Enjoying the little things

IMGP6507 By S. J. Brown

Many wildlife photographers strive to photograph large critters. I admit Buffalo, bears, and moose are always on my wish list when I am visiting their homes.

SJ Brown Bear But the little critters that also live in those areas are often more of a challenge, that makes getting the shot even more enjoyable.. Their size allows them to hide more easily; it also makes them harder to find in the lens.

Dragonflies seem to zoom from one location to another stopping only for a brief second or two to pose.

SJ Brown DragonflyPreying Manaus don’t move quite as fast, however their coloring helps them blend in with their surroundings.

SJ Brown Preying Manaus

Ladybugs are a bit easier to spot due to their bright coloring. But their tiny size makes a macro lens necessary. With a macro lens I need to get very close to my subject.

SJ Brown LadybugSome critters that are a little larger are not easy to photograph, like snakes. Most of the time when I find a snake it is either on the ground or in the water. That means to get a decent image I need to either get on the ground or in the water with the snake.

SJ Brown Timber Rattlesnake

Birds are also challenging. Smaller birds tend to spook more easily. More often than not once they know I am close by they fly off. Since I can’t fly once they take flight I have lost the opportunity to get the image, even with a telephoto lens. However every now and then I get lucky and find a co operative one.

SJ Brown Red Winged BlackbirdThe little things in life can often be enjoyable. Every now and then when I am having a bad week I will treat myself to some chocolate. I also enjoy sitting on the porch and watching the fireflies in the yard.

What little things do you enjoy?

 

 

Connect with S. J. Brown on Facebook and be one of the first to see what she has been up and view her Sunday Shares.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sj.brown.3367

 

S. J. Browns coloring books feature sketches based on her photographs.

Available at http://www.sjbrown.50megs.comAcover

Cover 3-26-23

Close up and Close Encounters is available on Amazon at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=close+ups+%26+close+Encounters

Or get your autographed copy at S. J. Brown website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com

 

S. J. Brown’s children’s pictures books are only available through S. J. Brown

You can order your copies from her website http://www.sjbrown.50megs.com87

Sign up for S. J. Brown e mailing list to get updates on her latest work in progress

sjbrown.pictures@gmail.com

Place Add ME on the subject line

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Animals, Authors, Bear, birds, books, children's books, Close Ups & Close Encounters, dragonfly, photographer, photographs, photography, photos, pictures, preying manaus, S J Brown, s. j. brown, unique, visual arts, Wildlife, wildlife photographer, wildlife photographs, Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Enjoying the little things

  1. Wranglers says:

    I am not read scared of snakes, built I’m not getting on the ground or in the water with them, at least not close enough for them to reach me. I enjoy a lot of little things, besides being with family and Tootsie, it would be getting up early and watching the sub rise as I drink coffee on my lanai. Lovely photos. Cher’ley

    Like

  2. S. J. Brown says:

    The secret with snakes is they will strike at whatever is closest to them. So if the camera is in front of me my theory is they will strike at the camera. It’s a theory I haven’t tested, yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoy a cool breeze on a hot summer day, bird songs, and posts like yours.

    Like

  4. S. J. Brown says:

    We have a nice breeze floating by this evening. The birds are quiet but I am being serenaded by a few frogs. glad you enjoyed the post.

    Like

  5. Doris says:

    I enjoy and admire your work. I do hope that you continue to have great success in photographing both the large and small. Doris

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      Thanks, I am hitting the road again this weekend. I am also planning a fall trip to photograph some large critters. Yes I am going down to NC to see the bears.

      Like

  6. Neva Bodin says:

    I love digital cameras and take many many pictues of animals. Have gotten a few lucky shots I will share sometime of snakes and others. Birds always land on the tree so a branch is between me and them, such smart little buggers. Love looking at your pictures. I purchased photoshop and took a class in it this year but haven’t used it much yet.

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      I am old fashioned, I still use film. Obstacles can be tough. I use bushes and trees as cover to allow me to get a little closer. It takes practice to get the shot without that one stubborn leaf or branch in the shot.

      Like

  7. Gayle Irwin says:

    I tried taking a few photos of a dragonfly during the weekend and didn’t get very clear shots. But, they were fun to try! I also took a few photos of a white-tailed doe and later, a fawn. I’m enjoying learning more and more about nature photography, and you are part of my inspiration! Thanks for sharing your post and your photos!

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      Dragonflies take a bit of practice. When they are in flight their wings beat really fast so it is hard to focus in on. When they land it is hard to get close to them without sinking in mud. Keep shooting and enjoying nature.

      Like

  8. Mike Staton says:

    I’d want the biggest telephoto lens available before I tried to photograph a bear or mountain lion. I’m a coward. Lol.

    Like

  9. S. J. Brown says:

    Hubby wanted me to get a larger lens. One that can capture a critter a 1/4 mile away. Yes I would get more shots, but I would sacrifice the encounters I get with using the smaller lens.

    Black Bears are cool, they are curious and as long as they don’t have babies they aren’t aggressive. The bear in the post is a Kodiak ( captive). They are not only HUGE they are a bit cranky most of the time, so in the wild they don’t make a good subject.

    Like

  10. It sure takes an awful lot of patience to take such beautiful pictures. Very nice. Barb

    Like

  11. M. K. Waller says:

    S. J., I admire your patience. I don’t think I could wait so long to get a picture, and if I could, I’d probably start to itch before anything showed up. Nature and I got along just fine when I was younger, but now we don’t tolerate each other so well.

    But I understand about small things. Taking a plant taxonomy class in college, I was surprised by all the flowers I’d never noticed, not just the small ones on the ground, but the ones on trees and shrubs. Those are small and don’t have colorful petals, and I’d never paid enough attention to see them. For years after gathering flowers for a collection, I saw them everywhere. I still notice a lot of them and even think of the Latin names I remember (two or three).

    About snakes, I agree with your husband.

    Like

    • S. J. Brown says:

      Sometimes the critters come to me , sometimes I go to them. Patience only comes in to play when there are no critters around. Thanks for sharing I will be looking for little flowers everywhere now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

