History of Dolls by Barbara Schlichting

IMG_3075(1)Since my A First Ladies Mystery series is set in a dollhouse, 
I thought it’d be interesting to learn the history of dolls.

real-blood-spangled-coverblood-spangled-banner-cover

Doll origins date to the beginning of time. Women passed their dolls 
down to their daughters as toys. In ancient times, they were considered 
part of religious rites and ceremonies. Greek literature supports this theory.

Nurenburg, Germany, records show dollmakers in the early fifteenth century. 
Dolls have been handmade for centuries, using clay, fur, wood, wax, clothespins,
rags, cornhusks, and let’s not forget the Russian stacking dolls. 
This names a few of the types of dolls.
Fashion dolls were popular in the 1300’s. With the settling of North America, 
women made dolls for their daughters. Porcelain and bisque dolls became 
popular in the 1800’s. After WWII, doll makers began manufacturing them 
with plastic, rubber, and other durable materials. Vinyl changed the doll 
makeup, allowing the head to have hair. Mass-marketing has taken 
over the market. Traditional dollmakers are now using materials from the 
past, which I like the concept since it connects the past with the present.
four-dolls

Sources: 
http://ctdollartists.com/history.htm
http://chip-smitley.triped.com/historyofthedoll.htm

CONTACT ME OR VIEW MY WEBSITE AND BLOG:
http://www.barbaraschlichting.com
https://barbaraschlichting.blogspot.com


















This entry was posted in author exposure to potential readers, Authors, book cover, high school reunion, historical interpretation, historical novels, unique. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to History of Dolls by Barbara Schlichting

  1. Neva Bodin says:

    I had eight “children” when I was a young mother at age six. Not all were dolls, I had stuffed teddies for boy children and only one real boy doll. But each doll, I have two left, one 70 years old, still feels like my child. I have an emotional attachment to them all. Dolls were so easy to nurture. They always did what I told them to. And they must have nurtured some side of me too. Thanks for enlightening us on some doll history.

    Like

  2. I have a friend who collects and shows dolls so I forwarded this to her. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    It is interesting how dolls play such an important part in our history, and still are so important to many today. Thanks Doris

    Like

  4. Interesting post, Barbara. i think I read somewhere that in the 1800s dolls were also used to show fashion of the day so beautiful dresses and ball gowns could be made for ladies?

    Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    My friend Sharon has kept the dolls her late-mother collected. They’re mostly still in their boxes. Her mother and Sharon are part American Indian, and there’s an Indian girl doll that hangs from the ceiling in the living room. You said the setting of your series is a dollhouse. You got to give us more information. Lol.

    Like

  6. Wranglers says:

    I loved my dolls. I still love dolls. My husband worked in a doll factory for awhile and I have a couple of those dolls. I have some minature dolls too. We set up collections of unusual procelin dolls for our daughter. Cher’ley

    Like

  7. I still have a doll which my parents gave me for Christmas when I was 2 years old. She’s a delightful reminder of a beautiful childhood!

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    I loved my dolls and only parted with them at age 19 when I was encouraged to give them to a neighbouring family of 5 girls whose father had been tragically killed and the girls weren’t going to have anything much at Christmas. I can still picture my favourite two. the had different Kilted outfits, specially made by my aunt who was a kilt maker. One was called Fiona (funny that my first daughter is also Fiona) and the other was called Heather. I wanted to name my second daughter Heather when she was born but my OH preferred Sheena. So D2 is called Sheena and not Heather.

    Like

  9. S J Brown says:

    Thanks for sharing. It is interesting to know that little girls carelessly playing with their dolls is actually carrying on an ancient tradition.

    Like

Leave a Reply

