A Little Bit of Why

Post copyright by Doris McCraw

edit hhj spc

We all seem to have the Big Why in our lives. Why did I do this, or that. We tend to beat ourselves up over some mistake. Let’s take a look at the Little Why.

Why do I continue to comment on other people’s blog post even when they do return the courtesy?

I do so because I know people who write these post have something to say. It is a joy to see how they think, what’s important to them. By taking the time to comment, even if it is to say thank you, I acknowledge their efforts. Let’s face it, we all want to be heard.

PROPHECY 1

 

Why do I continue to write post that no one seems to read or care about?

This goes back to the comments in the first Why. As I learn new things I want to share. The world is a big place, we can’t all do everything, so if something I think about or research will make a difference, I’m going to share. It goes back to my days working with juveniles. A wise lady once told me, “just keep talking, you never know when something you said might make all the difference.”

Why do I continue my photo and haiku practice?

This one is easy. It has become a habit, and I plain enjoy the challenge.

happiness

 

Why write romance?

I want to tell stories, and if there is a bit of romance in them, I’m okay with that. One of my cover models said she loved my novella, but it didn’t follow the formula. That is what I aim for, a good story that doesn’t have to rely on formula to succeed.

 

Why is telling the story of early women doctors so important?

Why shouldn’t it be? Dr. Susan Anderson had Virginia Cornell to tell her story. While I do not aspire to the universal love that the Cornell book has, I do not want these women to be lost to time. They did as much if not more than the more ‘famous’ ones did. They may not be famous, but they are worth remembering.

                                          from en.wikipedia.org Elizabeth Blackwell, MD

Why am I doing history symposiums and speaking in public?

See the above answer. There is so much rich history to be shared. If I can add just one small part to the overall knowledge or get someone excited about a piece of history I am happy. Life is too short to be too afraid. No one really told me I couldn’t and if they did, I chose not to listen.

So there you have it, a little bit of Why.

For those who are interested you can stream the symposium on June 11. Here is the link: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/ppld-history  The program starts at 9am Mountain Time. The topic this year is Myths and Mysteries of the Rocky Mountain West.

For further reading on some of the posts that prompted the why, here you go: http://prairierosepublications.blogspot.com/2016/06/do-you-want-to-be-doctor.html

http://www.booksandbenches.com/2016/06/q-with-western-romance-author-angela.html

http://prairierosepublications.blogspot.com/2016/05/wanted-matrimony-mail-order-brides.html

http://annettesnyder.blogspot.com/2016/02/dori-mccraw-writing-as-angela-raines.html

Angela Raines is the pen name for Doris McCraw. In addition to Historical Romance, Doris also writes haiku, posted five days a week at: http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com.  She has posted over one thousand haiku.“One Christmas Knight” Medieval Anthology
http://amzn.com/B017Z2BLH6

“Angel of Salvation Valley”  http://amzn.to/1P4JVV8

“A COWBOY CELEBRATION”  http://amzn.to/1GzwJhw

HOME FOR HIS HEART  http://amzn.to/1GJhpSu

Author Page:http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in adventure, advice, aggravation, back story, blessings, Blogs, characters, communication, Courage, decisions, Doctors, doctors, Colorado Women Doctors, Education, gratitude, Heritage, historical romance, History, Perseverance, public speaking, research, romance, unique, Women, women doctors, women in history, women in the 1800's, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Little Bit of Why

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    Interesting post and as you say, reveals more of what make a “you!” Also, in thinking of the why question, I guess some of us ask why more about negative things that happen to us, then trying to understand why we do positive things or positive things happen. I think it’s important to understand why we do things, and is probably a good question to ask of our characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Doris says:

    Neva,
    You got it. I think we tend to get into ruts and asking the why, without planning an answer, can move us forward. It can be fun or painful, but I think necessary.

    Thank you so much for adding to my uhderstanding of why. **Smile** Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve said it all, Doris. We don’t need to do things to receive things back. We do them because we like to. Such a good post should make us all stand up and be counted – don’t worry about accolades, do it for yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doris says:

      Linda, Thank you. I agree, we sometimes get so worried about what others may think or say that we put our lives on hold. Sorry, it’s to short to do that. If I can reach one person and make a difference, then I’ve done my job.

      When I was working with juveniles, I came across a bit of information that stuck with me. Everything we do is for selfish reasons. That is not a bad thing. We do things because they make us feel good. I think you get that.

      Thank you for the very kind words. Doris

      Like

  4. Thank you for an interesting post.

    Like

  5. Joe Stephens says:

    I imagine we all have that list of “little why” items, but I hadn’t really thought of mine until your post. Thanks!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Joe,

      If you think of them, my post did its job. **Smile**. I find when I can make peace with why I do things, it helps. It also alllows me to choose to continue or not, instead of just going on automatic pilot. Thank you for adding to the discussion. Doris

      Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Liked your question and answer session. It’s a good way to reveal a little bit of who you are, Doris. I’ve enjoyed your posts on the women doctors. The information you’ve gathered will probably be used by researchers for decades if not longer.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Mike,

      You just made my day. I hope the work I’ve done on the women doctors will help future generations understand that popular thoughts may not always be the truth.

      I appreciate you liking the style of this post. It just made sense to do it this way.

      Thank you! Doris

      Liked by 1 person

  7. katewyland says:

    Your posts on the women doctors are always interesting and I’m sure Western history enthusiasts are happy you are doing them. Thinking about “whys” lately has prompted me to say “no” to some things. I was doing them out of obligation, not because I wanted to. Time to change that. Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doris says:

      Kate,

      If my thoughts help out just one person, I feel good. I do think it’s healthy to take time and answer our personal whys. Like you, we find things we like and things we want and need to change.

      Thank you so much for stopping and your kind words on the research I’m doing on the women doctors. They mean a lot to me. Doris

      Like

  8. Great post, Doris! I’m sure we all have big and little “whys” — I’m experiencing some myself during this season of life. Questions to ponder, answers to be discovered (or perhaps not). I’m so glad you write and I’m so glad to know you and get to know you better! LOVE that you’re doing public speaking and I hope one day to hear you in person! Best to you always, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Gayle, I return the honor of knowing you. If you’re around the 11th you can hear me at the symposium in the afternoon, if you stream the event.

      I do think it is healthy to ask ourselves questions and be brutally honest with ourselves as we seek the anwers. I believe it is when we are open to the question, we get the answer.

      Here’s to a great season. Doris

      Like

  9. Doris,
    So often I don’t stop long enough to ask “why”? Thank you for reminding me. I liked the question/answer format. Interesting way to present you ideas.
    – Stephen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doris says:

      Stephen,

      Thank you. Those who know me also know I’m constantly asking myself questions. It seems to be my way of making sure I’m on course or needing to change directions. It has worked for me most of the time.

      Here’s to the ‘whys’ in life. Thanks for stopping and adding to the discussion. Doris

      Like

  10. The why’s of things, is something I sometimes ask myself, but I keep trudging forward looking for those people who I myself might inspire with just that one word, one poem, or one message.
    Thanks for reminding me of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doris says:

      Darrah, you are wecome. The advice that woman gave me many years ago has kept me going more times than I can count. May it do the same for you. Keep going, you will make a difference. Doris

      Like

  11. Wranglers says:

    Why do you do it? For people like me. I really enjoy your blogs, and the focus on women. I enjoy your blogs when they are about other things too. You are entertaining, and I thank you for your time. I think we get to know each other through our blog, and I believe that’s important. I don’t know why people don’t reciprocate. I try to encourage people too. The odea behind our blog is that we would have 19, okay realistically, 16 people reading, commenting on and sharing each others’ blogs daily. We actually have 9, or so who do this religiously. If we miss a few days we catch up, and all of us have times in our lives (every year or periodically) when life just takes over. That’s why my target is 16, but I am so happy for the 10 or so that we have. So that gives us a pretty good out reach. I want to listen to the broadcast Saturday. Hopefully I won’t be driving, or if I am I can get it hooked up ahead of time. I love your photos and your poems, but infortunately, I don’t get to see them as often as I’d like. Thanks Doris for all that you do, there are many of us WW&Ws that appreciate you. I also have to blog tomorrow and I don’t have it completely finished. Oh me. I’m so tired, I’ll probably have to finish it in the morning. I drove last night and we reloaded and unloaded again today and I haven’t slept yet. Oh me. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Cher’ley, you have just given the reason for many of my whys and why I keep going. I have loved the response this post generated. Conversations are what help us connect and learn.

      I appreciate you kind words. They made my day, week and possibly the year. I enjoy the connection that forms when people share ideas.

      I also hope you can at least hear some of the days speakers. I’m on at the end, primarily because I’m also the timekeeper.

      Here’s to a great blog coming up and you getting some rest. Doris

      Like

  12. Wranglers says:

    Why do you do it? For people like me. I really enjoy your blogs, and the focus on women. I enjoy your blogs when they are about other things too. You are entertaining, and I thank you for your time. I think we get to know each other through our blog, and I believe that’s important. I don’t know why people don’t reciprocate. I try to encourage people too. The odea behind our blog is that we would have 19, okay realistically, 16 people reading, commenting on and sharing each others’ blogs daily. We actually have 9, or so who do this religiously. If we miss a few days we catch up, and all of us have times in our lives (every year or periodically) when life just takes over. That’s why my target is 16, but I am so happy for the 10 or so that we have. So that gives us a pretty good out reach. I want to listen to the broadcast Saturday. Hopefully I won’t be driving, or if I am I can get it hooked up ahead of time. I love your photos and your poems, but infortunately, I don’t get to see them as often as I’d like. Thanks Doris for all that you do, there are many of us WW&Ws that appreciate you. I also have to blog tomorrow and I don’t have it completely finished. Oh me. I’m so tired, I’ll probably have to finish it in the morning. I drove last night and we reloaded and unloaded again today and I haven’t slept yet. Oh me. Cher’ley

    Like

  13. Nancy Jardine says:

    Doris- That’s a lot of great little whys. We each have our reasons for writing and blogging and if it makes a difference to other people then that’s great too, in addition to any sense of self satisfaction in the writing.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Nancy,
      Thank you. Sometimes those questions just build up and have to come out somewhere. It is nice to be able to share them with like minded people who also deal with similiar situations. There is something about the writing process and just being alive that brings thoughts like this to mind. Appreciate you sharing your thoughts also, it makes one feel less alone. Doris

      Like

  14. It’s important to ask why you do something and often, we forget this. Sometimes when I get frustrated with things like writing a story or my job, I think “Why am I torturing myself with this!?” Often it’s a simple answer: because it brings me joy when I do get it right or because it brings me satisfaction when I finally finish. Thanks for bringing this to our attention as it’s not something to forget.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Sarah,
      I thank you for the encouraging words. Like you, I ask myself ‘why’ a lot. It really does help to keep things in perspective. Here’s to the ‘whys’ and the answers they give us. Doris

      Like

  15. S J Brown says:

    I for one am glad you have answers to your little whys. I enjoy reading and learning from your posts.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      S J
      I’m so glad you enjoyed the post and its information My thought is, what’s in my head I should share. It may help someone. **Smile** Doris

      Like

Leave a Reply

