Florida Loons by Abbie Johnson Taylor

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

In my last third Thursday poets group meeting, we were prompted to write some loons. A loon is similar to haiku, written in one of two ways: syllables with the first line having five, the second three, and the third five, or words with the first line having three, the second five, and the third three. I chose to write three loons about my recent visit to Florida, using the word three five three method. Below each loon is a description of the event that inspired it.

 

***

 

downtown jupiter pub

with one or two drinks

stranger in photo

 

My brother Andy, his wife Christina, and I went to a festival where food trucks lined the streets for blocks, selling all kinds of goodies from tacos to ice cream. After we ate our fill, we wandered into a bar. When Christina took a picture of Andy and me with her phone, upon studying the photo, she discovered that a stranger standing behind me was also captured. Nevertheless, she posted that picture on Facebook moments later.

 

***

paddling our canoe

down the lazy loxahatchee river

shy alligator appears.

 

We were in a narrow part of the river, hoping to spot some wildlife. We found more than we bargained for when Christina spotted an alligator about six inches away from the boat. She snapped a picture, and then she and Andy back paddled as fast as they could to get to safety. Christina said the alligator seemed shy so we probably weren’t in any danger. I hope that’s the closest I ever come to being consumed by one of those creatures.

 

***

 

tug of war

with a loving energetic doxhund

in glowing firelight

 

One warm evening, Andy lit a fire in the pit on the patio, and we sat around, drinking, chatting, and listening to music. Max brought me a dirty sock to throw for him. When I reached for it, he tried to pull it away from me. I tugged back and so it continued.

***

walk on sand

feel cool, refreshing ocean waves

sit on tree

 

While walking on the beach, we found a tree stump that appeared to have been washed ashore. Andy thought it may have come from The Bahamas. The first time we saw it, the stump was almost totally submerged, but when we returned a few days later, it had been washed farther onto the bank so we could sit on it and stick our feet in the ocean. That felt heavenly.

***

It’s your turn to write a loon or two or three, using either method above. Please feel free to share your results below.

***

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

Vote for my new book idea.

This entry was posted in Creativity, family, Fun, Memories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Florida Loons by Abbie Johnson Taylor

  1. Wranglers says:

    I was sick
    From my head to toe
    Much better now

    This had been my all consuming thoughts for the last couple of weeks. I could barely do anything. Interesting. I love trying different kinds of poetry. Sounds like Florida was so much fun for you. Maybe we’ll meet on one of your trips to Florida Thanks Cher’ley

    Like

  2. Very interesting post Abby. I lived in Florida for 10 years or so and I was going to agree that one of the most heavenly and eerie sounds is the call of a loon on the Withlacoochee River on a moonlit night. The loons of which you speak are new to me, but I’d like to try one someday. Yours are lovely. Thank you for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Doris says:

    Nicely done, Abbie. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    I don’t think I’ve heard of a loon, Abbie. I like the way you’ve added to them afterwards.
    No writing now
    Grand kids tire me out
    Tomorrow? May be.
    😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    I have never heard of a loon in that manner either! Interesting post and cleverly done, Abbie.
    Much to do
    Take too many rest periods
    Age calls shots

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When I saw the title, Abbie, I was thinking of the bird, so I learned something new about writing. I’m no poet, but I may give it a try and either share on this site or with my writers group … or both! I could try to pen something about my visit to my friends’ ranch near Kaycee. Thanks for the inspirational post and for sharing about your trip — I think I’d enjoy the canoe adventure (minus the alligator!) or the stroll on the beach, or the firepit and the pup — actually, they all sound fun! Glad you had a very enjoyable time!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you, Gayle, I must confess that soon after this post went live, I discovered that I’d misspelled the word “loon.” It’s actually spelled “lune.” I’m too lazy to go back in and change it, and besides, I like the idea of giving readers the impression the post is about the bird. Oh well…

    Like

  8. Travis says:

    That’s a fun way to capture moments, Abbey. Sounds like you have a wonderful time.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Enjoyed your poetry, Abbie. That’s funny it’s “lune” and not “loon.” I thought it was kind of fun that the word “loon” had a double meaning so I’ll keep thinking of it as “loon” anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mike Staton says:

    A loon, a lune, let’s hum a merry tune while we’ll stuck in a dune in the summer month of June. Enjoyed the poetry, Abbie. Like how you did the poems, and then explained the particular happenings that inspired them.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. S J Brown says:

    Sorry Abby I don’t have any loons to share. They are on my wish list. Somehow these wonderful birds have managed to evade me for all these years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

