How to Tell if Your Slip is Showing!

 

 

propic11_1_1This post by L.Leander, Author of Fearless Fiction

If you are a woman many of you have run into a problem with your slip showing below your hemline. Not only does it look unprofessional, when someone brings it to your attention

sundress-336590_640you are embarrassed. I’ve actually seen a woman standing near me whose half-slip fell right down to her feet. And then there’s the woman returning from the bathroom with her slip and skirt tucked into her pantyhose. Although it’s hard not to laugh you take pity on her and quickly tell her the problem (hey, it could have happened to you!).

Why am I writing a blog post about how to tell if your slip is showing? I am speaking of how it relates to writing. Your writing can slip if you are not careful. Slips of the tongue can make a sentence mean something entirely different than what you intended. Slips with characters names can throw your reader into confusion.

adult-18598_640Slips in the plot of the book can cause a reader to put the book down because he or she doesn’t like your writing style. If your location shifts and the reader has to make his way through the murky waters to find out what you mean, oops, another slip!

How to avoid your slip showing? Edit, edit, edit. Be sure you have read your book many times to catch problems. Have a group of proofreaders you trust give the book a read andtypewriter-801921_640 tell you of anything they catch and be open to changing it. It’ll only make the book better.

Since none of us want our slips to show, it’s only logical we pay very close attention to the plot, the protagonist, the location, and the overall feel of the book. Believe me, you’ll feel a lot better if your slip isn’t showing and you’ll gain readers because they like the professionalism and tune of the writing.

Make sure your slips fit!

 

My Books can be found on Amazon.com

Inzared, Queen of the Elephant Riders

Inzared, The Fortune Teller

13 Extreme Tips to Marketing an E-book

13 Extreme Tips to Publishing an E-book

Videos for both of the Inzared books can be found on You Tube

You can also find me here:

Amazon Author Page

Facebook

Google

YouTube

Pinterest

Goodreads

Twitter

Linkedin

 

 

This entry was posted in advice, audience, Authors, book cover, book launch preparation, books, Business of Writing, challenges, characters, drawing readership, fiction writing, improve your craft, Kindle, L.Leander, non-fiction stories, Novel Related, novels, Perceptions, promoting, researching books, Review, Slipping up, Time to Write, unique, writers, Writing, Writing Resources, writing techniques. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to How to Tell if Your Slip is Showing!

  1. Joe Stephens says:

    I would give anything to go back and start again when it comes to that. I was so excited to publish my first two books that I didn’t edit and proofread nearly enough. As a result, early editions of both books are simply atrocious. I’ve since cleaned them up, but I really feel like it hurt sales for my third book. With book 4, which comes out soon, I’m being so much more stringent. I’m on my fourth draft and plan at least one more before I go to press.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had the same problem, Joe. I recently found a mistake in my second book as I was looking for something that will carry through in the third book. Well, my computer crashed and I lost everything, including the finished copy of my book. The computer is fixed, but since I don’t have a copy to upload I can’t fix it! I’m being much more careful now. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Doris says:

    Perfect metaphor. As usual your advice is so on target and easy to understand. Thank you. Doris

    Like

  3. You’re welcome, Doris. I have to keep on my toes with my writing and sharing posts with others about my mistakes helps me watch more carefully. Thanks for the comment!

    Like

  4. Thank you for reminding us of the many ways we can embarrass ourselves in our writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mike Staton says:

    I always worry about continuity problems. As to a woman showing her slip… reminds me of a Youtube video I looked at a couple of months ago. I was wondering if a mid-19th century woman in a hoop skirt could sit in a chair. A woman re-enactor did a video to show the proper way of sitting in a chair. She did warn to sit down carefully as to not have the hoop flip upward and reveal far too much of the underthings. She should the wrong way… oh heavens, how shameful!

    Like

    • Must have been quite a sight! Sure glad I don’t have to sit in those darned hoops. When I was reenacting with my brother we actually were supposed to wear them at the dances, but it was optional, so we didn’t. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  6. katewyland says:

    Does anyone wear slips anymore? I wonder if the younger generation even knows what they are?
    Kidding aside, I agree totally with the need for editing. I can’t imagine putting out a book that hasn’t had a thorough vetting. Unfortunately, I see far too many. Keep those slips under control!

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      I still wear a slip if my dress is thin, so does my granddaughter, and granddaughter-in-love. Cher’ley

      Like

    • I wonder if slips are worn too, but I suppose there are some who do. I remember wearing a girdle (how uncomfortable) so a slip shouldn’t be a problem. Editing is something I am very good at – I sometimes think I read my work a thousand times before I release it and every once in awhile I still find a slip!

      Like

  7. Wranglers says:

    Linda, it’s snowing down south. Lol. This is a wonderful analogy of slips in writing. And it seems do matter what there are slips in my writing. I’ll try to watch for them. Cher’ley

    Like

    • I watch for them too, Cherley. And what in the world is it doing snowing down south? We’ve had almost constant rain here but I hear the forecast is for an uncomfortably hot summer. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    My memory isn’t great so I have to do all that checking and rechecking to try to avoid those slips that you mention! I have to confess that I stopped wearing slips many years ago but just occasionally there’s so much static with the materials of some dresses that I really need the protection of a slip… but how that equates to my writing , I haven;t a clue. 😉 Would it be avoid too much static?

    Like

  9. Great analogy, Nancy. I quit wearing slips a long time ago, too. Just one more thing to put on. The checking will never stop, so I just tell myself “get used to it!”. Thanks for the comment.

    Like

  10. AWESOME POST, Linda!! 🙂 Love the analogy, and great advice!! Thank you for a fun and inspiring post!!

    Like

  11. S J Brown says:

    Great post. Unfortunately with the ease of self publishing these days there are a lot of authors with their slip showing. When finish a project my main goal is to not be one of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

