Monday, Monday

 

propic11_1_1This post by L.Leander, Author of Fearless Fiction

As a 60’s child I was immersed in the music of the time and it’s still my favorite music. Is there anything better? Bob Dylan, Diana Ross and the Supremes, Little Richie, Peter, Paul and Mary, and way too many more to mention. This music filled us with food for thought (what do some of Dylan’s lines really mean?), sun-filled days (the Beach Boys), and of course, Monday Monday by the Mamas and the Papas. The first part of the song has lyrics that are everlasting and show off John Phillips writing excellence.

Monday, Monday so good to me

Monday mornin’, it wasn’t all I hoped it would be

Oh Monday mornin’, Monday mornin’ wouldn’t guarantee

That Monday evenin’ you would still be here with me

© John Phillips

file000541949575-2

The harmonies, Mama Cass’s strong lead voice and the cohesiveness of the band led the group to win a Grammy Award for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal for this song on March 2, 1967. Also, Monday, Monday was the group’s only number-one hit on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100. (Wikipedia)

As a writer it’s good to look at and listen to favorite music, as it can give you the feel for the plot and movement of your words. I have to write in complete silence, but I do research before and after I write. I often listen to favorite tunes to get a feel for the passion and reasoning the song presents so that I can make my own story flow. It’s also a good way to hear how songwriters create a plot.

As a songwriter myself, I often spend a lot of time reworking a song to get the story told in under 4 minutes – not an easy feat. As an author I have more time to play with, but I must be careful to fill in the cracks and keep the writing smooth and the plot in the forefront.

I love weekends. Although my husband and I are retired, Monday is the start of a new week527725_10151585269811000_632304641_n and all the things to look forward to. Mondays give us time to plan our week, do some new things, or sit back on the deck and watch the birds and squirrels eat the food we put out for them while I read and my husband putters in the flowers.

I have always liked Mondays. No matter how the weekend goes, Monday is the start of a new week and new adventures.

So, thanks to John Phillips for writing a song that will stand the test of time and be recognized for years to come. Even though the song has a feeling of uncertainty, the music is so uplifting that you can’t help but think of Monday as an exciting day of the week.

What about you? Which is your favorite day of the week? Why? I’d love to hear your comments!

Watch these videos on You Tube and check out the books on Amazon:

Inzared, Queen of the Elephant Riders Video

 

Inzaredonecover

 

Inzared The Fortune Teller Video

 

inzaredtwocover

 

 

13marketingtipscover

 

 

 

13ext

 

 

 

You can also find L.Leander in the following places:

 

Lleander11.wordpress.com/

L.Leander Amazon Page

L.Leander’s Reviews and Interviews

Twitter

Linkedin

Goodreads

 

Google Plus

L.Leander’s Facebook Page

 

 

This entry was posted in adventure, anticipation, Calendar, influences, inspiration, Memory Jogger, Monday, music, passion, unique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Monday, Monday

  1. Friday has always been my favorite day because it means the weekend’s coming, and if possible, I can take a break from work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fun post, Linda! Didn’t they also record/sing John Denver’s song “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane?” I liked that one and one of my other favorites (though from a different group, I think) was “Jeremiah was a Bullfrog!” the 70s and 80s were more my music days and I remember them quite fondly. I met an aspiring songwriter the other day, and I’m hoping she and I will get together for coffee or lunch sometime in July. How right you are about telling a story in 4 minutes or less — that’s quite a feat (like poetry) and one reason I can do neither!! 🙂

    Like

    • There’s just something about the 60’s music that is happy and carefree. Peter, Paul and Mary recorded Leavin’ On a Jet Plane (also one of my favorites) but after researching it I don’t think the Mamas and Papas did that song.) Three Dog Night made Jeremiah Was a Bullfrog famous. It was written by Hoyt Axton, one of my favorite writers and singers. I got on a bus in Mexico once and the driver played “Jeremiah Was a Bullfrog” loud while the passengers moved to the music. I would have sung at the top of my voice because I know all the words, but I was embarrassed. I made do with listening and enjoying for my almost-5 mile ride.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lately, I haven’t thought about my favorite day of the week! If I had to chose it would be Sunday, because Sunday’s are my days off of work and I get to see my mom just a little more.
    Yeah. Sunday it is.

    Like

    • Sunday is a great day! I used to love going to church, having dinner when we got home (those were the days of putting the roast in the oven while you were gone) and spending family time. It was rare we got to have friends over on Sunday because lots of relatives came, but we had so many cousins we didn’t care!

      Like

  4. Doris says:

    I read your title and the song immediately popped into my head and I was listening to them sing.
    I’ve always been a Peter, Paul and Mary kind of person, but enjoyed the songs John Denver wrote and of course The Kingston Trio and the song “Tom Dooley”. Oh the memories you brought back.
    Doris

    Like

    • Thanks Doris. When I was about 14 I won a talent contest singing Tom Dooley. I loved that song. It’s hard to pick a favorite for me. There is a song called “Look at Killer Joe Go” and I loved singing and dancing to it. Several years ago I was thinking about the song and did some research. The band was called The Rocky Fellers and was composed of four Filipino brothers and their father. Look At Killer Joe Go was number 16 on the Billboard Hot 100 in April 1963. The band did a few other songs, but were overpowered by the British Bands that swarmed into America about that time. If you have time listen to the song it’s on You Tube. I think you’ll like it.

      Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    My favorite day of the week? When I worked, it would have to be Saturday. Time to myself. Do some writing or whatever I wanted, maybe watch some college football games, grill hamburgers and hotdogs, visit with friends. To change the subject, I too love music from the ’60s… I graduated from high school in 1970.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I got in on the 50’s music because I was born in 1949 and loved some of that music too, but the 60’s music was a movement and you couldn’t help but be swayed by it. Some really good music came out of the 70’s too. Two of my favorite songs from the 70’s are Maggie May and American Pie, both from 1971.

      Like

  6. Joe Stephens says:

    It’s hard to pick, but it’s probably Friday. Friday afternoon, to be exact. In the fall, that’s when high school football games are and all year long, it’s the very beginning of the weekend. The entire time is laid out and full of potential.

    Like

  7. I really don’t have a favorite day. Since my schedule is so erratic, I find myself enjoying whatever week day I happen to have off. I usually work weekends so week days, I love going to farmers’ markets and running errands when it’s not crowded. I really admire songwriters. I can’t imagine telling a story in under 4 minutes. You have an incredible talent, Linda!

    Like

    • Thank you Sarah. I think the same way you do with days of the week. I really love Monday, but because we are retired, some other days become favorites because of things we’re able to do. Guess I like them all!

      Like

  8. Travis says:

    Not sure what my favorite day is, but not Monday. I know I used to like Thursdays because it was clear view to the weekend and when I used to watch TV it seemed like the best programs were on then. Saturdays might still be the best. California Dreamin’ might be my favorite Mama and Papa’s song. Like Monday-Monday, it has a sad longing for an earlier time or place with beautiful music. I’d like to write music someday, but I’m not sure when.

    Like

  9. I love California Dreamin’ too. I think John Phillips was an awesome songwriter. One of my all-time favorite songs is “San Francisco (Be Sure to Wear Some Flowers In your Hair)”. Phillips went on to write for other performers, musicals and his own records (after the Mamas and Papas broke up). He was a great songwriter, but could never get rid of the demons that possessed him – mostly drugs and drink.

    Like

  10. Wranglers says:

    Is that your convertible? You look great. I love all the old songs we had, including Monday, Monday. Sunday is my favorite day of the week. I love church, and it sets the day for thoughts and relaxation. Doesn’t always happen, but we try. Thanks for the thought provoking blog. Cher’ley

    Like

  11. Nancy Jardine says:

    Linda- While teaching, Monday was a dread that was curiously also looked forward to- sounds confusing but true. I dreaded the amount of energy a week at work would demand of me. On the opposite side, I looked forward to the next stage of what was only part of a whole term of planning (10 weeks worth). Now that my week is only partially structured (my grand child minding days and Saturdays or Sundays when I go to Craft Fairs to sell my books) I’m able to do domestic chores/maintenance and writing when I chose. Since I’m not scheduled to do be ‘on duty’ for the grandkids on Mondays, it’s a ‘Free’ day for me. I look forward to it and wonder what I can squeeze in.

    Like

  12. S J Brown says:

    My favorite day of the week changes from week to week. One week it may be Friday because I am heading out to visit with friends or family. Another week it could be Monday when I am hitting the road to go visit some critters. Some weeks it is Saturday because I have the day to myself to putter in the yard, catch up on reading or just get housework caught up. Other weeks it might be another day that hubby and I are together. So I guess my ever changing schedule leads every changing favorite days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

