Book Festival Season is Here

by Sarah M. Chen

I’m seeing posts about how “it’s that time of year!” Or “Spring is in the air!” Unfortunately, in L.A., seasons all blend together, and sure, I’m noticing a few more flowers but it’s definitely not the spring vibe of almost anywhere else in the country. Actually, I learned recently that because of all the rain we’ve had, there are more bugs than usual. Yuck. Not something that makes me excited for spring (unless it’s Superbeetle of course!)

But I can think of one aspect of spring that has me excited—books! April is the start of book festival season and since I work as a bookseller, this month is always our busiest time of year. I know I can’t plan anything during April or else I earn the wrath of my manager. April 1 was Literary Orange which launches our official Book Festival Season followed by the Pasadena Festival of Women Authors on April 8. The next two festivals that close out April, the LA Times Festival of Books and YALLWEST are free and draw thousands of people. I look forward to these two all year.

Here’s a bit of history on the LA Times Festival of Books: It originally started in 1996 at the UCLA campus which is MUCH better than its current location, USC (yes, I’m biased because I’m a Bruin). The festival is the largest book festival in the U.S. and around 150,000 people come every year. The LA Times Book Prizes which actually began in 1980 now coincides with the festival. There are multiple stages, like the Cooking stage, the Children’s stage, the Music stage, and the Poetry stage. There is a Mystery/Crime Fiction section which is where I have always spent the majority of my time, although for the past two years I was in the YA and Kid’s section because I worked the Harper Collins Children’s booth and the Disney Publishing booth, respectively.

Last year at the Disney booth. I was having fun despite the look on my face. That year, it was pouring rain plus our computer system crashed!

I have a special relationship with LATFOB (as I refer to it). My first time attending was 2006. I was fresh out of a divorce and eager to start a new chapter in my life. I made a decision that I was going to take this writing thing seriously instead of writing stories here and there but not doing anything with them. I stumbled upon the Sisters in Crime booth and met Darrell James. He was so friendly that he convinced me I should attend a Sisters in Crime meeting. I wasn’t sure I even wanted to write crime fiction (although I enjoyed reading it) but I did go to a meeting. And then another. I wrote my first crime fiction short story. My goal was to one day sign at LATFOB and then in 2008, my dream came true. I was thrilled.

The “Little Sisters” anthology writers and a new fan – 2008

James Ellroy at The Mystery Bookstore booth – 2010

My love affair with LATFOB shifted when I went from festival participant to worker/slave. That started in 2010 when I was a bookseller for The Mystery Bookstore. I met James Ellroy which is something I’ll never forget.

Joseph Wambaugh signing at the MWA booth – 2012

After that, I started working for Mysterious Galaxy, another indie bookstore. This year, I’ll be signing at the Sisters in Crime booth which I’ve been doing for the past 9 years. But in addition, I’ll be signing at the MG booth which makes me feel “I’ve made it” as an author. And yes, even though I work for MG, it’s tough to get a signing slot at their booth and this will be my first time.

After the craziness and excitement that is LATFOB, the following weekend is YALLWEST. This is another huge festival and it’s all things YA (hence lots of screaming tweens). The original is YALLFEST which is in Charleston, SC. The organizers realized they needed to have one on the West Coast, especially since they’re both from here so YALLWEST was born. It didn’t launch until 2015 in Santa Monica and Mysterious Galaxy wasn’t the official bookseller until 2016 and me, a crazed nerdy YA fan, was ecstatic. It was a REALLY big event last year and I was dog tired after the weekend but it was a happy tired. I think we didn’t know what to expect and now we do (did I mention screaming tweens!?).

I’m gearing myself up mentally, emotionally, and physically for both of these festivals. What I love most is being surrounded by so many people who love books. It’s a wonderful feeling.

How about you? Any book festivals in your area or other festivals that you look forward to?

###

Sarah M. Chen juggles several jobs including indie bookseller, transcriber, and insurance adjuster. She has published over twenty crime fiction short stories with Shotgun Honey, Crime Factory, Betty Fedora, Out of the Gutter, and Dead Guns Press, among others. Cleaning Up Finn, her noir novella with All Due Respect Books, is a 2017 Lefty finalist and IPPY award winner. https://sarahmchen.com/

This entry was posted in Book Festivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Book Festival Season is Here

  1. Pingback: Book Festival Season is Here | Sarah M Chen

  2. Sounds great. Wish I could be there! Have a great time. 🙂
    –Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Michael! It’s always a fabulous time, albeit exhausting. I’ll be dead tired Sun evening. Usually takes me a day to recover. Thanks for reading and commenting and sharing on your blog!

      Like

  3. Mike Staton says:

    If I lived closer than Vegas, I’d go to the LA Times Festival of Books. Sounds like lots and lots of fun. I need to check out and see if there are any book festivals in Vegas. I do know that the Henderson Writers Group holds a conference every year. I did click on the Superbeetle link… wow, a giant beetle taking a bath in the bathtub.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, that’s the cover of my children’s book! Mike, there actually is a book festival in Vegas! I wanted to go last year because I happened to be in Vegas while it was going on but we had limited time. I only knew about it because SoCal MWA was sponsoring a booth there. It’s in October and called the Vegas Valley Book Festival and here’s the link: http://www.vegasvalleybookfestival.org/about/ You should check it out!

      Like

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    Sounds like mega excitement coming your way. Was so encouraged by all the tweens attending. Sounds like a great place for an author to be for many reasons. Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Barb says:

    Book festivals are fun! Thanks for the post and enjoy the fair share ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Doris says:

    Oh what fun. I’ve worked a couple of events here in Colorado, but not to the numbers you have there. An author friend, who divides her time between CO and CA does attend the LA festival.

    I am so happy for you, and wish you the best in this ‘festival’ season. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Doris! I’m gearing up for it, especially in regards to the weather. It’s supposed to be in the high 80s, low 90s tomorrow! Yikes. Hopefully the booth I work won’t face in the sun for too long.

      Like

  7. wyoauthor1 says:

    Your excitement rivers through your post, Sarah; thanks for the wonderful information about the festivals and for your enthusiasm. I hope you get to touch many lives with your various books and your excitement for story. I’ve never been to a book festival per se, but have attended conferences. Wyoming used to have a “Festival of the Book,” but the event evaporated just as I was coming on-scene as an author. I’ve looked into Montana’s in the past and perhaps should do so again. Thanks for the encouragement and all the best to you with the festivals and your books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Gayle! Yes, it’s always great to attend book festivals and I find it renews my enthusiasm for books (as if it needed it!). It’s quite a different experience working it as it is being an attendee. Sometimes I miss those days where I could just wander around the campus and attend panels and sit in a shady place and map out my schedule for the day, but then I’d probably miss working the festival then too.

      Like

  8. Wranglers says:

    Sarah you look happy in most of the photos. It’s wonderful that you can attend all these festivals. It’s always fun meeting someone famous. Thanks for sharing. Cher’ley

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, a big part of the festival are all the celebrities. I’ve seen John Cusack, Henry Winkler, and Molly Ringwald as they plug their books. For me, it’s meeting my literary heroes like Ellroy, Don Winslow, and Joseph Wambaugh. One year I worked the booth and sat behind Don Winslow while he was signing. We bonded over how annoying it was to be next to the poetry stage because they can get REALLY loud and creative with their performances. Thanks for reading and commenting, Cher’ley.

      Like

  9. Sarah,
    I’m commenting after all the festivals have passed. I see you survived. I too yearn for the days when I would go to the LATFOB at UCLA at 9am, get a program and see what panels or talks I could attend. I actually got excited to see so many people still interested in books and I mean all kinds of books. Though I did get to sign at the Sisters in Crime booth I begrudgingly had to leave right after to back to work at the Magic Store. I had no time to wander about and find some new and different booths.
    Thanks for the post.
    – Stephen

    Like

  10. S. J. Brown says:

    Sounds like you are going to be wonderfully busy, Enjoy

    Like

Leave a Reply

