Bill’s Birthday

Abbie J. Taylor 010

This Post by Abbie Johnson Taylor

Bill would have been seventy-four years old today. I wrote the following poem four years ago on his birthday while he was in the nursing home almost two weeks before he passed. It appears in my new book, My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds. Click on the title to hear me read it.

***

BIRTHDAY

Gray hair against white pillow,

lips caress my cheek,

his good arm encircles my shoulder.

The odor of peanut butter

scent of his shampoo comfort me.

Seventy years old today, he says he loves me,

kiss soft against my cheek,

as we hold each other,

for who knows how long.

***

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

Like me on Facebook.

 

This entry was posted in Creativity, family, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bill’s Birthday

  1. Doris says:

    Beautiful words. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love like life changes over the years. It becomes true and comfortable and lasting. You have captured true love. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    Poignant and descriptive. Well said.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wranglers says:

    You have such a beautiful voice, soeaking and singing. A lovely poem, reminds me of the love poems I wrote Del in our early years. Thanks for sharing. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wranglers says:

    You have such a beautiful voice, soeaking and singing. A lovely poem, reminds me of the love poems I wrote Del in our early years. Thanks for sharing. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Love is eternal. Beautiful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Travis says:

    Powerful poem, Abbie.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks to all who commented here. I also received a lot of responses from friends on Facebook who knew Bill.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    Through you, Abbie, we get to know a little of Bill.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Just lovely! What a tribute to your husband. We should all take time to do something like this – it makes appreciating life all the more wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. wyoauthor1 says:

    You share such wonderful memories of your husband, Abbie. As today is my 16th wedding anniversary with my special man, I’m extra moved by your love for Bill and your wonderful poem. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Beautiful poem. Bill was very lucky to have you in his life, Abbie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

