Hidden Talents

Post (c) Doris McCraw

Doris

We all have hidden talents.  It is something that can be a journey to excitement, joy, and maybe even a little pain. 

How many people say, “If only…” or “I’d love to, but…”? What would happen if you did that ‘if only’, or tried that ‘I’d love to’? 

Are we defined by our limitations or by our pushing the boundaries? Sometimes we are so busy, we don’t even know we gone past where we said we couldn’t go. 

PROPHECY

It is in those times of pushing, or busyness that we come to know what are hidden talents could be. Of course, it helps if we give ourselves credit. Not the kind of credit where we say, “Hey, look at me” to the extent we exclude others. It’s the credit we get when we make the journey and bring others along with us. By finding our ‘other’ talents, we can offer the world even more.

When we find the voice to sing, the story to tell, the piece of history to share, we are making the whole world richer. Do we always get credit? No. Do we stop? Sometimes. But the joy, excitement and pain are there to drive us forward, to develop those extra pieces of ourselves. We may choose to share it with the world, or just our close friends, or even just with ourselves. The key it to take the journey, to push beyond where we think we can go.

LIVE LIFE 1

Some of us were blessed with people who foster that journey. Others of us have had to push when the pain of not pushing became to great to stop ourselves.  

So, to those who want to be singers, who want to write that story, who want to paint that picture, we salute you. Share your talents. Not everyone liked Picasso, Mark Twain or Paul Robeson, but these three scratched that itch, and created something special. We all have that potential. Remember, you never know whose life you may change, and for that reason alone, find and share that ‘hidden talent’ so that it shines forth into the world.

Doris Gardner-McCraw writing as Angela Raines
Author, Speaker, Historian-specializing in
Colorado and Women’s History

For a list of Angela Raines Books: Here 
Photo and Poem: Click Here 
Angela Raines FaceBook: Click Here

 

 

This entry was posted in Adventurous, advice, challenges, change, Happiness, impact, talents, unique and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hidden Talents

  1. Life is certainly a journey, and we keep going! We must believe in ourselves and what talent the good Lord gave us. It’s a very uplifting blog. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I share my talents whenever I can. This was interesting.

    Like

  3. Wranglers says:

    I know there are several singers in our family, but they pretty much sing for themselves. I’d I could, I would be singing all the time. I have received a lot of compliments, and thank you cards over my artwork, and I miss painting. I can only pursue a couple of projects at a time, and right now it’s s writing, clogging, and some photography. I think if we have a talent we should share it. Cher’ley

    Like

  4. Mike Staton says:

    I’ve been scratching my head over any hidden talent. I do think I’m a pretty good writer. I love sports, but I don’t play any all that good. I’m handy with a camera, but I wouldn’t say I have a whole lot of artistic talent with my picture taking. I’ve never tried painting, so I don’t know. I can’t sing, except in the shower, and while I play the guitar, no band would ever hire me.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Ah yes, but Mike, all those things you mentioned might be just the thing some young person would need to inspire them. It might be the silly photo you took that gave someone a great laugh. That’s using hidden talent. *GRIN* Doris

      Like

  5. Wonderful post, Doris! Very encouraging and well-articulated. You are certainly someone who inspires and encourages others and you embody grace and courage, which I admire. Thank you for writing and sharing this inspiring post!

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Gayle, thank you for the kind words. I appreciate your support and friendship. I’m also looking forward to what you write next. I know it will be good. Doris

      Like

  6. S. J. Brown says:

    Wonderful inspiring post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. Nancy Jardine says:

    Thoughtful post! It’s a great question. What are your (my) hidden talents? I can’t name any in particular but since I don’t crave to excel at anything in particular, I’m happy operating at the level I do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

