Falling for Wildlife

IMGP6507By S. J. Brown

Okay so maybe the title is a little deceptive. I am sure most of you are looking forward to stories about how clumsy I am when I am focused on a critter.  Sorry that isn’t today’s subject.

Instead I am focusing on the changing seasons. I’m sure most people think summer time is prime time for photographing wildlife, not this summer.  When it the temperature hits the upper 90’s most of us are hot, cranky and generally in a bad mood.  Critters feel the same way.  Approaching a cranky deer can get you charged, or stomped by those powerful hoofs.

1-deer

Bears are large, strong, and have massive claws and some nasty teeth as well. They don’t like the heat either.  A large bird just trying to stay cool doesn’t want to pose for a picture.  They can show their irritation by swooping down and attacking with their razor sharp talons.

2-vulture

So I spent most of my summer approaching smaller critters less dangerous critters. I added shots of, some passive shore birds, butterflies, squirrels, ducks, and frogs.

3-frog

Now that the hot oppressive heat of summer is gone and Fall has arrived I am ready to go. It’s time for me to head to the woods.  This time of year the vibrant fall leaves make a great backdrop for critter photos.

4-deer-in-fall

So I have pulled out my sweatshirts, purchased back up batteries and extra film for the camera and I am heading to the woods. I may stop along the river’s edge and visit a lake or two in the early morning hours.  When most of you are having that second cup of coffee I will be zooming in on my next subject.

5-bear

As you munch on your lunch Jay and I will be discussing where we want to be just before sunset. As you settle in for the evening I will be heading home with a number of new images and some happy memories of the day.

6-otters

Enjoy the cooler temperature of fall and take a few minutes to let the colorful array of colors Mother Nature give us this time of year engulf you.   No Fall isn’t my favorite season, but it does come in second.  What is your favorite season ?

Connect with S. J. Brown on Facebook and be one of the first to see what she has been up and view her Sunday Shares.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sj.brown.3367

S. J. Browns coloring books feature sketches based on her photographs.

CBCover Acover

Cover 3-26-23Back Cover 4-24-2013Close up and Close Encounters is available on Amazon  at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=close+ups+%26+close+Encounters

Or get your autographed copy at S. J. Brown website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

S. J. Brown’s children’s pictures books are only available through S. J. Brown.

You can order your copies from her website S.J. Brown

Cover All the Birds I See Cover

Thank you for stopping by. I hope I can count on you to comment and share this blog.

This entry was posted in activities, Advertising, Animals, author, Authors, Autumn, Bear, Blog, books, close ups, Close Ups & Close Encounters, Deer, Fall, frog, images, Nature, photographer, photographs, photography, photos, pictures, S J Brown, s. j. brown, unique, Wildlife, wildlife photographer, wildlife photographs, women writers. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Falling for Wildlife

  1. I have lived in Florida for over twenty years now and although there is a change of seasons they are abrupt and mixed. In my heart Fall is still my favorite. I was born and raised in New York. I loved apple picking time and pumpkin patches. The beautiful colors of the trees and the crispness in the air. However inevitably winter follows and this old body couldn’t handle the icy winds and snow that covered the land.
    I will and do still love Autumn and now even Winter. Thank goodness for memories. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • S J Brown says:

      Although I enjoy my trips to Florida I couldn’t live there. I would miss the change in seasons and couldn’t endure the heat in summer. I admit when the ground here in WV is snow covered Florida looks pretty good.

      Like

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    How fun. To be outside photographing wildlife is to be outside experiencing nature. And that is always soul restoring. Love your pics. Fall is one of my favorite seasons.

    Like

  3. Nancy Jardine says:

    I bet you’ll have some wonderful autumn colours in your photos SJ – please share them sometime? 🙂 and don’t go TOO close to the big grumpy bears.

    Like

    • S J Brown says:

      The leaves here are just starting to turn so I have a few weeks yet. As for grumpy bears, the temperatures have dropped just a bit and the bears are concentrating on bulking up for winter. That makes them easier to approach. As long as there is plenty of food they are pretty mellow.

      Like

  4. I love your photos. Not only do you manage to get a great picture of whatever subject you are taking, you always seem to get a perfect background of nature. Thank you so much for sharing. I wish you had been here at our lake spot a couple of weeks ago. We had ducks, geese in their V formation getting ready to fly south, chipmunks and squirrels with their little cheeks full of nuts to store away and even a feral cat. My favorite season is Spring, because I love the new life it brings after winter. I also love Fall because it’s the end of Summer and the leaves are so lovely. But then, I love Winter because I love to cross-country ski, and it’s the time I hunker down and do lots of art journaling, sewing and other crafts. But I wouldn’t leave out Summer, because it’s heavenly on the lake and I always feel at such peace there. When I lived in Mexico the one thing I really missed were the seasons. There are two there, winter (hot) and summer (unbearably hot). Good luck with your Fall photos. Sounds like such fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • S J Brown says:

      Glad you liked the photos. Yes, every season has it’s own special assets, but like you I love Spring with it’s warming temperatures, and emerging flowers.

      When I was writing this blog I watched as a squirrel marched across the deck time and time again with a walnut in it’s mouth. He is burying them in my butterfly garden.

      Like

  5. wyoauthor1 says:

    Autumn and spring are my favorite seasons, for the beauty and for the animals. Glad you’re getting some outings planned. Looking forward to more of your photos, Sue!

    Like

  6. S J Brown says:

    It may be time for me to do a post of all pictures.

    Like

  7. Doris says:

    As I type this the wind is blowing and Gaby, the younger cat has decided she eneds to purr over my keyboard. I enjoy Spring and Fall almost equally, but like most, am not fond of the heat, but love the sun. Sigh.

    Great photos and enjoy your ‘journeys’ as you find the beauty of nature. Doris

    Like

  8. Actually, my favorite season is summer because of the warmer temperatures. I love walking or sitting in my back yard and reading or writing. Of course I could do without 90 degrees, but 80’s are perfect.

    Like

  9. Wranglers says:

    I love the colors of Fall, but they don’t last long. I love your critter shots. I took a few dozen of a bunch of friendly squirrels a few weeks ago. They were so cute. Tiny Florida squirrels. Thanks for sharing. Cher’ley

    Like

  10. Mike Staton says:

    Not so many trees changing into their fall finery in Vegas. On days like this I do miss Ohio and North Carolina.

    Like

  11. S J Brown says:

    Sorry you don’t get a chance to really enjoy the change of seasons. I doubt you miss the nasty winters.

    Like

  12. I love photos of fall but unfortunately, fall isn’t as beautiful in L.A. as it is almost anywhere else! Thanks for making me feel like it’s fall, albeit briefly. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

