Holiday Writer’s Block

Abbie J. Taylor 010This post is by Abbie Johnson Taylor.

 

Thanks to Neva Bodin for inspiring this. When I read her poem last week, for one split second, I was tempted to re-blog it but decided instead to write my own Christmas poem. The following is a mirror sonnet. I learned this form years ago from local poet Jane Wohl. It has fourteen lines, and each line has ten syllables. The first seven lines are repeated in reverse by the second seven lines. Click this link to hear me read it.

 

***

HOLIDAY WRITER’s BLOCK

 

The weather is cold, yet sunny and bright.

I sit in my chair, look out the window.

With Christmas approaching, what shall I write?

I really don’t know. I really don’t know.

There’s so much to think of, so much to do.

Presents to wrap, parties galore, oh my!

I must think of something, think of it now.

I must think of something, think of it now.

Presents to wrap, parties galore, oh my,

there’s so much to think of, so much to do.

I really don’t know. I really don’t know.

With Christmas approaching, what shall I write?

I sit in my chair, look out the window.

The weather is cold, yet sunny and bright.

***

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

Like me on Facebook.

 

This entry was posted in Creativity, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Holiday Writer’s Block

  1. Great job Abbie! I thoroughly enjoyed the poem – definitely puts me in Holiday thinking mode. Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    Clever! Loved the form and the poem that followed it. And I can relate! Glad I could inspire your talent to show.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Linda and Neva, I appreciate your comments.

    Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    There certainly is a cyclical sort of feeling about Christmas preparations, Abbie. What to do, indeed. I’ve been nursing a cold for some days and feel your poem is very apt – plenty to do but what shall I do apart from sit in my chair and think about it? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Doris says:

    Very nicely done and appropriate for this time of year Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Very clever. So many people get so flustered by the approach of Christmas they have a near-nervous breakdown.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Creative way to express your thoughts, Abbie. I learned something, too — I had never heard of a mirror poem. Thanks for sharing and for the education! Merry Christmas and I hope the creative juices flow once again — for me, too!

    Like

  8. kathywaller says:

    I love this! “I must think of something, think of it now.” That line says it all.

    And I’d never heard of a mirror sonnet. Thanks for the poem, and for introducing the form.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wranglers says:

    Great poem. Thanks, Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

  10. S. J. Brown says:

    Nice poem, Yes there are a lot of distractions this time of year. But I am confident all of us will buckle down and get back to writing after the holidays. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

