Letting Go

Post (c) Doris McCraw

Doris

Recently I removed myself from the board of the Murder Mystery company I had been with for almost twenty years. It was a choice that had been in the making for some time. Yes, it was amicable, and I’m still available if they need me, but it was time to move on.

Life is about moving on, about growing, challenging yourself. Focus changes over time, and sometimes we have to let go in order to move on. Fear of the unknown, of change, of what people might think, can freeze action. The best way to get past fear is movement. Some of which comes from the study and use of Morita Therapy in my first career. If you wish to know more: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morita_therapy

I caught the end of the animated film “Meet the Robinsons” and remembered all over again how much I’d enjoyed it and the message it contained. It was about letting go and finding your place in the world. We are never to old to re-invent who we want to be.

This song, “Small Wonders”, from the film, tells the story well. Give it a listen and let me know what you think. https://youtu.be/YKcF5k2gzH0

untold-story

Change is not always easy, we get comfortable, we get lazy, maybe even complacent. Life has a way of challenging you, of demanding the best you have. We may not be happy about it at first, but if we spend time in contemplation, we find we do have a choice. We can be happy, have sweet memories, and grow. We can also choose to be unhappy, let life get us down. The choice of how we choose to respond to the world is ours. We don’t have to agree, but we do have to be willing to be open and listen. That is the way we grow, find our happiness. “We only remember how it feels” as the song says.

You can listen to it again, with lyrics: https://youtu.be/HhZ1BdMtw_Q and “Keep moving forward!”

Angela Raines is the pen name for Doris McCraw. Doris also writes haiku posted at – http://fivesevenfivepage.blogspot.com  Check out her other work and like her Amazon author page:  http://amzn.to/1I0YoeL

 

This entry was posted in change, Happiness, Letting Go, unique and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Letting Go

  1. I know what you mean about moving on. In 2005, I quit a job I held for fifteen years as an activities assistant in a nursing home to get married and write full time. Good luck in your endeavors.

    Like

  2. Gayle Irwin says:

    Sometimes the choice is not ours to move on, but in order to not get stuck, we do need to continue a journey, even if it wasn’t anticipated. I think of a relationship I had thought would result in marriage, only to be betrayed. I had to let go, and it turned out for the better for myself (but that took awhile to accept). Recently, a magazine for which I’ve written regularly folded, and though that saddened me (and truthfully, scared me!), I’ve received several assignments from different publications this month, helping me expand my writing endeavors and helping me to grow in faith. Moving on certainly can be scary, but as you said, Doris, a growing opportunity. Great post — thanks for sharing it with us!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Gayle, that is the wonderful thing about letting go, we can move on to bigger and better things in our lives. We don’t always see it as such, but faith helps to get past those blocks and accept the new wonder in our lives. Thank you again for the words of encouragement. Doris

      Like

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    Letting go can be very hard to do, especially the hurts etc. of life. But it is so freeing and opens up opportunities never noticed before. You are so right! Your blog is easy to relate to.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you Neva. It just seemed appropriate with the events of the past month or so. You are so correct about it being hard, but oh so important. Doris

      Like

  4. Wranglers says:

    You have given me much to think about. I love the song. I have decided to add some music to our daily devotions. I think I will begin today with this song. Thanks for the thoughts on re-centering our lives. Cher’ley

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    You are welcome Cher’ley. Music has always been a part of my life, I sometime think in music; chords, prgresssions. Life is love, family, joy and letting go to move on to where we need to be. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mike Staton says:

    It gets really easy to get comfortable when you’re retired like I am now. Finances keep me on the ground here in Henderson, not able to do the long vacation excursions we always think we’re do when senior citizens. At least I can write novels. I did quite a bit of ‘moving on’ when I was younger. Lived in Ohio, Florida and North Carolina working as a newspaper reporter and a technical writer/instructional developer. I almost took a job in Saudi Arabia back about 1980, but backed out at the last moment. I’ve had friends tell me that was a mistake.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Mike, I do understand the retirement thing. Still, like you I have so much to do, especially when it comes to writing and being creative. I have so many options, and like the Murder Mystery Company, so I just have to let go of in order to try new things.

      I’ve always said we can only do the best we can at any time, but we can always improve. There were probably things you would never had experienced that led you to where you are now if you’d gone.

      Life is interesting. Doris

      Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Deciding the ‘moving on time’ is a skill and, like you say, to be learned gradually. There’s little point in continuing something of long standing if the satisfaction from it isn’t there anymore, or if the ‘job’ needs a younger person’s energy and direction. My husband is currently giving up 2 voluntary jobs that he’s done for more than 13 years but was finding them a chore. He can now devote more attention to his own study choices. Enjoy finding your new challenges!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Nancy, I wish you husband well. It isn’t easy to leave what has been a part of you life for a long time, but being honest about what it gives you is huge.

      I wish you continued success in you telling of history and your books. Doris

      Like

  8. I’m curious what the Murder Mystery company is. Is it a writer organization? It is tough to leave positions and jobs you have taken part in for a while…especially when you enjoy the company of your colleagues or coworkers. It sounds like you made the right move.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      The Murder Mystery Company, is a traveling troop of actors who create an immersive event for the audience to solve the crime. It was fun, but after almost twenty years of which over ten were on the board of directors, it was time to move on. Still, there are lots of fond memories. But life moves on, and it is great when you can move with it. Doris

      Liked by 1 person

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    Some very wise words. I am working on moving on , Well maybe at this point I am strolling, but I am moving forward. Hope you find a new endeavor to enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

