Brighton

.

Kate 2Kate Wyland
.

 

Last month I had a lovely time visiting my younger daughter at her new home in Brighton, which is just outside London. She’s lived in the UK for over six years and recently was granted dual citizenship there. She loves living in Europe and as a citizen of the UK, she would have been able to work anywhere in the European Union. Unfortunately, the Brexit vote has negated all the time, energy, and money she spent and she’s more than slightly bummed. And she’s having to rethink the plans she had made.

Among other things, she decided to move out of London and relocate to the seaside. She still commutes to the city and, given the wonderful public transportation network there, it doesn’t take much longer than previously. Having grown up in the Bay Area of California, she’d always lived fairly near the ocean and she’s missed the casual atmosphere typical of coastal cities. So she decided to try England’s version.

 

church

I found Brighton to be a wonderful mix of older (18th and 19th Century) homes combined with modern buildings that blend into the environment rather than standing out. On the way to the very busy business area, we walked past a 13th Century church that is still used for community events. Then we went down to the Brighton Pier, which you’ve undoubtedly seen in movies and TV shows set in earlier times. Even Jane Austen mentions it.

 

royal-pavillion

As a seaside town, Brighton has been a favorite vacation spot for Londoners. One of its most famous visitors was George IV when he was Prince of Wales and later Regent. He liked the area so much he built a “pleasure palace” where he could enjoy his drinking and gambling pastimes and have discreet liaisons with his paramour. The Royal Pavilion is one of the most exotic palaces I’ve ever encountered. The exterior looks like a combination of various Indian architectural styles, while the inside is lavishly decorated with Chinese and Indian elements. The Banquet Hall has to be seen to be believed!

 

choccywoccydodah

The shops lining the narrow streets do remind me a bit of Santa Cruz, a college town with a hippy vibe near us. Lots of quite unique and one-of-a-kind items. One of the most delightful is a chocolate shop with the wonderful name, Choccywoccydodah. Everything in it is made of chocolate—castles, skulls, and lots of fantastical items.

We explored other areas besides Brighton on my trip, but I have to say, it was probably the most unexpected. I look forward to returning another time.

**Note**

This will be my last post with Writing Wranglers. I’ve enjoyed my experience here, but it’s time to go on to other things. I will check in from time to time and hope you all have lots of good writing experiences.

********************

.

Forewarning Cover

FOREWARNING
Healing is her life. Will it be her death?

.

Wyoming Cover - 4x6 - #2.

Wyoming Escape
Two dead bodies. One dirty cop.
Is she next?

.

Cover - Images - 2.

 Images – A Love Story
She’s learned to hide from life.
Should she hide from him?

.

Connect with Kate Wyland:
Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorKateWyland
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/katewyland
Website : http://katewyland.com

.

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Brighton

  1. I have friends in Surry and I loved England. I know your daughter will be happy in Brighton.
    Sorry to hear you are leaving but I wish you all the best. You will be missed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. S J Brown says:

    Thank you for sharing and being part of the group. You know we will all miss you but wish you the best of luck in your ventures.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip. It’s so much fun to experience and look at architecture and culture of a different country. So sorry to hear you are leaving us. Have enjoyed your posts but blessings in your next adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kate, I’ll miss you but wish you the best of luck in your endeavors.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nancy Jardine says:

    Kate- I’m gutted that you’re leaving but I wish you well. Yes- Scotland didn’t vote to leave the EU and I can see exactly why your daughter is bummed about it. My daughter works at Robert Gordon’s University in Aberdeen (Scotland) which has many EU and other ‘foreign’ students who are feeling very confused about how their studies will go, but I’m glad to say the Scottish Government will do their utmost to ensure they can stay and complete their courses. I’ve not visited Brighton, although I’ve been to many other fabulous south east England towns and cities. One of my ‘Crooked Cat Books’ author friends is from Brighton and it’s one of the places on my ‘to go’ list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      I wish Scotland good luck with the Brexit business. An unfortunate mess.
      Have fun with your Celtic books. Enjoyed learning more about their history. I will keep track of your new books.

      Like

  6. kathywaller says:

    When I saw the word “Brighton,” I immediately thought of Jane Austen. It looks like a beautiful place to live–with a chocolate shop like that, can there be any negatives?–and I hope your daughter can work everything out despite Brexit. I’m sorry you’re leaving. Best of luck in all that follows.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katewyland says:

      Exactly–Jane Austen. Of course, my daughter could care less about Austen – that’s Mom stuff. 🙂 Wish I could have gotten a better picture of the shop. It’s in a crooked lane with no room to maneuver. The displays were amazing.
      Best of luck with your projects!

      Like

  7. Thank you for sharing your trip! The area sounds lovely and how wonderful for your daughter to have dual citizenship! I hate to see you go, Kate, but we must sometimes go on to other things. Best of luck and do drop in now and then to say hi!

    Like

  8. Doris says:

    Kate, I do wish you daughter well on this journey she is taking in life. I also loved the image of Brighton you painted for us. You will be missed, but best on the next phase of your journey. Doris

    Like

  9. Travis says:

    Best of luck, Kate. Sad to see you go.

    I’ve been to Brighton. I remember the pier and going through a cheap haunted house. The narrow streets and boutique shops were fun. I can’t remember where I ate. A funny thing I also remember was that most of the young women seemed to wear shirts/blouses showing off their belly buttons. (This was middle 2000s.)

    Like

  10. Mike Staton says:

    Will miss your posts, Kate. Brighton sounds like a fun place, especially after Travis mentioned the midriff blouses revealing belly buttons (lol).

    Like

  11. You will be missed. I enjoyed your posts. Brighton looks amazing and as a beach city resident and lover, I think I would especially take to it. I’ll have to visit it one day. Good luck with future endeavors, Kate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

