Some Frivolity Once in a While

sarah-m-chenby Sarah M. Chen

It’s been kind of a struggle to get back in the swing of things, especially writing. Post-holiday blues can be partially to blame. What has helped me, though, is to allow myself a bit of the ridiculous or frivolous:

AWARD SHOWS: Yes, I’m a sucker for the award shows and January is the start of awards season.

904The Golden Globes basically launched awards season last Sunday and I enjoyed every minute of it. The Oscars is like my Super Bowl. Maybe it’s because I live in L.A. but I set aside that entire Sunday afternoon to camp out in front of my TV and watch all the stars parade by on the red carpet and then later watch the catty gossip of who was best dressed and who needed help.

moonlight_blogpost_600x300But I also love to see which film won and if it’s a small film that managed to defy all the odds and win Best Picture, I love that even more. I need to catch up on my movies but so far I’m rooting for MOONLIGHT, FENCES, and MANCHESTER BY THE SEA over the more popular LA LA LAND.

IT’S THE YEAR OF THE ROOSTER: 2813ea581235f192b69edb4c75d67a5f

Okay, Chinese New Year (January 28 this year) isn’t what I’d call ridiculous (I know my dad and stepmom wouldn’t) but not everyone believes in astrology. I read it every now and then for fun but I do appreciate Chinese horoscopes and for 2017, it advises the Pig (that’s me) to avoid Rooster chaos and take care of myself which I find encouraging. http://astrologyclub.org/boar-pig-horoscope-2017/

It’s also a year for quick wit and practical solutions after the chaos of the Year of the Monkey that was 2016 http://astrologyclub.org/chinese-horoscope/2017-year-rooster/

READ, READ, READ: Reading is most definitely not frivolous but I’ve found myself reading much more than I usually do. It was how I escaped when I was little and it still works. I usually read a book a week but lately, I’ve been reading a book every 3 days as well as short stories. The Great Jones Street app is awesome for reading a quick story on your phone while you’re stuck in line at the grocery store or the post office. And I’m not just saying that because I have a story with them, along with fellow Wrangler, Travis Richardson, who has three stories.

Check them out here: https://www.greatjonesstreet.press/

I’ve also decided that I will write more reviews of books on GoodReads and Amazon, especially if it’s a book that has less than 20 reviews and I really enjoyed it. It does make a difference and writers appreciate it. I know I do.

love-of-books

I think we all need to allow ourselves the luxury to do something frivolous without the guilt. What are your guilty pleasures? Or as I like to call them, just pleasures because life’s too short for guilt!

###

Sarah M. Chen juggles several jobs including indie bookseller, transcriber, and insurance adjuster. She has published over twenty crime fiction short stories with Shotgun Honey, Crime Factory, Betty Fedora, Out of the Gutter, and Dead Guns Press, among others. Her debut book, Cleaning Up Finn, is available now with All Due Respect Books. https://sarahmchen.com/

cleaningupfinn

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Some Frivolity Once in a While

  1. Pingback: Some Frivolity Once in a While | Sarah M Chen

  2. Doris says:

    I like the ‘pleasures because life’s too short for guilt!’. That is perfect. I don’t consider watching award shows, reading or anything that gives one pleasure while learning a cause for guilt. Watching a so-so movie, or reading a so-so book are still a means to learn. We all push ourselved to the point of exhaustion, and life is not about how far you go. Life is living, not always running. We just have to figure out what our ‘living’ is.

    Enjoy your frivolity, it’s healthy (at least I think so at my age…grin) Thanks for the reminder Sarah. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate that, Doris. You’re right. Frivolity is healthy and even if a book or movie is just OK, it’s still imparting something to us, whether it’s learning something new or feeling an emotion. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  3. Good for you. There’s nothing wrong with doing something frivolous once in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a good time of year to enjoy life with whatever makes a person happy. I’m taking time to read more, too, as well as to enjoy home, pets, and friends. Enjoy, Sarah! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great to hear, Gayle. It’s always heartwarming to spend more time with loved ones and to read and there’s nothing frivolous about that! Thanks for the comment and hope you enjoy as well!

      Like

  5. Wranglers says:

    You are an avid reader. WOW, I’m impressed. I started a novel a couple of weeks ago, read a bit and haven’t gotten back to it yet. I sleep most of January. I have SAD, if I am not doing something very active, I sleep. I love that it’s the year of the Rooster. I like quick wit and practical solutions. Great Blog. Thanks Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Cher’ley! Yes, I’ve been sleeping a lot lately too. I have been having a hard time getting up and keep hitting snooze on my alarm even without realizing it! Argh. I do love reading and am trying not to go too overboard with reading while ignoring everything else!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    Have had a habit of liking doing something frivolous but “guilty” if not making a difference somehow in what I’m doing. Still trying to reconcile that in my life since not working a regular job. Even knowing we need to “schedule” fun or frivolity into our life hasn’t quite resonated with me yet! I still do fun things, just need to get rid of the guilt now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it’s really tough to not feel the guilt and I’m still working on that. I don’t see why I should feel guilty for reading yet I find myself doing so! Thanks for reading, Neva, and hope we can both lose the guilt!

      Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    I decided not to feel guilty about reading more this year. I read a lot of fiction last year and a huge heap of non-fiction for research in 2016. I’m starting this year with the notion of reading lots of fiction and less of the research to allow myself time for writing but I’m a sad and compulsive fact checker. I write some particular word in my WIP and then immediately want to Google check to ensure it’s a realistic situation. Your astrological “avoidance of Rooster chaos’ sounds like a very good plan- for everyone. One thing I don’t do like you, Sarah, is watch the Oscars etc. TV for me is for watching dramas, history programmes and news – and not much else. I would be feeling very guilty if I’d watched ‘LaLaLand’ get it’s acclaim( I only know what I know of that from newspapers)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m the same way with research, Nancy. I can get sucked into it for hours if I allow myself and it’s one of the things I enjoy about writing. But I have to remember to keep it in check. It’s so easy to go off on research tangents! Thanks for reading and commenting, Nancy!

      Like

  8. Mike Staton says:

    Fun read, Sarah. I just watched the People’s Choice Award Show last night. I guess you could say that was a guilty pleasure in that I could have tuned in to the Science Channel or the National Geographic Channel. I definitely stayed away from Facebook.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Smart move, Mike, to stay away from Facebook. That’s been my problem is it’s too easy to get sucked in to social media and a lot of it lately is controversial and antagonistic. It’s also preventing me from writing and being in my “creative happy place.” I missed the People’s Choice Awards and I’m impressed you watched it! I heard about Johnny Depp winning movie icon (I think) and Ellen DeGeneres winning (favorite TV star?). Thanks for reading and commenting, Mike.

      Like

  9. kathywaller says:

    I’ve always felt guilty about reading so much, but I never let guilt stop me. I don’t read as much as I used to–thanks to the Internet and a laptop. Maybe the Internet is my guilty pleasure, at least when I’m not using it productively. I used to watch the Oscars, but after Cary Grant died, it wasn’t the same, so I stopped. Thanks for the post–I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kathy. It’s easy to read less with so much instant entertainment and info at our fingertips like television, the internet, and cell phones. But I look forward to reading every night before bed and for some reason, I feel guilty if I’m reading any other time. Like I’m wasting time but I shouldn’t think like that. Thanks for reading and sharing, Kathy!

      Like

  10. I do still need to set up a goodreads account. I keep hearing the word and I’m taking it must be a sign for me to make it happen. Thanks for the blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love GoodReads and you should definitely set up an account. I admit I wasn’t sure what the point of it was but since I enjoy writing reviews, I decided to keep at it. It’s a great way to network with other writers, readers, and bloggers. I used to take my GoodReads reviews very seriously but lately, I’ve relaxed a bit. I used to have reservations about Amazon (being an indie bookseller it’s kind of in my blood to hate them) but of course now Amazon owns GoodReads so I try now to do reviews on both. Thanks for the comment, Darrah!

      Like

  11. S. J. Brown says:

    I have to admit I clicked on the link and looked up my horoscope for the year. This is something I don’t usually do. Since I was born on the cusp ( I think I spelled that wrong) It is hard to know which one to read. I generally read both and take a little advice from each. This year the two are pretty similar.

    As for guilty pleasures my biggest pleasure is guilt free. I sneak off to spend time with some wild critters. Lately my spotter and I have been on different schedules so I have been cheating and heading to a nearly park to hang out with the ducks, geese, and swans.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

