Echoes

Post (c) Doris McCraw

Doris

Made a trip to Santa Fe this past weekend. A busy time, lots of information gathered, and many miles on the road by myself. I share with you photos and verse.

 

Quiet of echoes, rising out from land

Rolling of wagons, images lost in mist

Mountains grow – sink, hourglass sand

Ghosts in the mind, voices persist

ruins-of-past

 

History beckons, out on the plains

Stories are calling, help they insist

Aged city, feels growth pains

What is mystery, ceased to exist

aged-city

 

Time grows short, trip soon done

Will memories fade, post haste dismissed

Voices cry out, before long none

Echoes call, do not desist

 

echoes-of-past

Angela Raines is the pen name for Doris McCraw. Doris also writes haiku posted five days a week at – http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com and has now passed one thousand haiku and photos posted on this blog. Check out her other work or like her Amazon author page:http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL

Lost Knight cover
http://amzn.to/2bHg1Wq

never cover option

http://amzn.to/2bnlhh1

Angel Of Salvation Valley ARaines Web (2)

http://amzn.to/1P4JVV8

 

 

 

This entry was posted in History, poems, poetry, unique, women poets and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Echoes

  1. Nancy Jardine says:

    That does look like a long trip, Doris. It’s a haunting poem, of those echoes of past people and early places. I like it!

    Like

  2. wyoauthor1 says:

    Wonderful poetry, great photos, and haunting reflections. I thought of a short story idea years ago while visiting my parents and seeing an old stage station: “If Walls Could Talk.” We have history all around us and many images remain. That stage stop, and many of the sites you saw, would likely make great settings for a historical piece. Thanks for sharing, Doris (and I LOVE Santa Fe!!) 🙂

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you. Like I replied to Nancy, I don’t normally do regular poetry, but the trip (and I love Santa Fe also) the conference just inspired the thoughts. I agree, places and echoes we hear lead to so many stories, some in our minds/hearts and some that make it to the page. Doris

      Like

  3. Loved it! The photos are great and bring back memories of school history. Your verse is something I really enjoy. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Linda, I have to admit the comments have done much to increase my confidence to try something other than haiku. So glad you enjoyed the photos, and that it brings back some memories. Good or bad those memories are special. Doris

      Like

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    Your poem definitely resonated with me Doris. I came up with a similar idea when camping in the Black Hills. I saw young Indian boys (phamtom of course) dancing on the prairie with small bows and arrows and wrote a poem about it. Loved the pics and I loved the poem.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Neva, Isn’t it wonderful what the imagination will do for you. I would love to read your poem. I confess, this was a challenge to write, but I loved the journey to completion. Thank you for your kind words and support. Doris

      Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    Love the poem and the photos. Thanks. Cher’ley

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    A motor trip in poetic words… most excellent. Makes me think I can drive down a desert road outside Vegas and see a miner and his burro.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Mike,

      You give me hope. I’m so glad the words affected you the way they did. I did my job! May have to try ‘regular’ poetry after all. *smile* Doris

      Like

  7. Love the verse. Had a nice cadence to it. Gorgeous photos too.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Sarah. I don’t normally do regular verse, but the trip and the sights just seemed to call for it, and as anyone who knows me, taking photos is so important to me. Doris

      Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    I loved the imagery in the words and the images as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

