Metaphors Are Fun, Creative, & Therapeutic by Cher’ley

 

This Blog  by Cher’ley Grogg

Metaphors Are Fun, Creative, and Therapeutic indeed.

     Lenny: Hey, maybe there is no cabin. Maybe it’s one of them metaphorical things.
Carl: Oh yeah, yeah. Like maybe, the cabin is the place inside each of us, created by our goodwill and teamwork.
Lenny: Nah, they said there would be sandwiches.
(Simpsons)

The use of metaphors enriches a writer’s story. Metaphors are the cherry on top of a banana split. Some people eat the cherry first, but many save it until last. The metaphorical cherry is the very last tantalizing bite of a delightful desert.

Hugh Laurie is the king of TV medical metaphors. “The liver is a cruise ship taking in water. As it starts to sink, it sends out an SOS. Only instead of radio waves, it uses enzymes. The more enzymes in the blood, the worse the liver is. But once the ship has sunk, there’s no more SOS. You think the liver’s fine, but it’s already at the bottom of the sea.” (Dr. Gregory House in the “Locked In” episode of House, M.D.)

The website Metaphorology speaks of some psychologists who have been using the term “metaphor therapy,” and they help patients choose better metaphors. For example, a dentist who felt timid, and was unable to express himself in a group was likened to soft clay.

With the therapist’s guidance, he questioned this metaphorical view and replaced it by seeing the clay harden into something else. Steel was the new metaphor he decided on; battleship steel, to be specific, and he even imagined the rivets in it. Within days, he went to a convention with hundreds of other dentists, and when an issue came up that was important to him, he spoke up. He never did this before, not even in a small group.

Metaphors speak for themselves. Aristotle describes a metaphor: Those words are most pleasant which give us new knowledge. Strange words have no meaning for us; common terms we know already. It is a metaphor, which gives us most of this pleasure. (Aristotle’s work on persuasion of the Rhetoric)

In other words, metaphors should strike up a memory, bring a smile, or add depth. A tool that is well used by many writers and overused by others. An overused metaphor is eating sugar by the spoonfuls. The sweetness coats the tongue and causes gagging sensations.

 

***Try one of these exercises and post your results in the comments section. Describe yourself using a metaphor. Describe your weather using a metaphor. Describe the dearest person/thing in your life right now, this minute, using a metaphor. What are some overused metaphors–How could they be made fresher? (I have written a small book on metaphors.)***

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores.

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

All About the Girls 5(3)

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 10% Happier, Fresh, Metaphors, unique and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Metaphors Are Fun, Creative, & Therapeutic by Cher’ley

  1. This was an interesting post. Right now, I’m busy as a beaver, trying to get everything done before leaving first thing in the morning for the Wyoming Writers annual conference in Riverton.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike Staton says:

    Your post got me to thinking. A ‘tired’ metaphor used in dialogue may not be a bad thing, as it can reflect how we talk. Now when it comes to narrative, I do try to be more creative. Sometimes I had a heck of a time with metaphors when I was writing my fantasy novels.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joe Stephens says:

    I love metaphors! My kids know it and got me a shirt that says “Metaphors be with you” for Christmas. Did I mention I also like Star Wars?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wranglers says:

      My mom used a lot if metaphors. I miss listening to her talk, I didn’t appreciate how unique she was. I did know she was wonderful and made me feel as snug as a bug on a rug. Cher’ley

      Like

  4. Doris says:

    Always loved a good metaphor. Nice take on the subject. Here’s to the metaphor of life. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    I am like partially crystallized honey, soft, smooth and sweet most of the time, but an occasional sharp crystal floats to the surface. Love metaphors in books.

    Like

  6. katewyland says:

    My life is an extensive garden, blooming and fragrant in spots, and overgrown and needing work in others. I’m just about ready to get out my tools and start weeding. .
    Fun post

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    I tend to be very fond of metaphors. So much so I’ve got to avoid them like the plague. Great post, Cher’ley!

    Like

  8. I like the story about the dentist how he went from soft clay to steel. I use metaphors a lot in my writing. I love them. Thanks for a fun post, Cher’ley.

    Like

  9. Great post Cherley. Metaphors enhance our writing and can really round out a sentence. We should probably use more of them!

    Like

  10. Fun post, Cher’ley! I use metaphors often in my writing, especially for kids — I think it helps them as readers understand more of what you want to convey. However, a writing teacher once told me such parts of speech shouldn’t be used much in writing — but I like them so I write them whenever I feel the spirit move me to do so! LOL

    Like

  11. S J Brown says:

    I sneak in a metaphor every now and then, but try not to over use them. Fun post thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

