Recipe for Fun

This post by Jennifer Flaten

I have a condition (completely made up) that prevents me from reading a  recipe from start to finish. I don’t know why, but I’ll start reading the ingredient list, and if it is more than 7 items long I start to skim the rest of the ingredients. And, you have no idea how much trouble 2 column recipes have caused. My eyes/attention just don’t last long enough for 2 columns!

It is the same with the actual steps to make the recipe. If they are long an complicated, or over max 5 steps long. I simply stop reading. Which means I miss crucial steps like say “chill for X amount of time”.

I have apparently passed this trait on to my daughter. Yesterday, I planned on making pancakes for supper, but my daughter wanted to do it. She had a recipe for cinnamon roll pancakes that she wanted to try out.

It was a basic pancake recipe (flour, sugar, wet stuff) but it had a “filling” of brown sugar, cinnamon and butter, that needed to chill for at least 20 min. Kid started making pancakes 15min before we wanted to eat them. She’d missed this step completely. OOPS!

It turned out okay, we simply made a cinnamon brown sugar mixture to sprinkle on the pancakes before we flipped them. They turned out absolutely delicious. A happy accident to be sure.

Has this ever happened to you?

Browse my jewelry on etsy

 

 

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Recipe for Fun

  1. Doris says:

    The only way to cook. Doris

    Like

  2. It sounds like you came up with a great variation of that recipe. Yum!

    Like

  3. My sister is so precise that she drives me nuts. I never read the whole recipe either and many mistakes have become favorites in our house, just as your daughter’s did. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    Ah,Jennifer- well done to your daughter for being adaptable. I have a tendency to adapt recipes according to what I might have in my store cupboard. And during the cooking? Well, if it doesn’t quite look as it should do I plop some ice cream on top or sometimes a thick cream is an even better disguise. I reckon the taste is what matters. 🙂

    Like

  5. wyoauthor1 says:

    If recipes are long, I usually don’t make them! LOL Great that you and your daughter have fun cooking together — and learning from each other!

    Like

  6. kathywaller says:

    How do you do with “marinate overnight”? I always miss that one. The result leaves a lot to be desired.

    Like

  7. Mike Staton says:

    I’m pretty good at microwaving a Ballpark hamburger patty and heating up a hotdog, but that’s about it. Lol.

    Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    If a recipe has more than 4 or 5 ingredients I probably don’t have all of them in the house so I opt for something more basic.

    Like

  9. Neva Bodin says:

    Sounds like your daughter has a lot in common with all of us. I sometimes forget certain items too from skimming over the recipe. Have to review it several times during the process, short or long. And substituting items is fun, when it turns out and I can brag about it afterwards!

    Like

Leave a Reply

