Day Off

your Profile PhotoThis post by Jennifer Flaten

I don’t care if you work for yourself or work for “the man” there is no better feeling then leaving work early. I’ve had days working from home that appointments have canceled or something else happened that I suddenly found myself with free time….and it is the most wonderful feeling in the world.

And, I’ll share a little secret with you, I don’t care how much housework I have piled up, if I suddenly find myself with a free afternoon, I will spend it with a book.

The same if I am at the office, if I am able to leave work early I am practically clicking my heels together in joy as I run (yes, sometimes it is literally running) to the parking lot.

Of course, the inverse is also true, nothing is more horrible than having to work on your day off. I don’t care how much you love what you do, if you are called into work you never go with a smile on your face. You might smile later when you see a little bit extra on your paycheck, but at that moment when you are wrestling with the recalcitrant copy machine instead of reading like you’d planned your not smiling. In fact, you might be kicking the copy machine for good measure.

Browse my jewelry on Etsy

 

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day Off

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    All mixed feeling when called in on day off for sure. And joy when unexpected time off. And don’t hurt your foot when kicking the copy machine! You made me smile.

    Like

  2. I was happy to leave work today in order to spend time with my parents, who are visiting from Montana. Looking forward to a weekend in a beautiful national park. Hope you have a great weekend, Jennifer!

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Anytime one can read a book it’s a good day. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes! Housework is usually the last thing on my list as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When I worked at the nursing home, if I had a dollar for every time I was called in to work on a day off because somebody quit or was sick, I wouldn’t have needed to work. Smile emoticon.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mike Staton says:

    In the newspaper business, an hour or two of free time was always wonderful. So often there were meetings to cover at night and festivals, etc. on weekends.

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    So true, Jennifer. Those moments ‘off’ are so prized and often rare.

    Like

  8. Wranglers says:

    So true. Cher’ley

    Like

  9. Books are my favorite thing to do any time I get even a few minutes off. I read in the car, in bed, under a tree, on the deck, and any place else I can squeeze in a bit of time. Days off are fun, but I generally spend at least half of the day sewing, another of my favorites. Glad you had time to pick up a favorite book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

