Summer Vacation

your Profile PhotoThis post by Jennifer Flaten

Summer is here! Yay, I am so happy. I am not ashamed to admit that I love summer vacation. I love spending time with my kids, yes, but what I really love about summer vacation is that most of the time we can take the day at our own pace.

The day seems so much longer in summer. During school we have to be up by 6:00, unless it’s acapella then it’s 5:45. Out the door by 7:15. To work by 8, leave work by 1:45 in order to get to kids by 2:45. Then on the days when all three kids have three different activities after school I can drive in a giant circle for 3 hours. This is not a comedic exaggeration (I so wish it was) one day I had to pick up kids at 4,5, and 6 all from the same school!

We are doing summer school this year, but still it doesn’t seem as frantic.

I also love going to the pool. Actually, I don’t go there to swim (I am a terrible swimmer, as I don’t like to get my face wet). But, I am a water sign, so I love nothing better then sitting next to water. I can read, knit or just stare at the water, while the kids frolic around.  After that we go for frozen yogurt. I mean really could the day get any better?

Well, I am off to sit outside and read, which I can do because I don’t have to be somewhere for several hours.

Hope you have a most enjoyable summer.

Browse my jewelry on Etsy

 

This entry was posted in activities, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer Vacation

  1. It sounds like you have a great summer planned. Have fun.

    Like

  2. I’m not much of a water person, unless it’s simply to view and bask in beauty… so pools don’t suit me. But, relaxing sure does! And I hope you get to continue doing a lot of that this summer, Jennifer! Glad you and the kids are starting your summer off in wonderful ways!

    Like

  3. katewyland says:

    Sounds like a great way to spend the summer.

    Like

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    Sounds wonderful. And the best way to spend summer and make memories with your kids. Sounds like rejuvenation time.

    Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    You definitely sound like a soccer mom during the school months. Whew, that paragraph made tired just reading it. When I was a kid, summer meant hanging out at the public pool — and playing pickup baseball until it got so dark we couldn’t see the ball.

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    Sounds heavenly. Here’s to a great summer. Doris

    Like

  7. Joe Stephens says:

    Summer really is great. It’s just before noon and I have nowhere I have to be. I did write an article this morning, but only because I wanted to. It wasn’t due for three more days.

    Like

  8. Jennifer,
    I love summer, always have. That’s one of the perks about living in So. California, it feels like summer a good portion of the year.
    I’ve always like the longer days with extended daylight. I feel I can get more done.
    Thanks for the post.
    – Stephen

    Like

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    Ah, the joys, Jennifer. I also look forward to summer – though we’ve already had a few sort of hot-ish days and that might already have been my Scottish summer! I’ll have to find ideas to keep my grandkids happy on days when I’m caring for them over the summer when they’ve no classes to go to- like dancing, nursery etc. Enjoy you time!

    Like

  10. S J Brown says:

    I do enjoy summer time. I don’t have kids to shuttle around anymore but it’s a great time to be with the kids and grandkid. I can run around with no shoes on and relax on the back deck with a glass of ice tea and a book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

