A Pirate Poem by Abbie Johnson Taylor

Abbie J. Taylor 010Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

How I Could Be a Pirate Despite Limited Vision

 

Prone to motion sickness on the high seas,

during battle, I can vomit

in the general direction of the opposing ship.

 

Able to see numbers on corners of bills,

when treasure falls into our hands,

I can count how much there is,

keep records in Braille,

 

entertain others with guitar and voice,

play a last request for those walking the plank.

If our ship goes down like the Titanic,

I’ll sing “Nearer My God to Thee.”

***

The above poem was inspired by this prompt. Click this link to hear me read the poem.

Now it’s your turn. Write a poem or essay, telling a pirate ship captain how you could be an asset to his crew. When I first read the prompt, I considered writing my poem in the form of a resume but realized that pirate captains don’t follow normal hiring procedures. They don’t reject prospective employees in the usual way, either. If I applied for a job with a gang of pirates, using the above poem as a resume, I would be the one walking the plank.

***

Front Book Cover - We Shall OvercomeWe Shall Overcome

Cover: How to Build a Better Mousetrap by Abbie Johnson TaylorHow to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

Order from Amazon

Order That’s Life from Finishing Line Press.

This entry was posted in Creativity, Fun, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Pirate Poem by Abbie Johnson Taylor

  1. Love it Abbie! How interesting and quirky – I’ll bet you’d make a good pirate! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doris says:

    I’m still smiling. Thank you for sharing! Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nancy Jardine says:

    My grandson’s very into pirates at newly 2 years old. He’d love this, Abbie, since it’s very tactile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Travis says:

    Fun Abbie.

    How about this for a poem/job application

    When I see this job openin’ on the sea
    I knew right a way that it be the one for me
    For I can sing many an ol’ pirate tune
    or if ye be hungry, I can cook a loon
    I can parry with a sword in a fight
    and steer ye ship to the left or the right
    Gimme a chance, a great mate I’ll be
    I’ll sink the queen’s navy an’ make history

    Travis

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Can you set this to music and sing it one day, Abbie?! Love the poem — thanks for helping me smile a bit more today! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joe Stephens says:

    You are such a fun person! I think you’d make a great pirate. I hope you get the job.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kathy Waller says:

    Such fun! According to the criterion in the first stanza, I could be a pirate right along with you. I wouldn’t be in any condition to sing, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. katewyland says:

    How fun. How could any pirate captain resist that job application?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Very clever, Abbie. I went to a pirate festival in Long Beach a couple years ago where they reenacted battles, both on the beach and out at sea with cannons and everything. Everyone dressed up in full pirate gear and there were a lot of parrots. I bet they’d hire you on the spot.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I doubt it,Sarah. If they’re anything like the pirates in Peter Pan and other stories, I’d be walking the plank. Thanks, anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mike Staton says:

    Ah, Abbie the Pirate. Back in the 17th and 18th centuries, pirates were sometimes under the authority of a government out to mess up another country’s merchant ships, sometimes in time of war, sometimes not. Kind of like guerilla warfare on the high seas.

    Like

  12. S J Brown says:

    I would be walking the plank as well. I don’t think pirates would enjoy having me as part of their crew. I would want to divert them from their planned destination to get closer to dolphins. While they were looking for a place to bury their treasure I would be looking for critters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

