Inspirations

Post copyright Doris McCraw/Angela Raines-author

edit hhj spc

 

This short post is about what has inspired or stayed with me through the years.

Books:

Death Be Not Proud by John Gunther

Siddhartha by Herman Hesse

Flint by Louis L’Amour

Movies:

Hush, Hush Sweet Charlotte- and the theme song still haunts me https://youtu.be/OyYMXjmzjwQ

Star Wars – best theraphy for dealing with life

Dr. Syn, Scarecrow- Patrick McGoohan’s performance, stunning

Quotes:

Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
Mark Twain

Don’t go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.
Mark Twain

SIX PETALS

When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive – to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love. Marcus Aurelius

Because a thing seems difficult for you, do not think it impossible for anyone to accomplish. Marcus Aurelius

Music

Danse Macbre by Saint-Saens https://youtu.be/YyknBTm_YyM

The Impossible Dream– From Man of LaMancha https://youtu.be/RfHnzYEHAow

Is That All There Is  https://youtu.be/3sWTnsemkIs

Old Man River  https://youtu.be/KWdZ3ZrwW9c

As I traveled these years my inspirations have changed. But these are some that have stayed with me. But perhaps the one thing that has stayed with me and still means as much to me as it did when I was about twelve.

There are four kinds of people in the world. Those who like you for the right reasons, those who like you for the wrong reasons, those who hate you for the wrong reasons and those who hate you for the right reasons. The only ones you need concern yourself with are those who hate you for the right reasons.

So there you have it, the thoughts and ideas that have impacted me in my life. I will leave you with my latest inspiration: https://youtu.be/J8vxiVIH7VY

What were your inspirations?

Until next time, here’s to a life worth living, inspirations to keep you going and creativity in abundance.

Angela Raines is the pen name for Doris McCraw. Doris also writes haiku posted five days a week at – http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com and has now passed one thousand haiku and photos posted on this blog. Check out her other work or like her Amazon author page:  http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL


http://amzn.to/1P4JVV8

One Christmas Knight

“A COWBOY CELEBRATION”
http://amzn.to/1GzwJhw

HOME FOR HIS HEART
http://amzn.to/1GJhpSu

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in books, inspiration, inspirations, unique and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Inspirations

  1. Lovely post, Doris. Because of your post I’m going to sit down and think about what has inspired me most through the years. Once I figure it out I’ll post it here. Thank you for sharing the links. I am listening to Danse Macbre as I write this. Brilliant!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Danse is, isn’t it, Linda. I played it for piano recital one year, and it has stuck with me. I look forward to what has inspired you. I know I will find more that can inspire. Doris

      Like

  2. Joe Stephens says:

    As far as songs go, it would probably be “Simple Gifts” and “Fanfare For The Common Man.” For books, in terms of inspiring my writing, it would be all of Robert B. Parker’s Spenser novels. The quotation would be from LES MISERABLES: “To love another person is to see the face of God.”

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Joe, Great inspirations. I also am a huge fan of Parker’s Spenser novels. He rates up there with Hammett and Chandler along with so many other greats. Doris

      Like

  3. Nancy Jardine says:

    ‘I wanna try everything …’ too. Well, nearly everything. Great post, Doris. Look forward and not back and i believe my inspirations have also changed over the years. I’d have to think hard about which music would be most stirring as I can think of a few, like Vivaldi, but cannot choose.

    Like

  4. Doris says:

    Nancy, I love Vivaldi. The words to ‘Try Everything’ just jump out and say live life and give it a try. So glad you like it also.
    Like you, inspirations change, but some things just stay with you. Thanks for the kind words. Have a great week. Doris

    Like

  5. Great post, Doris. I’ve never stopped and thought about what my inspirations were. One I know is the TV show Perry Mason. It made me want to go to law school until I figured out that I wasn’t really going to have those big dramatic scenes in the courtroom making the witness confess. Instead I can write them – which helped inspire me to be a writer.
    – Stephen

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Stephen, “Perry Mason” was a favorite in our household growing up. Like you, I’d wanted to be an attorney. Instead I ended up working juvenile detention for twenty years. I guess you could say, we can write crime.

      Thanks for stopping by and continued success on your writing. Doris

      Like

  6. Wranglers says:

    You know I love Home Free. Thanks fir the videos and thoughts. I think our influences change as our lives expand. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Doris says:

      I also love Home Free, and this song just resonated. I also agree with you Cher’ley, that influences vary as we grow and have different needs in our lives. Thanks Doris

      Like

  7. Growing up in Iowa and being on our small farm was my most major influence. “Little House…” books inspired me as did Laura Ingalls Wilder. My most favorite quote is from the Parable of the Good Samaritan: “Do unto others as you’d have them do unto you.” Wonderful post, Doris! Thanks for all the videos, including Home Free!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Gayle, I am enjoying the feedback about what inspired and continues to inspire people.
      Growing up in the mid-west did have it’s perks. I’m also a fan of your quote. And of course, Home Free always makes me feel good, but this one…it’s special. Doris

      Like

  8. I have lots of books that inspire me but if we go back to our childhood, I’d have to say Frances Hodgsen Burnett’s A Little Princess and The Secret Garden. And yes, like Joe, the Spenser novels inspired me to write crime fiction. Music I’d say Sound of Music. I played it on the piano and my mom would sing along. I love the quote you mentioned. I can’t think of any inspirational quotes at the moment.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      I also enjoyed “The Secret Garden”, Sarah. I can just hear “The Sound of Music” and your mother singing. I used to play and sing, and occasionally my father would join in.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the quote. I first heard it on a television show and it has stayed with me all these years. Who knew?
      Doris

      Like

  9. S J Brown says:

    Interesting post. It’s funny how some things from our childhood stay with us. Music take us back to another time and place. A sudden scare can adversely impact us for years. To this day I can’t take a shower without locking the door and double checking to see that it is locked. Even then I rush through showers and prefer taking a bath.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      They do, don’t they SJ? Sometimes a little thing, you don’t even realize, takes you baack to something that impacted you. I’ve made it a practice to investigate why I go back to those memories, and like you, it is usually something that created a major emotional response. You keep locking the door, I would also if I’d seen that at a young age. Doris

      Like

  10. Mike Staton says:

    I kind of did some lists like this for my main character in my Civil War novel. What would he love? What songs? What books? I have that kind of information sprinkled throughout the novel. What’s funny is that some of my reviewers would tell me it’s extraneous information that I should delete. I don’t agree. It grounds people in the time period. The reviewers are fantasy and SF writers. I don’t think many have tried a historical novel. As I’ve bitten into the Civil War novel, I’ve come to realize it’s a far different ball of wax than my fantasy novels.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Emotional responses to events, people and written/spoken word are part and parcel of who we are as people. I use historical events and actions in much of my writing. While people are people, their responses are what make them unique. Keep following your path, you characters are what readers respond to, the they will relate to what they can empathize wtih. Doris

      Like

  11. Kathy Waller says:

    I’m so glad to know you remember the Scarecrow. I was about ten when I saw it, and I fell in love with Patrick McGoohan then and there. I’d love to see it again. I’ve been inspired by a lot of things over the years. The most basic, I guess, is from Micah 6:8: “… and what doth the LORD require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?”

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Kathy, it is so cool to know another McGoohan fan. Wasn’t Scarecrow so exciting, especially to a young person.
      I do admire and love your inspiration. May it continue to guide you. Doris

      Like

Leave a Reply

