The Sims as Reward

CindyCarrollEI love video games but I’m mostly a loner when it comes to playing. I don’t go for the online multi player games where I have to deal with other people even if it’s only through their avatar or their character. I’m always afraid as a newbie to those types of games that I’ll make a mistake. And when someone tries to chat with me using the chat feature I don’t know what to say. I can’t multi task while playing. So I stick to games on my computer or the PS4 that don’t require others.

screenshot-1083My game of choice has been for a long time now The Sims. I loved the original Sims even though I came late to the party on that one. They’d already released The Sims 2 when I started playing. I bought all the expansion packs for the Original Sims. I loved the ability to send my Sims on vacation. I loved that they could practice magic. I downloaded hundreds of mods so they could do other things not possible with the base game like be vampires, go to an adoption agency, work other odd jobs that the original game didn’t have. I played it for a long time to the detriment of my writing. The thing about the Sims is that it’s real life, simulated. You create your Sims, have them learn skills, get jobs, pay bills, make up stories around them. I loved creating them and giving them back stories and something to accomplish in game.

Then The Sims 3 came along. I bypassed Sims 2 and went right for 3. It was cleaner, with a more polished look that the original. A lot more options when creating your Sims. They added a lot of expansion packs so your Sims could go on vacation, go to university, have pets, become vampires, fairies, ghosts, witches, werewolves. There’s even an expansion pack that let’s you have an invisible friend. I don’t have that one installed yet but it’s on my list.

screenshot-3411The problem is I can play The Sims 3 for literally the whole day. I get sucked into sending my Sim on quests to fulfill their aspirations and their lifetime wish and before I know it the whole day has zipped by and it’s time for bed. And no writing got done. I’ve tried convincing myself I’ll only play for an hour. But that never pans out. So now I must use playing the Sims 3 as reward for finishing my novels. Notice I wrote novels not novel. Once I have a few novels completed and at least one published I will reward myself with a Sims 3 marathon.

Do you play video games? Is there something that keeps you from your to-do list?

Get free reads, new release pricing, members only contests, access to Campus (a behind the scenes website for my Standpoint Trilogy and still under construction) – sign up for my mailing list:

CalltoActionbutton3

Check out my website: http://www.cindycarroll.com
Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CindyPCarroll
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCindyCarroll
Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cindypcarroll/

newcomer-cover

I have a new story out in an anthology! The Newcomer has twelve science fiction short stories from authors across the globe.

From a young couple struggling to look after their baby to a new captain’s reluctance to take command of her ship, and from a sun-addled stranger’s appearance in town to the emergence of a sentient AI, the twelve tales presented here explore the central theme of an arrival by someone or something new. There’s even an alien puppy.

The stories are:

Tithe by Griffin Carmichael
Exodus by Alec Hutson
First Bonding by Tom Germann
Ice Dreamer by J J Green
The Nanny by Cindy Carroll
Right Hand by Jonathan C Gillespie
What Make is Your Cat? by Richard Crawford
Kaxian Duty by Cherise Kelley
Lessons Learned by J Naomi Ay
The Humra by Laura Greenwood
The Hawk of Destiny’s Fist by James S Aaron
Repulse by Alasdair Shaw

About Cindy Carroll

Cindy Carroll is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. When she’s not writing you can usually find her on Twitter.
This entry was posted in life, Time to Write and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Sims as Reward

  1. Doris says:

    Never got into the games, but my nephew did and he loved this game. I’m more of a solitaire player. Love that game.

    I also have to limit my ‘game playing’ or like you I get nothing done. *Sigh* Doris

    Like

  2. Although there are games designed for ease of use by people like me who are visually impaired, I’m not much into them. This is just as well since I would probably be in the same boat as you. You’d think, though, that the Sims game would inspire your writing by giving you story ideas.

    Like

  3. Writing takes a lot of discipline. I have to force to get off Facebook at times to get in the mode of production. It seems to work when I know the effects of a wasted day. I always wanted to try the Sims. I realize now I have no room for it. Thanks for the blog post!

    Like

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    Don’t play computer games as really don’t have time, or much interest. I like games with people involved, real people, I guess. I like that you are rewarding yourself for reaching goals, sometimes we need to do that. Good luck!

    Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    I use to play role–playing games on the computer, but gave them up to concentrate on my writing. Back then in the 1980s and 1990s, I played D&D style games. Originally, before transitioning to computers, I was part of a group that played with dice, etc. while sitting around the dining room table. That’s a long, long time ago. Oh, I forgot… I did play Farmville when I first got on Facebook back in 2009 and 2010. That’s also history.

    Like

  6. Gayle Irwin says:

    Like many of the Wranglers, I’m not a video game or computer game player. Not much of a game player period, although my husband and I sometimes play the Monopoly board game; I especially enjoy the National Parks version! The book in which you have a story sounds very interesting, Cindy — I’ll have to look into getting a copy. Congrats on your writing accomplishments!

    Like

  7. I have never heard of The Sims but admit I’m not a video game player at all. Never was one for computer games and Atari was huge when I grew up. I do love board games though, especially Scrabble. I haven’t played in a while though. I used to play Solitaire on the computer back in the day when I had a 9-5 job and I’d be bored out of my mind but that was a long time ago. My time suck is social media. It’s awful!

    Like

  8. Wranglers says:

    I’ve never heard of the Sims. I’d probably like it if I played with other people. I play Words with Friends, sometimes the Diamond game or Candy Crush. We have an X-Box, but we don’t play online games on it. This is a great post and I love the pictures. Since I’m not in a Writing Zone, too many health issues last year. Cher’ley

    Like

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    My time sucker seems to be Facebook. I don’t check the posts every day so when I do there is so much to catch up on. Lately I have been setting a timer so that I am only on line for an hour at a time. So I am generally just a little behind on reading post and I till get other things done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

