Oh my… Sports, sports, sports

Mike Staton

My name’s Mike Staton, I’m a sports fan, and I wrote this post.

The first few days of April are bonanza days for the sports fan.

Okay, I know what women authors are thinking: What? Sports! Mike has to be out of his mind. I don’t want to read about sports. I hate sports. Mike, my friend, you’ll be lucky to get one comment.

But hey… I’m a gambler. I’m willing to take a chance.

Back to the beginning. The first days of April are a jackpot for sports fans. Here’s why.

Tar Heels

The NCAA National Basketball Tournament is always a must-see event for a sports fan. This year the North Carolina Tar Heels got the trophy.

The NCAA Basketball Tournament’s semi-final games took place on Saturday, April 1, followed by the championship game on Monday, April 3. Here’s a hint why I’m a happy man: Before moving to Vegas, I lived in North Carolina for twenty-five years. And the University of North Carolina Tar Heels clawed their way to a national championship, outlasting Gonzaga 71-65.

You just can’t live in North Carolina for a quarter century and not become a fan of college basketball – there’s the Tar Heels, Duke, North Carolina State, and Wake Forest. In the workplace, many of my friends were graduates of one of those universities and the friendly rivalries always spilled into the cubicles.

Dodgers win

I’ve been a huge LA Dodgers fan since the early 1960s when I lived in Rialto, California. April is the start of the baseball season, and the Dodgers opened the season with a win.

April’s also the month when the professional baseball season gets underway following spring training and exhibition games. My teams, the Cleveland Indians and the Los Angeles Dodgers, played their first games of the season on Monday, April 3. Cleveland staged a late rally to defeat the Texas Rangers 8-5. In Chavez Ravine, the Dodgers clubbed four homeruns, including a grand slam, to overwhelm the Padres 14-3. Baseball’s best pitcher, Clayton Kershaw, got the win.

I know at least one of the bloggers for Writing Wranglers & Warriors is glad baseball season’s underway. That’s Gayle Irwin, whose husband is a big St. Louis Cardinals fan. The Cards won their first game 4-3 over last year’s World Champions, the Chicago Cubs. That makes me gloriously happy, since the Cubs beat the Indians in the World Series (the Cubs are now my team to hate, and after them, the Yankees).

Draft Day2

April also means the NFL draft. I always enjoy the draft, seeing who the Browns pick. This year the club has the No. 1 draft choice thanks to a 1-15 record. It takes endurance to be a Browns fan. Oh by the way, the draft takes place at the end of April.

And lest we forget about NFL football… the end of April heralds the 2017 draft, always a must-see for the serious football fan. The Cleveland Browns, my team since the mid-1960s, has the No. 1 draft choice thanks to a dismal 1-15 record. Yes, it takes perseverance and a touch of insanity to be a Browns fan. It’s still about two weeks until the draft. They’re going to be long days, since I can’t wait to see who the Browns draft.

Did you see that the Raiders are going to move to Las Vegas? They’ll play in a $1.9 billion domed stadium near the Vegas Strip. The Raiders have to buy the land and build the stadium. They’ll start playing in Vegas in 2019. The NFL owners OK’d the move in late March. That’s news is sure to fire me up for the draft later in April.

# # #

I’m an author with three fantasy novels to my credit – The Emperor’s Mistress, Thief’s Coin and Assassins’ Lair. The books make up a trilogy titled Larenia’s Shadow. A fourth novel, this one a historical romance, is scheduled for publication in October. It’s called Blessed Shadows Dark and Deep. All my novels can be purchased via the website of my publisher, Wings ePress, as well as the websites of Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Oh my… Sports, sports, sports

  1. Doris says:

    Okay, here’s a comment. Don’t care about baseball, unless I was playing it. Basketball, Supersonics when one of the alumni from my college was playing center. Soccer–just learning that one, with a team here.

    Football, I understand your pain——-Da’ Bears. Yes, it takes patience to be a fan of your favorite team.

    Enjoy your Spring, for the rest of the year has some major games coming up. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Staton says:

      Never much of a NHL or soccer fan. I do pay attention to soccer’s world cup. And when the Raleigh NHL team was in the Stanley Cup ten years ago or so, I watched the games. And who could forget the 1980 Winter Olympics and the U.S. hockey team winning the gold.

      Like

  2. I live in hockey land and the hockey state, but it was an interesting blog. Thanks!

    Like

  3. My late husband was an avid Colorado Rockies fan. Now, the house is pretty quiet without the roar of an excited crowd and the radio anouncer’s banter.

    Like

  4. kathywaller says:

    Although I am of the female persuasion, I liked your post. I’m not a big sports fan, but I’ve had some good experiences with them. I like high school girls’ basketball–the old-fashioned half-court kind, where there was tension every time the ball crossed the center line. The reasons for making girls play half-court were silly, but the game was more interesting (I sat on the bench and watched). When I was an infant, I was a big fan of Mickey Mantle, and I enjoyed baseball until they started having “altercations” on the field (that wouldn’t be tolerated in second-graders). I stayed away from high school football because I spent the whole time worrying about my students getting hurt. And–although people laugh when I say this–I like to watch golf on television; the announcers speak quietly and calmly, and the crowd murmurs. And so far, I’ve never seen an altercation.

    Like

    • Mike Staton says:

      When a young newspaper reporter in the 1970s, part of my job included covering some football and basketball games. People sure take their high school sports seriously. That was in Central Ohio. After decades of not covering any HS games, I again helped out when I worked for a NC weekly newspaper.

      Like

  5. Nancy Jardine says:

    Sports were important to me as a teenager and I played a lot of different ones, field hockey continuing into my early college years. I taught primary netball as an after school class when I was a teacher, but now I’m not involved in anything- not even watching on the telly!

    Like

    • Mike Staton says:

      Netball? Do you mean volleyball? Colleges have field hockey, but I have never covered a game. Back when I was a teenager, my mom’s high school played in the state basketball championship in Columbus, Ohio. My grandmother couldn’t stand the tension of the game, and had to leave her seat and retreat to where she couldn’t see the game. That was back in 1966.

      Like

  6. Wranglers says:

    I’m not a big sports fan, but my family is. My kids and grandkids are very much into sports of any kind. If it has a ball, my son played it growing up. My brother played in semi-pro baseball, and my granddaughters boyfriend plays college baseball. So no matter who we visit we get to watch sports. Live sports are of interest to me if we have someone playing in them. We have stopped to watch T-ball without knowing any of the kids, and we went to a big Hockey game in Tampa, that was fun. I got to do a lot of yelling, which was always frowned upon when my grandkids were playing in sports. Thanks for the update. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Mike Staton says:

      Yep, lots of mom and grandmas have to go to the kids’ games. My sister and our mom went to basketball, volleyball and softball games, since Jody’s daughters played sports. I went to a few when I was in Ohio visiting. Now they’re all grown up… the youngest is now 30. Quinn, the middle one, has two boys, the oldest 4 years old. Soon, there will be T-ball and kids’ football and basketball. They live in Charlotte.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wranglers says:

        And skip the cycle repeats. Our son was chosen to go international in soccer, but he refused because we didn’t have the money. Our youngest grandson got a soccer scholarship, but got an injury right before it started, so he went in the military instead. Cher’ley.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Neva Bodin says:

    “In his time with the Cleveland Indians, Travis Hafner established himself as one of the best and most feared hitters in the American League. With massive power and the ability to hit for average, “Pronk” was a staple in the middle of the Tribe lineup for many years, leading the Indians to a near-American League pennant in 2007. Although Hafner was plagued by injuries near the end of his career, he will always be remembered as one of the best pure power hitters to ever don a Cleveland Indians uniform.” Got that info from the internet at isportsweb.com. Travis is about a first cousin twice removed to me. His grandma and my mom were double cousins. I don’t know him personally although he grew up about 15 miles from our family farm where I grew up. However, I am not a sports fan. did enjoy playing softball as a youngster in country school and with neighbors who came to visit. Got conked in the back of the head by a bat being swung by a cousin one time–a baptism of sorts maybe into the sport. Didn’t take if it was! You got lots of comments on this–from the females no less! You are a versatile man.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Staton says:

      Funny that you should mention Travis Hafner. About 15 years ago, I went to an Indians game in Cleveland with a friend and I bought a Pronk bobble-head doll. I have it packed away in the closet along with all my sports memorabilia. When I was 9 and playing organized baseball for the first time, I was running the bases and trying to slide into home plate when a thrown ball conked me on the head. Didn’t hurt, since I had on a batting helmet. Stunned me, though. Just 9, I cried.

      Like

  8. I’m a huge basketball fan and LOVE the Lakers (even when they’re not doing so hot – I refuse to be a traitor and root for Lob City). I get excited for March Madness every year too, although once UCLA loses, then not so much. I long for the days when UCLA make it at least to the Sweet Sixteen. I watched this year until they lost. Baseball is absolutely the most boring sport to me, sorry. I can’t stand it. Football I don’t like either and can’t understand why L.A. needs two football teams. Hockey is another one of my favorites. I love going to Kings games but don’t watch hockey on TV. I did ballet for 13-14 years when I was young so wasn’t involved with sports, although I did play varsity tennis in high school. Thanks for the fun post, Mike.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Staton says:

      I’ve always liked UCLA. I guess I caught the ‘fan’ bug in the 1964-65 period when I still lived in Southern California, and the Bruins were beginning their Wooden-era dynasty. I didn’t play tennis in high school. Started playing it in college and played for many years. Also joined an indoor racquetball club back when I lived in Ohio and enjoyed the sport immensely.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ah, Mike, I have to have my husband read this! 🙂 Yes, we’ve been watching Cardinal ballgames; in fact, we watched the one you wrote about! Greg watched his alma mater Purdue in the early basketball playoffs, but after they lost, no more of that (his older brother attended Duke, by the way!) 🙂 So, though neither he nor I are big basketball fans and we NOT football fans one-iota, we’re both happy Major League Baseball is back! LOL Thanks for a fun post and a nod my way!!

    Like

    • Mike Staton says:

      It’s kind of funny… Sarah just wrote that baseball bores her, and here you are writing about how much Greg and you enjoy watching Cardinals games. I’m with you. I’ve loved baseball since I was a knee-high kid. Some of my best childhood memories was playing at the local San-Ri Little League Park in Rialto. My dad coached a team, my mom was scorekeeper. How could I not love baseball.

      Like

Leave a Reply

