Seize the Moment by Cher’ley

 

This blog by Cher’ley Grogg

A young soldier and his commanding officer got on a train together. The only available seats were across from an attractive young women who was traveling with her grandmother. As they engaged in pleasant conversation, the soldier and the young woman kept eyeing one another; the attraction was obviously mutual. Suddenly the train went into a tunnel and the car became pitch black.

Immediately two sounds were heard: the “smack” of a kiss, and the “whack” of a slap across the face. The grandmother thought “I can’t believe he kissed my granddaughter, but I’m glad she gave him the slap he deserved.”

The commanding officer thought, “I don’t blame the boy for kissing girl, but it’s a shame that she missed his face and hit me instead.”

The young girl thought, “I’m glad he kissed me, but I wish my grandmother hadn’t slapped him for doing it.”

And as the train broke into the sunlight, the soldier could not wipe the smile off his face. He had just seized the opportunity to kiss a pretty girl and slap his commanding officer and had gotten away with both!

Now, that young soldier knew how seize the opportunity! In the same way, we must take advantage of every opportunity that comes our way to fulfill our purpose in life.

Unfortunately, many times we get so caught up in the details of every day to day living that we just don’t have the time to seize the moment!

My work days have filled my time. I drive 11 hours a day, get a bite to eat, and drop into bed. When I’m not driving, eating, and sleeping—I’m cleaning the truck, doing the laundry, and shopping for supplies. I am determined to find some time to write. Optimistically, I bought my clogging shoes, and my watercolor supplies on the road with me this time. I haven’t had the time to do much of anything. That being said, this weekend I get to see my Grandson, his wife, and my two youngest great grandchildren.

Image result for Carpe Diem

Seize the moment. Sometimes we have to grab a moment here or therImage result for Carpe Dieme. I know each person reading this is probably doing the same thing. No matter your interest, life gets in the way.

 

Do the characters in a book seize the moment? I think they do. I am working on the sequel to “Stamp Out Murder”, “Cancel Out Murder” and the main character is seizing the moment. After all the calamity, and uproar over the murder, he tries to concentrate on a pre-planned fishing trip. I’m hoping to finish this book by the end of the year. In the meantime, James is busy learning to make friends and secure his love interest, and his interest in antiques, and stamps. He’s a major collector, and a crime solver.

Seize the moment. What catches your moments in between the adventure called life?

Cher’ley’s Books are listed below and on sale at Amazon and local bookstores. And she has a new one that is freshly published with 11 other authors.

Stamp Out Murder”.
 The Secret in Grandma’s Trunk” This is an especially good book for your Tween Children and Grandchildren
The JourneyBack 3The Journey Back-One Joy at a Time and the B&W Edition of The Journey Back
Boys Will Be Boys   The Joys and Terrors of Raising Boys-An Anthology
 Cowboys, Creatures, and Calico 

All About the Girls 5(3)

Four Moons and Fair Ladies Four Moons and Fair Maidens

Memories from Maple Street U.S.A: Pawprints on My Heartlink coming soon
And please join me on my Facebook Fanpage, that’s managed by one of my most faithful fans: Cindy Ferrell
Here’s a link to Cher’ley’s WEBSITE
This entry was posted in activities, adventure, anticipation, Moments, unique and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seize the Moment by Cher’ley

  1. Gayle Irwin says:

    Great post, Cherley, and wonderful words of wisdom. I find time truly does fly and I have little opportunity to write. So much vies for our attention, so we need to be intentional with our time. Safe travels and thanks for an encouraging post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the anecdote at the beginning. Good luck finding time to write.

    Like

  3. Mike Staton says:

    I’ve always liked Carpe Diem. Seize the Day. I’m pretty satisfied with my life right now. But I do have to admit… there are a few things I wished I had done differently when I was in my 20s and 30s. If someone sends me a time machine, I might try to have a go at it. Lol.

    Like

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    So many times I procrastinate rather than seize the moment. And that is to my regret as that particular moment will not come again. Great post and good reminder for all of us. I love that phrase Carpe Diem and it is one many colleges use for good reason.

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    Great story, and it made the point beautifully. Seizing those moments, for whatever purpose are the nuggets of gold in a stream. If you don’t catch them the flow downward and someone grabs them getting rich on your lost chance. Great post, and good luck on the sequel. Doris

    Like

  6. Nancy Jardine says:

    Cher’ley – I confess to seizing a moment (or a few) to make my comments on this blog since I’m way behind in everything, lately. The ‘what ifs’ will be annoying if I don’t do what I need to because it’s topical and urgent and I’ll regret not seizing that moment!

    Like

  7. M. K. Waller says:

    A funny story with a serious message. I’m guilty of not seizing. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

