Boers Are Not Bores

105182105411111CDPby Neva Bodin

The word Boer was not in my reservoir of knowledge up until about five years ago. That’s when my grandkids started raising their own kids—Boer kids.

They are a meat goat. But I have a hard time looking at them that way after coming face to face with the little creatures and I “meet” goat. Twins, triplets and quadruplets have been born during the past two years.

While Wikipedia suggests domesticated goats originated in southwest Asia and Eastern Europe, an article on Boer goats says they originated in southern Africa. There are possibly over 300 breeds of goats and they are reportedly one of the oldest domesticated animals, with domestication dating back to 10,000 years ago.

Boers can be almost any color, a common pattern being brown heads and white bodies. This year their daddy had a black head so the triplets favored their daddy.

That being said, I want to merely introduce you to some of the goats I have met during the past five years. Hence, a pictorial tour.

IMG_3502

Newborn triplets are warm under a heat light.

DSCN2833

This year’s triplets have a bond with their Grandma Frost. They like to crawl into her feed barrel when she eats and see what’s going on. They crawl on her when she’s laying down and spend time near her. Does she smell like their mama?

Each year, these goats are groomed, exercised, and trained to stand just so, have their hooves trimmed, hair brushed, shampooed, wear “silkies” and let a judge poke them and watch them parade around the judging arena at the fair. And each year, they have won ribbons, belt buckles and camping chairs as well as cash for the grandkids. And they teach love, loss and responsibility. I wish you could all meet them too!DSCN2369

DSCN2844

This twin has a proud and loving mama.

DSCN1937

Sometimes you need a boost to see better.

 

DSCN1062

My granddaughter is well loved by the goats.

 

 

 

DSCN2831

Last year’s pamper babies want to know why everybody is now with the new babies!

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Boers Are Not Bores

  1. What a delightful post, Neva! The goats are just so cute it’s beyond incredible. I love the picture with the babies in grandma’s food bin. It’s such a great thing that your grandkids take the responsibility to raise them from birth and have won ribbons and money at the fair. I used to be 4-H County Agent Assistant and I know what important things they learn. When I first met Ralph he took me to a goat farm (milking goats) and it’s one of the most amazing and fun things I’ve ever done. They wanted to crawl all over me and lick me, all pushing the others away for attention. They are so adorable! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Nancy Jardine says:

    Spirited little creatures and very cute! I think that goats probably have minds of their own and your grandkids are doing a great job in keeping them ‘show ready’. I’ve heard of the word ‘Boer’ but in the connection that it’s the South African Afrikaans word for farmer- mostly those of Dutch/German etc descent. Maybe when the original ones went to South Africa it was goats that they tended to farm?

    Like

  3. Mike Staton says:

    Fun read. Have to admit… I know little about goats. Back in the ’70s when a reporter in Central Florida, I’d help cover a county fair and did a few stories on 4-H kids shows their animals.

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      I didn’t know much about goats either except stories of my folks having some before I was born and they jumped on top the car and then to the roof of our little house. The county fair is like a beauty pageant for the goats. They are shampooed, trimmed, brushed and trained to stand just so. They often protest, and my granddaughter’s goat one year just sat down while waiting to be judged, she was tired of all the pomp and circumstance I guess.

      Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    I love goats, especially pigmy goats. We owned triplets once, but the little things died off one at a time. The vet said they probably didn’t get their first feeding from their mother, so they didn’t get their antibodies. They were so loving. They ran to meet us every evening when we came home. When I was a baby, I had to have goats milk to drink. I also had twin kids when my daughter was a baby, but three on a bottle was just too much so I gave them away. I love goats, did I say that again? Thanks for the photos so cute and tell you grandkids congrats. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      Thanks Cher’ley. Sad about the triplets! Last year the grandkids goat had quads and one was born tiny with a heart condition. She was adorable but only lived a few weeks also. It was very sad. They bottle fed three last year due to triplets and quad births.

      Like

  5. Goats are cute, especially when they’re not eating three shirts off the clothesline like in the song “Bill Grogan’s Goat.”

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    Adorable photos, and yes, caring for animals is a huge lesson. Thank you for sharing. Brings back memories of my younger self. Doris

    Like

  7. S J Brown says:

    I loved the photos they are so cute. When we lived in the city we had an African pygmy goat we named spot (Goats are a no no in the city.) The dogs loved him until he started getting horns. He eventually found a good home in the country when our roomie realized they can be a bit of work.

    Like

  8. wyoauthor1 says:

    The photos are GREAT, Neva — the little goats are SO cute!! I adore kids, especially the four-footed kind, but your grandkids with their goats are incredibly adorable, too! 🙂 Although I can’t fathom eating goats (or sheep either), I do enjoy goat’s milk soap and lotion and I’m hoping to tour a goat farm near Kaycee in May when I return to my friends’ ranch for a spring getaway. Wishing your grandchildren well in this year’s fair competitions!!

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      I love the goats milk soap also. My daughter buys it for me up by Worland. Thanks for the well wishes, they will be showing four goats again between them. They are so soft and sweet at this age, my face smelled goat that day from cuddling them in my arms.

      Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      I wrote and posted a reply that has disappeared!! The goats are so sweet, my face smelled like goat after cuddling them in my arms and feeling their soft and silky coat. Thanks for the well wishes, the grandkids will show four goats this year I think. I love the goatsmilk soap also, my daughter buys it for me up at Worland.

      Like

  9. The goats are adorable. I especially love the photo with the baby one standing up on Mama Goat. So cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

