Dressing Up Doggie – Halloween Costumes and Our Furry Friends

Gayle_Mary_reading eventThis post by Gayle M. Irwin

Here’s a blog post similar to one I wrote for my own site last week. I hope you all enjoy it.

Today’s the day (or night) that goblins and zombies take to the streets. It’s the spookiest of holidays, and during this season, Americans love to spend money on their kids – including their furry ones. According to the National Retail Federation, the average amount spent on Halloween is about $75, on candy, decorations, and costumes.

Halloween Express lists the top 10 pet costumes. Those include Superman, Ghostbusters, bees, spiders, and lions. The NRF estimates people spend about $350 million on pet costumes, outlaying $1 for every $3 spent on children’s outfits.

According to the American Pet Products Association, Americans spent more than $60 billion on their furry friends last year and will likely spend more than that in 2016. From sweaters and raincoats to sporting team t-shirts and holiday costumes, pet clothing is big business. Practical wear is just as important as fashionista statements, maybe more so. Booties to keep paws clear of snow and ice and life jackets for outings on the boat, clothing and outdoor wear remain popular with pet parents.

For a fun, informative article on pet fashion, visit http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/fashion/dog-fashion-moves-novelty-sweaters-practical-outfits-article-1.2048335.

For a look at some cute pets in interesting Halloween costumes, see http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/holidays/halloween-ideas/g1784/popular-pet-halloween-costumes/?.

cody-fireman1

The first year Cody came to live with us, he became a fireman for Halloween.

I bought holiday scarves for Sage, my blind springer spaniel, but that’s as close as I ever got to “dressing” her. However, one year I did dress Cody my cocker spaniel as a fireman for Halloween, complete with a red hat. He wasn’t terribly thrilled, but he sure looked cute!

Pets may not be very cooperative for playing dress-up. If you plan to take your dog trick-or-treating or have your cat participate in your Halloween party, make sure you “practice” prior to the big night. Also, make sure the costume properly fits your pet, and consider breed, weight, and measurements before purchasing, and ensure your pet can see, breathe, and drink normally with the outfit on.

The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) offers some important pet safety tips for this time of year. Find those at http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/general-pet-care/halloween-safety-tips.

Some people create their own pet costumes. For ideas, visit this HGTV website: http://www.hgtv.com/design/make-and-celebrate/handmade/15-diy-pet-costumes-for-halloween-pictures

Have you ever dressed your pet for Halloween? Wishing you and your pet a safe and fun Halloween!

dog-at-halloween

Gayle M. Irwin is a freelance writer and author living in Wyoming. She creates inspirational pet stories for children and adults. She’s composed several books, including the recently released Tail Tales: Stories of Pets Who Touched My Heart and Impacted My Life.  She is currently working on two more children’s pet stories, including a humorous book about a cat trapped in a school and an educational book about dog rescue. Learn more at www.gaylemirwin.com.

bookcover_tail-tales_front-cover

 

This entry was posted in Halloween, Halloween Pet Costumes, Halloween Pet Safety Tips, pet fashion, pets, unique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dressing Up Doggie – Halloween Costumes and Our Furry Friends

  1. Doris says:

    Because my cats are black, and i’m usually doing a show, costuming is not an option, plus they have minds of their own. Still, I’ve enjoyed looking at the costumes people have put on their pets.

    Great post and good ideas. Thanks Doris

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      I would imagine cats are more difficult to dress in costume — I cannot imagine any of mine putting up with such silliness! LOL Thanks for taking time to read and comment, Doris — hope your day (and evening) went very well. (me and mine were at the cabin! LOL)

      Like

  2. Wranglers says:

    Thanks. My dogs have never liked being dressed up. Cute photos. Cher’ley

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Cody tolerated it for a time, but, as you can see, he wasn’t thrilled. LOL Haven’t tried dressing up any other pets… and probably won’t. I do find the photos of pets dressed up fun to look at though. Thanks for the read and comment, Cher’ley.

      Like

  3. Cute pictures, Gayle. My Shih Tzu loves being dressed up but I seldom do it. I think it has something to do with the breed? She wears her coats, scarves, hats and sweaters with no problem at all. I love looking at photos of costumes other people have dressed their pets in. Thanks for the great post!

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      You may be right, Linda — I believe Shih Tzu and other small breeds were sometimes used in circuses and other performance-oriented activities, so it could be “ingrained” for them to enjoy dressing up. I bet your little one looks quite adorable in her outfits. Share pictures some day please! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read and comment — I do appreciate sharing and “talking” with other pet parents! 🙂

      Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’ve seen some interesting doggy coats around and about this year but that average cost for Halloween is an incredible amount. We need to get back to making up our own costumes and decorations, methinks. Though it’s also true that someone is earning money from the huge sales.

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Isn’t it amazing how much people spend on their animals, Nancy?! I’m going to be writing a story for our weekly newspaper for publication before Christmas on how much is spent for the holidays on pets — should be an interesting and fun article (for me anyway!) Thanks for taking time to read and comment. I hope you and your family enjoyed a fun Halloween!

      Like

  5. When I was growing up, it never occurred to us kids or our parents to dress our pets for Halloween, only ourselves. Happy Halloween to you and your pets.

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Thanks, Abbie. I didn’t dress mine either when I was a kid, although I did travel on my bike with my kitty-cat in a basket. That was fun! Me and mine enjoyed a quiet Halloween — we “hid out” at the cabin! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    Cute picture of Cody. Only put a Santa hat on one of my Shar Pei’s one year for the Christmas photo. He took it off and tried to eat it.

    Like

    • wyoauthor1 says:

      Oh, Neva, how funny! Yes, what we do to our pets sometimes must make them feel ashamed, even angry! As I said, Cody wasn’t thrilled with the costume, so I didn’t keep it on him very long. I tried reindeer ears on my cat once — that REALLY didn’t go over very well! LOL Thanks for the read and comment. Hope you and your enjoyed a nice Halloween!

      Like

  7. Mike Staton says:

    I recall covering a few Humane Society Halloween parties back when I reported in SE North Carolina. There were some cute doggy costumes.

    Like

  8. Hana would never enjoy a costume! I once tried to put a sweater on her when she was a puppy. She suddenly turned into a stuffed animal and refused to walk. She moved her head around but it was like her entire body was frozen. It was pretty funny but I felt bad so took it off and never made her wear it again.

    Like

  9. S J Brown says:

    None of our dogs were ever fans of Halloween Costumes. They did come to see bandanas as appropriate for any occasion. Yes they had one for every holiday including one for Halloween that glowed in the dark.

    Like

Leave a Reply

