It’s the Great Pumpkin Spice

your Profile PhotoThis post by Jennifer Flaten

Happy Autumn, or as I like to call it Pumpkin Spice day. The day when every other flavor dies and pumpkin spice becomes the only flavor available until the peppermint mocha days of December.

I like pumpkin spice the way God intended, in a pie. I don’t want it in my cheerios, oreos or coffee.

Other than the over abundance of pumpkin spice, I love fall. I think it is such a romantic season, with the trees all ablaze in color; plus darkness falling early means candles (and who doesn’t look their best in the glow of a candle?). Not to mention the cooler weather is perfect for snuggling under a blanket with someone special or your favorite book.

I don’t even mind that my garden is almost at its end. After a really long, hot summer I am happy to be released from watering duty. Also, I am already looking forward to next year’s garden.

And, most importantly fall is the start of knitting season. Yes, I knit during summer, but not as often, some days it was just too hot to be handling wool. Plus, I can start wearing all my knit items again.

What is your favorite part of fall?

Browse my jewelry on Etsy

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s the Great Pumpkin Spice

  1. I’ve never particularly cared for the scent or taste of pumpkin. When I was a kid, I threw up when my fifth grade teacher made me pull out a pumpkin’s innards in preparation for Halloween festivities.

    Like

  2. Mike Staton says:

    I don’t like pumpkin spice in my coffee either. I do love pumpkin pie, though, especially smothered in whipped cream. Writing this makes me want to head out to a restaurant and have a slice, maybe Marie Callender’s. As to my favorite time of the autumn? Halloween when I can see all the costumes, and of course, the yard decorations.

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Fall is bittersweet for me. I love the cooler weather, but the lack of sunshine that is coming does have its drawbacks. Doris

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’m a bit like you regarding my garden. I enjoy it when I’ve done my regular autumn maintenance and can forget the garden for ages. I still look out onto it from my desk, though, and love when I know I might need to rake up some leaves but I no longer need to cut the grass that’s beneath the carpet of leaves. 🙂

    Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    You named my favorite. Cher’ley

    Like

  6. It’s funny how many stores advertise pumpkin spice in the fall. Like you, I prefer mine in pies, not in my coffee, but I’m sure many wait for autumn to enjoy their favorite flavor.

    Like

  7. S J Brown says:

    I enjoy fall for a number of reasons. As I put the veggie garden to bed and move plant into the greenhouse I plan next years veggie garden. I can pull out my comfy sweatshirts and comfortable jeans. Critters are more active and fun to photograph. Most importantly Halloween is just around the corner.

    Like

Leave a Reply

