It Happened On This Day

Post by Doris McCraw

Doris

It’s July 10, 2017 and do you know what happened on this day? I’ve always found these pieces of history fascinating. Maybe it’s the researcher in me, or maybe it’s just an insatiable desire to know. 

Whatever the reason, I did a bit of searching and guess what I found?

  • In 1821 the United States took possession of Florida which they had recently purchased from Spain.
  • In 1850  Millard Fillmore was sworn in as president, the day after Zachary Taylor died.
  • In 1890  Wyoming became the 44th state admitted to the Union.
  • In 1913  The temperature in Death Valley, California, hits 134 °F (57 °C), the highest temperature ever to be recorded on Earth.
  • In 1925 – Scopes Trial: In Dayton, Tennessee, the so-called “Monkey Trial” begins. John T. Scopes, a young high school science teacher accused of teaching evolution in violation of the Butler Act. This event became the basis of the play and later the film “Inherit the Wind”. It starred Spencer Tracy, Dick York, Gene Kelly along with other well-known actors.
  • In 1938  Howard Hughes set a new record by completing a 91-hour airplane flight around the world.

Like the Scopes Trial, pieces of history have the potential not only to help us understand where we came from, but it also gives us great prompts to tell our own stories. The events I listed are what fascinate me. Today is also the birthday of William Blackstone, know for writing the commentaries of law for England, and the basis for the teaching of law in England and North America. 

north cheyenne canyon 6-13-2012 070

I also would be remiss if I didn’t let you all know that Nikola Tesla was also born on this day. Since he had a laboratory here in Colorado Springs, he is a favorite for many who live here. His legend also brings visitors from all over the world. If you’ve never thought about him, the one thing he predicted was the use of cell phones, and that is just the beginning.

July 10 is also National Pina Colada day…so while you are catching up on the history of the day, sit back, relax and enjoy a Pina Colada. The Pina Colada Song – Escape 

Doris Gardner-McCraw -also writing as Angela Raines
Author, Speaker, Historian-specializing in
Colorado and Women’s History

For a list of Angela Raines Books: Here 
Photo and Poem: Click Here 
Angela Raines FaceBook: Click Here
This entry was posted in History, July 10 Events, music, research, research, museums, stories, researching books, Tesla, unique and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It Happened On This Day

  1. Thank you for an interesting look at what happened today in history. I hope you’re having a great day.

    Like

  2. Neva Bodin says:

    Wow, you found a lot of interesting facts that happened on this day! I like to read those, there is often a column like that in our local newspaper. Thanks for the fun read.

    Like

  3. Barb says:

    Interesting! I always learn something from you. Thanks!

    Like

  4. wyoauthor1 says:

    Great post, Doris! There were several Wyoming friends who wished “Happy Birthday” to the state of Wyoming on Facebook on Monday. 🙂 Lots of interesting things happen on various days, and of course there are many “special recognition” days, weeks, and months, many of which are hilarious. No Pina Colada for me, but I did enjoy a glass of wine Monday evening when I returned from Montana. 🙂 Thanks for another wonderful, educational post!

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    Thanks Gayle. I love finding and sharing information like this. I thought of all of you in the state above me when I read about the admittance to the union.

    I also didn’t have a pina, a glass of ice tea sufficed. *grin*
    Doris

    Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    134 degrees F in Death Valley, eh? Actually, I heard one of Vegas’s weathermen mention the record. We’d just has a 118 degree high. I can’t imagine what it would have been like to be walking in Death Valley that day. Thank the Lord for air conditioning.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      118 is too hot for me, Mike. I would never had managed with 134. I agree, air conditioning is a blessing. I also can just hear the weatherman telling folks 118 isn’t so bad. *Grin* Doris

      Like

  7. Wranglers says:

    I enjoy reading random facts like these. You never know what’s ghoing to come up. Thanks for Sharing. Cher’ley

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Cher’ley, you are welcome. It’s the little things that folks sometimes overlook that get my creative juices flowing. You are welcome, and happy creative days to come. Doris

      Like

  8. S. J. Brown says:

    As usual your post is not only educational, but interesting as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Doris says:

      Thank you S.J. I enjoy sharing the ‘little’ and ‘big’ things I find. Guess I just love those pieces of information. Doris

      Like

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    Interesting variation of happenings, Doris. Like you I find myself looking for events ‘On this day’ but I tend look for really ancient ones. I do quite like a Pina Colada and even though I’m catching up with this post days after you wrote it the sound of a nice little coco-nutty drink is a welcome one!

    Like

  10. M. K. Waller says:

    I love reading lists like that, Doris. I’ve seen Inherit the Wind, but somehow it didn’t register that Gene Kelly and Dick York were in it. Too busy watching Spencer Tracy, I guess. I’m too late for Pina Colada Day, but it does remind me that a pineapple has been sitting in my kitchen for days, waiting to be skinned, or whatever you do to a pineapple. I guess I’d better google how it’s done and go do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

