your Profile PhotoThis post by Jennifer Flaten

As you know I love reading. It is one of my favorite things to do. There is nothing as satisfactory as losing yourself in a book. For me reading a good book can turn hours into minutes. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve started a book at 8pm and then stayed up until 2a to finish it.

So it is probably no surprise that I get a little thrill when I find new book I’ve been waiting for on the library shelf. Actually, since I don’t pay much attention to when an author has a new book coming out I like it even better when I happened upon a new book by my favorite author. Seriously, it can turn a ho hum what shall I read trip the library into a wish I had a self driving car so I could start reading on the ride home.

As much as I love discovering new authors there is something so comforting about reading a book with familiar characters. Or if the author doesn’t do a series, it is the joy of reading someone who can make you laugh, or cry. Whose words jump off the page at you and encourage you to stay up way past your bedtime reading that final chapter.

Of course, on that rare occasion you get a book that is a dud. For whatever reason, your favorite author has let you down. Maybe the plot didn’t work for you, or this time that little quirk the main character has isn’t that charming (perhaps it reminds you of an annoying co worker), it’s downright irritating.

Sigh.

Sometimes this can be remedied by putting the book in a time out. Other times it is necessary to skip the end and call it a day. There is always another book on the pile.

Browse my jewelry on etsy

This entry was posted in Fun, Novel Related and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. Jennifer, join the club, Bookworms Anonymous. I have so many books on my device. When I finish one, I can’t always decide what to read next, so I’ve crated a list and put it in my Dropbox folder so I can access it from my computer and tablet. When I finish a book, I delete it. When I acquire another book, if I’m between books, I put it at the top of the list and read it next. If I’m in the middle of a book, I either put it after the one I’m currently reading or at the bottom, depending on if I think I’ll want to read it right away or later. I review books I’ve read on my blog at http://abbiescorner.wordpress.com .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike Staton says:

    I agree, Jennifer. It’s so easy to slip into the novel’s ‘timeline,’ and — like a child once again — turn the author’s world into your own VR world.

    Like

  3. I’m with you Jennifer. I love, love, love to read! I read in the car, in the doctor’s office, standing in line waiting for anything, and late at night to finish up a book I’m really into. Lately I’ve read some really good books that came to me via the leader of the book club I go to. I can hardly wait to get each book because I am thrilled to read different authors and find new ones I can find more books by. I often have more than one book going and I enjoy that too. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    So much of this resonates so truly, Jennifer. I have always loved to read too, and if for some reason I can’t read just a little fiction in a day, i feel short changed and needy! that sounds very much like an addiction! 😉

    Like

  5. Neva Bodin says:

    I too read a lot, and have gotten used to the IPAD where I have 100’s of books read and yet to read. But I have learned to delete some that aren’t what I thought or lose my interest even if I feel guilty for not sticking with it in deference to the author. I used to read while chasing the milk cows home, sometimes a mile walk. Occasionally I found we all had stopped in the middle of the lane–they had sensed my inattentiveness to chasing them!

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    100% correct. Doris

    Like

  7. Gayle Irwin says:

    Just started the new Craig Johnson Longmire book “An Obvious Fact.” Hubby and I got it for our anniversary and then were blessed to hear a presentation and reading by the author and got our book autographed. A great day! (and I’m enjoying the story thus far!!)

    Like

  8. S J Brown says:

    Like you I love reading especially new authors. Most of the books I read are by authors I have met at book signings. Occasionally one disappoints me but I always plow through to the end. The worst is a really good book with a bad ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

