A Couple of Friends

imgp6507

 

By S. J. Brown

 

 

Since Valentine’s Day is just around the corner I thought I should write about romance.  However Hubby and I aren’t really romantic type people.  If he came home to find a candlelight dinner he would ask how long the power had been out. 

Still its a couple’s time of year so I decided to write about some wild couples I have photographed.  Photographing wild couples is not always easy.  Critters aren’t like people you can’t tell them stand close to one another and smile.  Well you can, but it won’t do you any good.

I thought I would start with a pair of Mallards I discovered along a riverbank.  Slowly I crept up on them and zoomed in for a shot of him.

s-j-brown1mallard

 She wasn’t quite close enough to get into the shot.  So I waited, and waited some more.  Finally she floated close enough to him I managed to get both of them in the lens and clicked the shutter button. 

As I stood up to walk away I heard someone behind me.  I turned to find a hunter.  He was clad in a combination of camouflage and bright orange.  In his arms was a large ominous looking gun.  This wasn’t the first time I had encountered hunters while out photographing critters and I am sure it won’t be the last.  He smiled and asked if I had seen any ducks.  I admit it I lied, and told him no. He thanked me and wandered down the path and around the bend.  

s-j-brown2mallards

Once he was a good distance away I walked closer to the water’s edge and explained to the Mallard couple they needed to go hang out somewhere else.  I took the opportunity to click the shutter button a few more times before they heeded my advice and flew off. 

It took me quite a while to photograph a pair of wood ducks I discovered floating in a pond.  They were hanging out with a group of other ducks that were happy to have their picture taken.  I was getting some nice shots of each of the wood ducks, but I couldn’t get them to hang out close enough together to share the shot until they were good and ready to pose for me. 

s-j-brown3woodducks

This next couple actually hangs out together a lot.  They are pretty easy to photograph because they live at my house.  They let me take their picture in exchange for munching on a few of my flowers. I am hoping they have babies in the spring and I get a chance to photograph them as well.

s-j-brown4rabbits Over the years I have captured a number of couples on film. These couples and I wanted to wish everyone a Happy Valentine’s Day.  Even if you aren’t part of a couple you should be treated special on Valentine’s Day, and every day because you are. 

Thanks for stopping by.

 

Connect with S. J. Brown on Facebook , be one of the first to see what she has been up and view her Sunday Shares.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sj.brown.3367

S. J. Browns coloring books feature sketches based on her photographs.

CBCover Acover

Cover 3-26-23Back Cover 4-24-2013Close up and Close Encounters is available on Amazon  at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=close+ups+%26+close+Encounters

Or get your autographed copy at S. J. Brown website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

S. J. Brown’s children’s pictures books are only available through S. J. Brown.

You can order your copies from her website S.J. Brown

Cover All the Birds I See Cover

 

This entry was posted in animal stories, Animals, author, birds, Camera, Ducks, environment, images, photographer, photographs, photography, photos, Puffins, Swans, unique, Valentine's Day, visual arts, Wild, Wildlife, wildlife photographer, wildlife photographs, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Couple of Friends

  1. Wranglers says:

    Loved it, beautiful couples. You are so talented. Thanks. Cher’ley

    Like

  2. Gayle Irwin says:

    A very special post, Sue — thanks so much for sharing! You have a very special gift and I’m glad you’re rewarded for your endeavors with these lovely photos. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your hubby, whether it’s a romantic setting or simply spending time together — having a “special friend” to share “special moments” with is a blessing.

    Like

  3. S. J. Brown says:

    Glad you liked it. Our Valentines Day plans were rained out today. But that is Okay we will regroup and make a new plan.

    Like

  4. I’m not sure I’d want to be photographing wildlife during hunting season. It’s a good thing the hunter didn’t think you were a duck. Of course I wouldn’t want to be out photographing at any time because with my limited vision, any pictures I would take wouldn’t be worth much.

    I like your post anyway. The swans reminded me of the song, “The Twelve Days of Christmas,” in which the seven swans are swimming. Good luck in your endeavors.

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      Unfortunately if I want to photograph critters year round I have to deal with hunters. I have no issues with those that hunt legally and responsibly, but not everyone does. Of course now every time I look at that Swan photo I will think of Christmas.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mike Staton says:

    You have more courage than me out photographing during hunting season. Don’t become some over-eager hunting shooting away before he verifies what he’s shooting at. Like the others, though, you’re an amazing person with two fantastic talents. I can write pretty good, but I’m not so good with a camera in my hand. I did get by when a weekly newspaper writer taking my own photographs.

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      Thanks Mike. Hunters can also be great guides during the off season. There are hunting seasons throughout a lot of the year and finding places that don’t allow hunting isn’t always easy especially when I am away from home. So hunters are just a fact of life for me.

      Like

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    Loved your combining your photography with Valentine’s Day! Great way to bring it up. And I enjoyed the shots and the stories you wove into the blog. I understand your “lying” about seeing ducks. Glad the hunter was redirected. I understand both sides, have even been a hunter as a kid, but find myself rooting for the animals now.

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      I have no issues with hunters that follow the rules and eat their kill, its the ones that break the rules by baiting animals or hunting where it isn’t allowed that piss me off. Yes I always root for the critters as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Doris says:

    Special and beautiful. Thank you also for lying to the hunter! You have a wonderful Valentine’s Day and here’s to some great photos this year. Doris

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      Thanks Doris. I have also been known to scare off a critter or two and spoil a hunters chances of taking a shot. You have a great Valentines Day also.

      Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    S.J. – The puffin and swan couples are so cute! I have a pair of magpies in my garden that I love seeing just now but I can never get any photographs of them. Your photos are fabulous!

    Like

  9. kathywaller says:

    I Iike your photos. It must take a great deal of patience, along with hard work, to get good photos of wild animals. A friend used to go deer hunting but now takes a camera rather than a gun. That’s my kind of hunting.

    Like

  10. S. J. Brown says:

    I like your friend already. Photographing wildlife is really a mixed bag. Some days it is hard work, others it is luck or timing.Glad you liked the photos.

    Like

  11. I really don’t like hunting…the idea of it…but I do understand it if it’s for food. It still upsets me. Thank you for the gorgeous photos. Lovely sweet post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

