A CHRISTMAS CAROL by Charles Dickens post by Barbara Schlichting

IMG_3075(1)

I used to read from this book to my children when they were young. I loved it. The Victorian writing made me think of days of yore. It also made me want to visit his home in London, England. Camden.

charles_dickens-a_christmas_carol-title_page-first_edition_1843

I went visit a penpal, whom I’d been writing since we both were in our early teens. Fast forward twenty years. The quaint, little house was all one could imagine. His desk is on display, and the house is as it was in his time.

dickens_by_watkins_1858

However, Mr. Dickens brought to the attention of the government, the treatment of the poor and meek. His father had been imprisoned and Charles had little growing up. He exposed child labor, orphanages, and prison conditions through his writing. He also was one of the greatest influences in rejuvenating the spirit of Christmas.

17372620

Dickens began writing the famous novel in September 1843 with 6,000 sold by Christmas upon completion. Since then, there’s been many, many versions of the famous novel made into movies, plays and various written adaptations.

a-christmas-carol

 

I write the First Ladies Mystery series where Historical characters make Modern history.  Here’s the links to my website and blog where you can learn about my series.

Barb’s Books      First Lady blog

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A CHRISTMAS CAROL by Charles Dickens post by Barbara Schlichting

  1. I remember my father reading this to me when I was little, but it didn’t make much sense unsil I was older.

    Like

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    Interesting bit of history. And how quickly that book became popular and still strikes a note with people. Amazing writing. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Mike Staton says:

    Dickens has fascinated me as well, although I’ve not made the pilgrimage to England. I did feature a Victorian era tale during last year’s Christmas short-story marathon on my FB author’s page.

    Like

  4. I love the various versions of the story and also all the movies. Something about it strikes a chord with people. Thanks for sharing, Barbara!

    Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    You were so blessed to see this. I’d love to see it. Cher’ley

    Like

  6. Doris says:

    What a wonderful gift, to see Dicken’s special place. Thank you for sharing that experience with us. Doris

    Like

  7. Barbara,
    The book that was read to us was The Night Before Christmas. I used to know it almost by heart. Just goes to show you the power of the written word.
    – Stephen

    Like

  8. Enjoyed the post, Barbara. Charles Dickens life seems very interesting and his writings, of course, major classics.

    Like

  9. Wranglers says:

    I love the photos too. Cher’ley

    Like

  10. Nancy Jardine says:

    Hello, Babs- Dickens is a favourite author of mine and you’re right that he beings the essence of Victorian life to light- slums and high class housing, poor people and rich and all of the in betweens as well. Of course, he was also a product of his time so we must beware of taking all he says totally for granted but it’s a major feat that his stories continue to live on- warts and all.

    Like

  11. S. J. Brown says:

    Thanks for sharing, I have always found it interesting that Dickens was able to bring attention to the less fortunate and still give the reader a happy ending. My message from this story is that things can always turn around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

