Procrastinate? Who Me? by Cher’ley

     This blog by Cher’ley Grogg

A farm boy accidentally overturned his wagonload of corn on the road. The neighbor who lived nearby came to investigate. “Hey, Willis,” he called out, “forget your troubles for a spell and come on in and have dinner with us. Then I’ll help you get the wagon up.” 

“That’s mighty nice of you,” Willis answered, “But I don’t think Pa would like me to.” 

“Aw, come on, son!” the neighboring farmer insisted. 

“Well, okay,” the boy finally agreed. “But Pa won’t like it.” 

After a hearty dinner, Willis thanked his host. “I feel a lot better now, but I just know Pa is going to be real upset.” 

“Don’t be foolish!” exclaimed the neighbor. “By the way, where is he?” 

“Under the wagon.”    

                 
.

 

 

What to do When Life Gets in the Way!

I chunk it out–doing as much as I can in one setting, and then returning as often as necessary. Admittedly, I procrastinate, which drives me crazy. I AM NOT A PROCRASTINATOR. I Am Not a Procrastinator. I am not a procrastinator. I like to have everything done ahead of time, but life happens.

If I were not a procrastinator, I would not have almost 2000 emails in my email InBox, and none of them are spam. Maybe I will get some of them sorted later tonight. After I … But, on more important issues, (like writing a blog post), I typically do not procrastinate, except for this one.  I had most of it done, but here I sit in a rest area in Texas, in the middle of nowhere finishing my blog.

In 2016 I made a decision to not start on any new projects, and I didn’t (except for a short story for Prairie Rose Press), but neither did I finish any that I had started. So this year I will be doubling down. It will be easier since I will be writing more blogs for Writing Wrangler and Warriors. That forces me to be sitting at the computer. It’s amazing that sometimes the busier a person is the more they can get accomplished.

stop wishing, start doing royalty-free stock photo

 Ways to Overcome Procrastination

1.-Set Goals -A necessary component of effective goal-setting is to choose a goal that is challenging enough to be interesting but not so difficult as to be unattainable. There is a risk of fatigue through time invested or effort expended toward your goal, and disappointment if the goal is too challenging and or not met.

2.- Plan for Interruptions-One of the easiest ways to do this is to plan breaks. Only check Facebook or Twitter when on a break. (Set time for your break-15 minutes, ½ hour, all day), whatever, but stick to your goals. Unexpected interruptions- regroup. Make your next project shorter so you have more time to finish the one you’re on.

3.-Set deadlines for at least a day ahead of time, perhaps 2 days or a week. (I always figure this blog is due at least a day before it actually is due–then I post it early and set the scheduler)

Here’s a link to 15 more ways to help with Procrastination.

***Do you say, “I am not a Procrastinator”? Then… you end up being late on your projects or deadlines? How do you handle Procrastination or Interruptions? ***

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors.

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

All About the Girls 5(3)

Fans of Cher'ley Grogg,AuthorAnd please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE
This entry was posted in unique and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Procrastinate? Who Me? by Cher’ley

  1. Like you, I try to get things done ahead of time, and I follow many of your suggestions. Now that I’m no longer a family caregiver, not procrastinating is easer.

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Abby, you bless my heart. That’s what we’re all about encouraging each other on this blog and on the web page, glad glad you have a little time now to work on your stuff. Thanks again. Cher’ley

      Like

  2. Doris says:

    I don’t say I procrastinate, I say I’m pondering and percolating on the project. However, I do have schedules and do my best to keep them. (Depending on who you talk to. *Smile*). I must to okay, for I’ve met most of the items scheduled on the calendar. *Whew*.

    Really good post, with some amazing information. Doris

    Like

  3. Neva Bodin says:

    I find I am a procrastinator, for various reasons. I get really motivated right before a deadline. And now that I retired from nursing, it’s harder as no one else is giving me deadlines, and I’m too easy on myself! I am inspired by your post, and wonder how many of us have an issue with this. Loved your joke. Glad you are back.

    Like

  4. Mike Staton says:

    Sometimes one just has to procrastinate, take some time to catch one’s breath and enjoy the smells and views of spring. I’m taking a breather right now as I await the next step in publishing the Civil War novel — that is, except for writing the occasional short story or update on my author’s page. Procrastinate? Yep.

    Like

  5. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’m very good at procrastinating but when I don’t do the procrastinating thing and set aside my blog commenting in favour of using the time for new writing then I end up being seriously behind with my blog commenting …as I am just now. It’s a circle with no end in sight just now since my writing task time is even less than usual. Good luck with keeping on track, Cher’ley.

    Like

  6. Gayle Irwin says:

    We all have such busy lives: some of us are still working a “regular job” and trying to fit in writing, some have more than one job and having to juggle, and some have many interests to balance with regular life (which may also include a ‘day job’) in addition to our writing and reading of blogs, taking webinars, going to conferences, etc. etc. I don’t know if it’s so much procrastination or just “really, really busy.” Thanks for the tips and encouragement, Cher’ley!

    Like

  7. I’m a huge procrastinator and I write everything down that I want to accomplish which helps me. I love crossing things out when I’ve completed them. It feels very satisfying! It’s very true about getting more done the busier you are. I don’t know why. Maybe when you have less to do, you think “oh I have plenty of time to do that later” and then the day is over whereas if you’re really busy, you think “I’d better do it now or it’ll never get done” and then you just do it.

    Like

  8. Cher’ley,
    As you can see I’m a procrastinator as I’m just getting to your blog.
    I have two kinds of procrastinations – The things I want to do but just have a tough starting but love it when I’m there, like writing. Then there’s the things I don’t want to do and will not enjoy it even though it has to be done. I’m working more on the former than the latter.
    – Stephen

    Like

    • Wranglers says:

      Thanks Stephen. I think there’s a difference between just not having enough time to do everything we want to do and procrastination. I think your latter list is procrastination. LOL and mine too. Thanks for coming back to read. Cher’ley

      Like

  9. kathywaller says:

    Good post, Cher’ley, and good ideas. Unfortunately, it doesn’t matter when I begin a writing project, my brain doesn’t kick in until the deadline nears. And I don’t have a good sense of time. I’ve been told that’s the way I’m wired. Knowing about wiring doesn’t make accomplishing things easier, but I guess I’ve become resigned to my method. From now on, I’ll think of that last-minute tension and fatigue as being under the wagon. Today I have to work on a story I began a year ago, but it’s been percolating.

    Like

  10. S. J. Brown says:

    I find giving myself deadlines seems to work best for me. Photo proposals take a bit of time to do so I do one a week. Admittedly some weeks I don’t send one off until Friday. I also use travel plans as a deadline. Getting a certain number of projects done before I hit the road etc. Thanks for the new ideas to make me more productive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

