Once in Love with Amy

This post is by Abbie Johnson Taylor.

 

As most of you know, I have a visual impairment. On my PC and tablet, I use software that reads everything to me and repeats what I type. With such software, there is a variety of text to speech voices you can either purchase or download for free. Some sound like robots, while others have a lot of human qualities.

I occasionally like to buy new voices. Recently, I sampled one with a British accent. She said, “Hello, I’m Amy. Shall we read something fun together?” I immediately purchased her, and we’ve been having fun reading and writing ever since.

This reminded me of a poem I wrote several years ago and posted here. It appears in How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver. Julie was the voice I used when I wrote it. Here’s the poem, and you can click below to hear Amy read it. I think Amy’s a keeper, don’t you?

 

 

Dear Julie

 

I wonder what you think, as you read me my e-mail,

the Web pages I browse, other documents.

Is there something you’d rather not read to me,

something I don’t want read that interests you?

When you repeat what I type,

how do the words strike you?

When I shut down, are you relieved or disappointed?

When I boot up, do you sigh with resignation

or jump at the chance of helping me again?

Now, I’ll ask you to read this back to me.

Knowing it’s about you, will you blush?

 

Author Abbie Johnson Taylor

We Shall Overcome

How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver

That’s Life: New and Selected Poems

My Ideal Partner: How I Met, Married, and Cared for the Man I Loved Despite Debilitating Odds

Click to hear an audio trailer.

Like me on Facebook.

 

This entry was posted in Creativity, Memories, unique, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Once in Love with Amy

  1. Barb says:

    Very nice Abby. I’m sure she loves reading your words

    Like

  2. Mike Staton says:

    Yep, she’s a keeper. I too love classic British accent. Also Australian. I had a friend in college back in the early 1970s that had a sight impairment. He had a machine that blew up the text of his textbooks, enabling him to read them.

    Like

  3. Doris says:

    Definitely a keeper. Doris

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Neva Bodin says:

    How interesting. I would be thinking of them as real people too. I give GPS systems names. They do seem so real when talking.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. wyoauthor1 says:

    What a wonderful thing to share with us, Abbie! I like your “new friend’s” voice, too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. M. K. Waller says:

    The poem is beautiful. I used a GPS with a British accent in a rental car once–she kept telling me to turn right 1500 kilometers ahead. I loved her voice but had trouble thinking in metrics.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathy, I know what you mean about not being able to translate the metric system. I would have had a hard time with that, too.

      One of Amy’s quirks is that she reads dates in a different way. For example, instead of saying, “August 16, 2017,” she’ll say “the 16th of August, 2017.” Sometimes, she reads dates backwards, so instead of saying, “the second of august,” she’ll say “the eighth of February.” I’m thankful for Braille in these instances.

      Like

  7. M. K. Waller says:

    Abbie, there seems to be a move here toward writing dates in the British format. It’s confusing. When I see 02/08/17, I think February 8, then realize it’s really August 2nd. I guess if it becomes standard, I’ll get used to it. I’m also having to shift from 4:00 p.m. to 16:00. I could have estimated by yards rather than kilometers but traffic in around Boston was so crazy I couldn’t think of anything but getting out of the way. If we had converted to the metric system with the rest of the world, we’d be used to it by now. And we wouldn’t have fractions, which would make a lot of school children happy. And me. I have a terrible time with fractions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

