April showers bring May flowers?

img_3160

Have you ever wondered where some of the old sayings came from?  I have.  I recently looked up April showers bring May flowers and here are two lyrics from well-known performers.

Here’s two from well-known singers–

Life is not a highway strewn with flowers
Still it holds a goodly share of bliss
When the sun gives way to April showers
Here is the point you should never miss

Though April showers may come your way
They bring the flowers that bloom in May
So if it’s raining have no regrets
Because it isn’t raining rain you know, it’s raining violets
And where you see clouds upon the hills
You soon will see crowds of daffodils
So keep on looking for a blue bird
And list’ning…

Al Jolson

When April showers may come your way
They bring the flowers that bloom in May
So when it’s raining have no regrets
Because it isn’t raining rain you know
It’s raining violets
And when you see clouds up on a hill
You know they’ll bring crowds of daffodils
So just keep looking for a bluebird
And listening for his song
Whenever April showers come along
And when you see clouds up on the hill
You know there’ll be crowds of daffodils
So just keep looking for a bluebird
And listening for his song
Whenever April showers come a-long…

Judy Garland 

 

I have a published poetry and am interested in where different ‘sayings’ come from.

I write the First Lady Mystery Series and also publish children’s picture books under the name of Barbie Marie.

My website is:Barb’s Books   Please follow my First Lady blog: First Lady Blog  Facebook page

 

 

This entry was posted in Blogs, Calendar, celebrities, Childhood Memories, history; origins; name changes, unique. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to April showers bring May flowers?

  1. Barb,
    I too love to learn the origin or words and phrases. It’s fascinating. Thanks for sharing.
    – Stephen

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    These pieces of history are so fun. Thank you. Doris

    Like

  3. It’s funny you should mention “April Showers.” At least twice a month, I play my guitar and sing at nursing homes and other senior facilities. “April Showers” just happens to be one rthe songs I’ll be performing tomorrow at an assisted living center.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    Such a common saying but I never knew where it came from. Have heard it since I was a little girl. Thanks for the information/history lesson!

    Like

  5. Mike Staton says:

    I was running the April showers bring May flowers in my head earlier this month. Why? I happened to be walking along the walkway from the garage to the front door when I noticed flowers blooming. In Vegas/Henderson, that saying doesn’t apply. Lol.

    Like

  6. kathywaller says:

    I enjoyed your post. I knew a line here and a line there but had never seen the complete lyrics. I wouldn’t mind some April showers here, but most of our wildflowers bloom in April anyway, so I suppose we’re covered. I wouldn’t mind some May showers, though.

    Like

  7. Wranglers says:

    I always think of April Showers bringing May Flowers, that helps to tolerate all the rain in April. Thanks for the lyrics. Cher’ley

    Like

  8. Nancy Jardine says:

    I’m singing along to the words and looking out at the April showers that made me rush out to take in my laundry that was almost dry on the line. Yes, Barb, it’s good to find out where phrases originated.

    Like

  9. Thanks for that bit of history and trivia — love saying the saying but never knew about the songs you mentioned. I’m enjoying seeing the April flowers in my community right now! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

