Resolution/Revolution

Post (c) Doris McCraw

Doris

We will soon be celebrating Christmas, a time of year of good will, food, fun, family and for some a time of deep connection to all that is. This is followed by New Years, and a time of new beginnings, resolutions and longer days.

The New Year comes at a time when the days are getting longer in the northern hemisphere, the sun rises higher in the sky, and we are ready to rid ourselves of the chill of winter. So also a time of resolution for what we wish to change, to accomplish, and be.

weather

A search for the definition of Resolution brings up this: a firm decision to do or not to do something.

Searching for the definition of Revolution brings up the following: a forcible overthrow of a government or social order in favor of a new system.

Now I’m not advocating overthrowing a government, or even our social order, but in the case of resolutions, I am advocating throwing over the old system of making resolutions that most of us can’t/don’t keep for a new system. So what you may ask do I wish to replace the old system with?

How about we give ourselves a break? It is silly to try to change a lifetime of habits, of learning, in one day, one week or even one month. Instead, let’s take the time to ponder where we really want to go,be and do. Let’s be realistic, let’s be pro-active and let’s be kind to ourselves and others as we make decisions.

  1. Ask yourself, what is realistic for me to achieve in said day, week, month and year
  2. Acknowledge we are human, and that life is full of interruptions
  3. Decide the one dream/hope/goal that is most important
  4. Break it down into steps/ideas that can be accomplished in a reasonable amount of time.

The system can be adjusted to each person’s needs. Through time, we know what works for us. Experience had taught us what our limits are, what our stumbling blocks are. This does not mean we don’t stretch, don’t try something new. It does mean, we don’t set ourselves up for failure.

prophecy-1

For three plus years I’ve written a haiku five days a week. I still love that poetic form, but 2017 will see me cutting back on that practice. I will replace it with writing short stories/novellas and one novel. These are realistic and achievable. Are they written in stone, NO! Life can change in a heartbeat, but having something that brings you joy, that you can share with the world, that is what my revolution against resolutions is about. Sure semantics play a part in this, but semantics, the use of words has power. Chose them wisely.

HERE IS TO A WONDERFUL, POWERFUL AND SUCCESSFUL 2017 TO EVERYONE.

Angela Raines is the pen name for Doris McCraw. Watch for the release of her novel “Josie’s Dream”, part of a series mid-January 2017. Doris also writes haiku that can be found at – http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com. Check out her other work or like her Amazon author page:http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL

the-gift-of-forgiveness-a-raines-web-3http://a.co/geUpFs2

“Never Had a Chance”

“Lost Knight, Out of Time”

“One Hot Knight” Summer Medieval Anthology
http://amzn.to/29DaO5B

“Angel of Salvation Valley”
http://amzn.to/1P4JVV8

HOME FOR HIS HEART
http://amzn.to/1GJhpSu

This entry was posted in Christmas, Goals, Resolutions and Changes, unique and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Resolution/Revolution

  1. Good post, Doris. I like the way you break down the old traditions of making New Year’s resolutions into a more doable form. I’ve always made New Year’s resolutions and have managed some and not achieved others. Your post makes me realize that perhaps it isn’t about the resolutions at all but at looking at the year ahead, knowing what you can accomplish and what you can’t, and following the path to achievement. Really enjoyed this!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Linda, thank you for your kind words. Resolutions have always been a issue with me. I’ve spent many an hour trying to find something that would work. So far the plan I wrote about seems to work for me. Just had to share. *Smile* Doris

      Like

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    I recently read some things about resolutions as well as watched a free webinar on taking control of what we hope to accomplish, which is what resolutions are…which I have trouble keeping too! Hope to share them in my next blog, but you are right about being kind to ourselves. Resolutions are usually another path to guilt for me! Good post!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Neva, I struggled with the guilt thing, then realized the guilt was getting me nowhere, hence finding something that would. Like you I just had to share. Looking forward to your next post. Doris

      Like

  3. Mike Staton says:

    A few years back when a weekly newspaper reporter, I did a story on New Year’s resolutions and incorporated some history into it. Quite fascinating… goes all the way back to at least Roman times. For myself, I don’t do resolutions, never have. I do intend to have the Civil War novel done sometime in the spring. Which reminds me… it’s time to do chapter 20’s third draft. Bye.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Mike, you brought a smile to my face. I think resolutions have been around for a long time, and sometimes old is good, and sometimes they need to go.

      Best on chapter 20. I know the story will be a good one. Doris

      Like

  4. Nancy Jardine says:

    Realistic resolutions and predictions is a great idea, Doris! My 2016 didn’t come up to scratch regarding my writing diary but I console myself that I was doing other writerly things like actually selling more of my paperbacks. I’m going to cut myself some slack and do what I can. Best wishes to you for 2017!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Nancy, I’d been in the same boat with my resolutions/goals. I didn’t like feeling bad, so I set about working out a system that allowed me to get things done, but not so lofty I couldn’t accomplish them.
      I love that you found a balance and sold more of your work. The world needs more of your stories. Best to you also in 2017. Doris

      Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    Good ideas Doris, I have just had so much going on in my life that I haven’t done hardly any writing or anything else creative, but I’m hoping to get back into it in 2017. We’ll see. Right now I’m just waiting on a new Great Grandbaby. If she doesn’t have him on her own today, the doc will probably induce tomorrow. So I will possibly have a new birth in my family by Christmas. I have been spending most of my time with my Great-granddaughter Gracie, who is 15 months old. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Cher’ley. I must say, your family is lucky to have you and each other. There is nothing more important than that.

      Here’s to your wishes for a creative 2017 coming to fruition in the best way possible. Doris

      Like

      • Wranglers says:

        Thanks Doris, that’s a sweet comment. I do love my family so much and I enjoy them. Thanks for the 2017 wishes too, and I wish you great creativity in 2017, but that will not be a problem for you. Cher’ley

        Like

  6. Love your post, Doris! Greg and I have many thoughts about 2017, and we will be making marketing and other plans regarding our respective businesses. We have one big goal: to make most of our income from the Internet and to become snowbirds! We may be passing your way in late March enroute to visiting New Mexico for a weekend of “investigating” — we will keep you posted and hope to see you in early spring — unless a blizzard interrupts our plans as we know can happen during Rocky Mountain springs! LOL Merry Christmas, my friend!

    Like

  7. kathywaller says:

    “Sure semantics play a part in this, but semantics, the use of words has power. Chose them wisely.” So right. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  8. May the new year bring you all the blessings you hope for.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    Wonderful sentiment, thanks for sharing and enjoy 2017

    Like

Leave a Reply

