Why Are They Here?

IMG_1659aby Neva Bodin

Last blog I shared some critters’ stories of the awful invaders of their animal kingdom—our camp of vehicles, campers, and people settling into what had been a vacant farmyard for a long time. I am going to share some more of the critter’s stories from our month long stay in another state preparing for and holding my family estate auction…DSCN4457

What was all this stuff? This was my second trip to my usual hunting grounds for the night. Several nights ago, I was sniffing along the edge of a large building and jumped when a short distance away, a human in a red nightgown stepped out of a building that hadn’t been there before! The human was closing the door and disappeared inside again. But not before my fright caused me to, ahem, lose a little scent. I wonder if she smelled it?

skunk-1591309__340

courtesy pixabay

Now, several days later, I was cautiously edging closer to a lot of things spread out where I usually walk. Still pretty light, but I didn’t think they would see me. All of a sudden a couple humans came running and I turned and ran too. I could hear clapping noises and voices shouting. I didn’t understand the meaning, but the words sounded like “Run Skunk Run. Run fast and don’t come back!” Whatever. I ran to the edge of the yard and turned left and scrambled as fast as I could. I didn’t go back as long as those creatures were there. At least not so they saw me.

~~~~~~

What is all this? There are funny looking houses and things all around. Usually I can walk through here and I only see the raccoon or the skunk. I smell humans. Are they dangerous? I’ll walk very slowly and keep my eyes wide open. There are lots of strange smells in the air.

But it’s quiet. Maybe I should wait a little while when it’s really dark. Then all the fireflies will show up too.

Let’s see, each foot carefully placed in the tall grass… Oh! I hear a noise. I’ll freeze. It’s coming from that small building that hasn’t been there before.

DSCN3186Silence. I’ll go closer. OK. Close enough. I better turn around. I hope no one is watching. I’ll walk, then jog, then walk. I don’t want to break into a gallop and draw too much attention. I’ll come back another time. Back to the trees!

~~~~~~~

I don’t understand how to get some peace around here. I know this is the city, but this hanging basket is a perfect nest. The flowers help me hide, and smell good as I sit here. These kids better be grateful when they hatch—if they hatch. There is so much activity now….

The people who lived here when I laid the eggs are gone and many people keep running by carrying boxes and furniture. Makes me nervous. Especially the short ones who are noisy and try to reach my nest. At least no one took my nest. But I’m nervous about leaving it to go eat.DSCN4491

Oh, how I hope my babies don’t make too much noise and get too much attention from these beings in this big house. If they leave me alone, they can watch my babies grow and fly away. I’ll coo them to sleep at night.

~~~~~

wood tick1503083__340Wow, isn’t this grand? So many legs going by to cling to. Even when some make a trip through the grass to that old building no one usually uses.DSCN4504

Have to admit, it’s not as easy hitching a ride after the grass is mowed, but it’s still possible! These beings seemed to be picking at themselves all the time. But, there are so many of us, we’ll torment them day and night!

This entry was posted in unique. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Why Are They Here?

  1. Wranglers says:

    This is adorable. Who knew you had the voice of animals. Thanks for sharing, gave me a smile. Cher’ley

    Like

  2. Doris says:

    “We’ll torment them day and night” took me right back to my childhood. I love this Neva. What a great way to start my day. Doris

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      Thanks Doris. We were tormented day and night. Sometimes one of us would wake up because we felt a tick crawling. One night right after I got to bed I was sure I felt one on my leg. So back up, into the bathroom light, turns out I have a mole I had forgotten about! Every little tickle was noticed and cause for suspicion.

      Like

  3. Thanks for more stories about critters that invaded your property. I hope the ticks didn’t get embedded into your skin, and you got rid of the rest.

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      Yes, we were busy hammering, burning, and zapping ticks with our fly zapper. Or flushing them down. One got stuck but came off fairly easily on me. I think each of us had at least one that was stuck on. It was unbelievable how thick they were this year. When I grew up ticks were not even known in that area.

      Like

  4. Barb says:

    What a sweet and fun blog. You’re the next animal cheerleader!

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      Thanks Barb. I am always cheering the animals on, even though my daughters married hunters and are teaching my grandkids to be the same. But they are good honorable hunters, and I have to admit to collecting gopher tails back in the days we got 5 cents for them! I love animals in the wild and will give them every chance to leave me alone before I might harm them. I truly enjoyed all our visitors (except the ticks).

      Like

  5. wyoauthor1 says:

    Love this, Neva! You need to take these stories, and the ones from your last post, and create a children’s book. Maybe the kids could guess what each critter is and you could have the answers — and some info about each animal — in the back of the book! Follow in the footsteps of me and S.J. with our critter books! 🙂

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      Thanks for the idea. I have several for children’s books and wish I could have gotten pictures of our animal visitors on the farm. Maybe my life will settle a bit now once I have this estate business settled. Then the stories will flow.

      Like

  6. Mike Staton says:

    Great idea giving these wild critters personalities and voices. You’re walking in the shoes of Walt Disney and his original cartoons before he began building Disneyland back in the 1950s. My parents would take my sister and me to see the Disney cartoon movies when they’d be shown on the outdoor screen in Rialto, California and in an indoor screen in San Bernardino. Wonderful memories.

    Like

    • Neva Bodin says:

      I bet those were great memories. I loved Walt Disney movies and cartoons. They were great animation as well as fun stories and entertaining. I am related to the Disney’s through my Grandmother and hope some of that talent Walt had crossed the generations.

      Like

  7. M. K. Waller says:

    Years ago, a skunk waddled up onto my front porch one night while I was working there. I had no idea what he was thinking and I didn’t stay around to ask. He didn’t seem to be concerned, though. I don’t meet many animals of any kind in the city, and I miss them. Your post is a reminder that I should pay more attention.

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    Wow, that was a great blog. And the eggs did hatch, so they all lived through all the hassle. One day they just flew off. It was really neat how the momma bird would watch us.

    Like

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    I had to laugh when you got to the skunk. We had a skunk encounter just a few days ago. It turns out skunks like salty snacks. Thanks for sharing I enjoyed reading about the critters perspective of what was going on.

    Like

  10. Nancy Jardine says:

    My one and only experience of smelling a skunk was quite sufficient but from the animal’s POV it does make it different! I’m late with commenting but enjoying your critter posts, Neva.

    Like

Leave a Reply

