starting to get bummed. Guess you could say I’m a bit conflicted about that day. Loved the post. Doris

    Like

  2. Travis says:

    Not sure what days are my favorite. Definitely not Monday, unless it is a holiday. It would probably be the weekends. I don’t think much about the next day until it is late and then I regret time wasted.

    Like

  3. I don’t think I have a favorite day. Since I don’t work a 9-5 job and I often work weekends, then every day seems to blend into one another for me. Sometimes I don’t even know what day it is. I often prefer random days of the week like Tuesdays or Wednesdays because then I can go out and do stuff without a lot of people out and about. I don’t particularly mind Fridays unless I end up working really late or I have to drive somewhere on the freeway at night (traffic is a nightmare on Fridays). I guess it depends what I need to do and that determines whether or not I like the day.

    Like

  4. I like Sundays — if I haven’t gone to church on Saturday night, then I go on Sunday morning. Sundays are more relaxing to me than other days — often, when winter isn’t upon us, we are at the cabin, if not for the entire weekend, then on Sundays. I sometimes have lunch or dinner with friends on Sundays, especially in the winter. I’m usually off work on Mondays from the day job, so I can enjoy both Sunday and Monday. My least favorite day is Tuesday — that’s when I go back to the day job and have three days to go before back home again to write, speak, relax, whatever. I look forward to the day when I have more “work at home time!”

    Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    This is a fun post. All days are mostly the same, but Sundays are my favorite. It’s my day of worship. When I’m in WV, Wednesday is also a good day. Women’s Christian meetings and later in the evening Bible Study. Also on Sunday afternoons we often gather as a family to fellowship, eat, and play Cornhole. Cher’ley

    Like

  6. Loved the post Cindy. Right now my favorite day of the week is Friday, but since I’m retired I can change it any time I want. Friday is a good transitional day for me because most of my week is done and I can rest a little on Friday before the weekend. I still turn the tv on on Sunday nights expecting to see TAR but even though I’ve almost missed it a couple of times on Friday, my hubby reminds me so all is well. Haven’t missed an episode since it started!

    Like

  7. Mike Staton says:

    Back before I took early retirement, at the end of my working career, when I was a weekly newspaper reporter, it was hard to have any favorite days of the week. I was working everyday for at least a couple of hours. Weekdays, I covered meetings, etc. On weekends, especially Saturdays, I often had to cover a festival. Then weekends also found me writing stories so I’d have less to do on Monday deadline. Back earlier in my life, yes — Saturday was my favorite, when Saturday actually meant time off. On Friday nights and Saturday nights, some of us from the daily newspaper where I worked would do marathon sessions of Dungeons & Dragons. Those are bittersweet days for me… the fellow who organized them and played the dungeonmaster has since passed away.

    Like

  8. Neva Bodin says:

    Lately Fridays were my favorite day as we didn’t have the CNA training program I’m teaching meet on Friday. But since we graduated the students yesterday, everyday is going to be my favorite for a while!

    Like

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    No day and every day! My days vary a lot (grandkid minding is definite all day Wed and Thurs but ad hoc during the rest of the week) so there’s no routine to feel one day is more repetitive than another, or that one is more ecstatic than the previous! Some days are so busy with non writing jobs that I get badly behind with commenting on blogs like this one, but I do put tin the effort to catch up and pop something into the comment boxes.

    Like

  10. S J Brown says:

    Sunday’s not such a bad day. For me Sunday is PJ day. I rarely get out of my PJ’s before noon. I post a Sunday Share share photo each week on Facebook and a few other sites. Hubby generally works on Sundays so I have the day to myself. Most of my housework and chores get done on Saturday so Sunday is a relaxing day for me.

    When I am on the road I generally don’t need to be back home until Monday night so Sunday is a great day to get out early and find critters. I don’t really have a favorite day of the week, but Sunday is in the top 7.

    Like

Leave a Reply

